Marvellous Boy Calypso from West Africa

Honest Jon's
  • CD HJRCD38£10.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. Famous Scrubs – Poor Freetown Boy
  • 2. Bobby Benson – Taxi Driver
  • 3. Chris Ajilo – Ariwo
  • 4. Roy Chicago – Olubunmi
  • 5. Mayor's Dance Band – Bere Bote
  • 6. Stev Amechi – Nylon Dress
  • 7. Ebenezer Calender – Fire Fire Fire
  • 8. Famous Scrubbs – Scrubbs Na Marvellous Boy
  • 9. Godwin Omabuwa – Dick Tiger's Victory
  • 10. Rolling Stone – Igha Suo Gamwen
  • 11. ET Mensah – The Tree and the Monkey
  • 12. Bobby Benson – Calypso Minor One
  • 13. Ebeneezer Calender – Cost of Living Nar Freetown
  • 14. Ebeneezer Calender – Me Nar Poor Old Man Nor Do Me So
  • 15. Bobby Benson – Gentleman Bobby
  • 16. Victor Olaiya – Yabomisa Sawale
  • 17. The Rhythm Aces – Mami
  • 18. Ebeneezer Calender – Arria Baby

Great new compilation from Honest Jon's!

Another top package of obscure music from the 1940s and 50s, this time focusing on the calypso sounds of West Africa!

Beautifully packaged and with exensive sleeve notes and photos, this is an essential compilation for any fan of the calypso sound!

Check it out calypso fans!

People also bought

Can You Dig It ?The Music and Politics of Black Action Films 1968 - 75Soul Jazz Records
''Can You Dig It?' is as definitive as it gets, and treats its subject seriously, lovingly and with an attention to detail that makes it a necessary purchase....
Land of KushAgainst The DayConstellation
Superb album of percussive deep jazz abandon with a mystical Middle Eastern flavour! This is on the great Constellation post rock label and if you can...
  • 2×LP£16.99
    Out of stock
Delta Swamp RockSounds From The South: At The Crossroads Of Rock, Country And SoulSoul Jazz Records
Monster double CD pack with a whopping 68-page book accompaniment / Two volumes of seriously heavyweight vinyl gatefold and 8page insert. Featuring...
TV Sound and ImageBritish Television, Film and Library Composers 1956-80Soul Jazz Records
The 36 track 2CD album comes with 50-page book featuring text, biographies and photography. It also comes in a limited run two volume double-vinyl super-loud...
Roland AlphonsoGuantanamera SkaPyramid
Two killer cuts from 1967 one instrumental and one vocal on clean and loud pressing
  • 7"£4.99
    Out of stock
The Gospel TruthThe Gospel Soul and Funk of Stax RecordsBGP
KILLER compilation which tells the story of Stax’s move into the gospel field by choosing the best of the output over a five-year period, from the Staples’...
  • 1. The Sons of Truth – Son of the Deacon
  • 2. Clarence Smith – Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child
  • 3. The Marion Gaines Singers – Do Your Thing
  • View full info and tracklisting
Prince BusterTen CommandmentsReel Music
A very high quality reissue of Buster's classic 60s album, nicely remastered from the original tapes! Includes a 16 page booklet by Roger Steffens. Check...
  • CD£11.99
    Out of stock
I'll Be So Glad When The The Sun Goes DownField Recordings From Alan Lomax's Southern Journey 1959-1960MISSISSIPPI
In 1959 and 1960, at the height of the Folk Revival, Alan Lomax undertook the first-ever stereo field recording trip through the American South to document...
  • LP£12.99
    Out of stock
Cult CargoBelize City Boil-UpNumero
Top compilation of 1970s music from Belize in Central America that fuses North American funk and soul with afro-latin and reggae influences! There is...
Lord InvaderCalypso (1955)Smithsonian Folkways
One of Calypso's finest exponents, recorded in 1955
Four Tet Locked / PyramidText
Limited! Another amazing essential Four Tet release on his own Text imprint. 'Locked', rolling in on a half-time hypnotic groove set with sharp snares,...
  • 12"£7.99
    Out of stock
OsunladeParadigmSoul Jazz Records
Paradigm is New York artist Osunlade's debut album, released on Soul Jazz Records. Paradigm features the vocals of Wumni (Masters at Work) on "Rader Du",...
Cedric Im BrooksCedric Im Brooks & The Light of SabaHonest Jon's
A STUNNING FUSION OF AFRO-BEAT, LATIN, FUNK AND REGGAE! Cedric Im Brooks is an old boy of the Alpha School in Kingston, Jamaica, alongside alumni like...
  • 2×LP£13.99
    Out of stock
  • CD£11.99
    Out of stock
Anthony Shake Shakir / Oni AyhunMeets Shangaan Electro And BBCHonest Jon's
Wow!!!!! Can't get a enough of these (!) on this one! Anthony 'Shake' Shakir provides a mindblowing tribal-Detroit stomping Shangaan reworking with fierce...
  • 12"£6.99
    Out of stock
Soul Jazz Flyer PackFlyersSoul Jazz Records
Soul Jazz flyers! Includes club nights such as 100% Dynamite, Nu Yorica, Saturday Night Fish Fry, 1977, The Gallery and many more. Each pack varied.
  • Book (100g)£2.99
    Out of stock
Screamin Jