The Gospel Truth The Gospel Soul and Funk of Stax Records

  • CD CDBGPD222£11.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. The Sons of Truth – Son of the Deacon
  • 2. Clarence Smith – Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child
  • 3. The Marion Gaines Singers – Do Your Thing
  • 4. Jaqui Verdell – We're Gonna Have a Good Time
  • 5. The Staple Singers – Brand New Day
  • 6. The Rance Allen Group – Talk That Talk
  • 7. Joshie Jo Armstead – I Got the Vibes
  • 8. Annette Thomas – You Need A Friend Like Mine
  • 9. The Rance Allen Group – (There's Gonna Be A) Showdown
  • 10. The Howard Lemon Singers – Let Me Come Home
  • 11. The Marion Gaines Singers – It Will Soon Be Over
  • 12. The Sons Of Truth – I Don't Know Where We're Headed
  • 13. Louise McCord – Better Get a Move On
  • 14. The Staple Singers – When Will We Be Paid For The Work We Did
  • 15. The 21st Century – If The Shoe Fits, Wear It
  • 16. Charles May & Annette May Thomas – Keep My Baby Warm
  • 17. Clarence Smith – I'll Just Keep On Trying
  • 18. Joshie Jo Armstead – Stumblin' Blocks, Steppin' Stones (What Took Me So Long)
  • 19. The Marion Gaines Singers – You Can't Stop Me Now
  • 20. The Staple SIngers – Name The Missing Word

KILLER compilation which tells the story of Stax’s move into the gospel field by choosing the best of the output over a five-year period, from the Staples’ glorious template via Allen’s unique voice through to a variety of gospel circuit regulars and one-offs. Allen and the Staples seem to be almost polar opposites, with the Staples easing up the words to bring you onboard, while Rance sounded just like a soul artist until you listened to the lyrics, which never eased back in their praise of the Lord. Included here are cuts from the sought-after and super-rare LP by the Sons Of Truth and Joshie Joe Armstead’s ‘I Got The Vibes’, a Northern soul monster almost from the day it was released. Also included are unknown masterpieces by the 21st Century and Annette Thomas as well as gospel great Jacqui Verdell’s only recording for the label.

The 20 tracks reflect the sound of popular black American music of the day from the out-and-out funk of Clarence Smith to the proto-disco sound of the Howard Lemon Singers. The Stax team made these records as if they were making new records for Isaac Hayes or Johnnie Taylor, but their message was of spiritual love rather than the secular kind.

Fans of Soul Jazz Records' 'Soul Gospel' compilation will love this - Highly Recommended!

People also bought

Sabu MartinezThe Dalecarlia Recordings 1971-72Mellotronen
Shrinkwrap-opened mint copy  Mindblowing album from legendary latin percussionist Sabu Martinez!!! Two years prior to making 'Afro Temple' Sabu...
  • LP£30.00
    Out of stock
  • CD£11.99
    Out of stock
Cult CargoBelize City Boil-UpNumero Group
Top compilation of 1970s music from Belize in Central America that fuses North American funk and soul with afro-latin and reggae influences! There is...
    OsunladeParadigmSoul Jazz Records
    Paradigm is New York artist Osunlade's debut album, released on Soul Jazz Records. Paradigm features the vocals of Wumni (Masters at Work) on "Rader Du",...
    Bernard WrightNard (1981)Arista
    Rare groove classic! Bernard Wright was part of the Tom Browne/Don Blackman crew that emerged from a musical academy in Queens NY in the late seventies...
    • Reissue LP£11.99
      Out of stock
    Soul Jazz Flyer PackFlyersSoul Jazz Records
    Soul Jazz flyers! Includes club nights such as 100% Dynamite, Nu Yorica, Saturday Night Fish Fry, 1977, The Gallery and many more. Each pack varied.
    • Book (100g)£2.99
      Out of stock
    Sabu MartinezAfro TempleTico
    The holy grail of Latin Funk! Originally released in Sweden in the late 70s, this was Sabu Martinez's supreme left-field heavy, heavy, heavy latin funk...
    Desmond DekkerThe King of SkaSecret
    Ace compilation from Desmond Dekker!
    • CD£7.99
      Out of stock
    • LP£15.99
      Out of stock
    Arthur RussellBallad Of The lightsAudika
    SUPER SUPER LIMITED!!!! An amazing collaboration between cult musician from the New York downtown music scene Arthur Russell and beat poet Allen Ginsberg...
    • 10"£9.99
      Out of stock
    Nina SimoneFunkier Than A Mosquitos TweeterJazzman
    Bullet repressed! Nina Simone delivers 2 essential funky cuts . Available for the first time on 7". Highly recommended.
      Marcia AitkenMy ManJoegibbs
      classic female reggae tune
      • 7"£3.50
        Out of stock
      Rufus ThomasDown Ta My HouseStax
      Funky Soul on the legendary Stax label
      • Original 7"£6.99
        Out of stock
      Johnny OsbourneBad BoyMassive B
      Reggae meets Hip Hop in a New York stylee. Great Dub tune on a completely different rhythm on the B side
      • 7"£3.99
        Out of stock
      Willie HutchThe Mack (1973)Motown
      Fantastic blaxploitation film soundtrack featuring the amazing, uplifting Brothers Gonna Work it Out! Recommended! US CD IMPORT
      • Reissue LP£11.99
        Out of stock
      • CD£11.99
        Out of stock
      Burro BantonBadder Den DemMassive B
      Ruff 'n' tuff New York Dancehall tune
      • 7"£3.99
        Out of stock
      Marvellous BoyCalypso from West AfricaHonest Jon's
      Great new compilation from Honest Jon's! Another top package of obscure music from the 1940s and 50s, this time focusing on the calypso sounds of West...
      • CD£10.99
        Out of stock
      Omar SThese Complimentary TracksFXHE
      BACK IN STOCK! One of the most eagerly anticipated twelves from Detroit legend Omar-S in a while! Raw jackin' analogue House and a soulful Disco/Funk...
      • 12"£10.99
        Out of stock
      Hellish CalypsoHellish Calypso (1962)Smithsonian Folkways
      Geat compilation of Calypso from Trinidad and Tobago! Why "Hellish"? The liner notes explain that it's in part because of the very apparent "pear-shaped...
      • CD£9.99
        Out of stock
        Ralph EllisonInvisible ManPenguin Modern Classics
        Ellison's blistering and impassioned first novel, winner of the prestigious American National Book Award, tells the extraordinary story of a man who...
        The Real Sound Of Chicago: Underground Disco From The Windy City Compiled by Mr Peabody RecordsVariousBBE
        Fantastic album of super rare and obscure disco tunes from Chicago aka The Windy City! Mr Peabody Record shop owners Mark Grusane & Mike Cole have compiled...
        The Beat Generation 10th AnniversaryCompiled By DJ Spinna & Mr ThingBBE
        BBE celebrate their tenth anniversary of their hugely popular Beat Generation series! This 10th anniversary double CD compilation contains fifty-six...
        • 1. jaydee – beej-n-dem pt.2 (feat beej)
        • 2. pete rock – give it to y'all (feat roc maricano & trife)
        • 3. marley marl – what ruling means (feat kevin brown & grap luva)
        • View full info and tracklisting
        • 2×LP£14.99
          Out of stock
        • 2×CD£11.99
          Out of stock
        The Universe Of Keith HaringArt Is EveryoneBFI
        This is a fantastic documentary! Haring joined the dots between the New York art gallery world of Andy Warhol and urban graffiti much in the way that...
        • DVD£19.99
          Out of stock
        Next Stop... Soweto: Township Sounds of The Golden Age of MbaqangaVariousStrut
        Strut follow their recent forays into Nigerian and Ethio grooves with a brand new wide-ranging three-part series exploring underground South African music...
        Arthur VerocaiArthur VerocaiMr Bongo
        Melancholy, psych folk-Brazilian classic!!! Lush beautiful arrangements, sample-laden gem!  In 1972 a repressive Brazilian military dictatorship...
        • LP£18.99
          Out of stock
        • CD£10.99
          In stockAdd to Bag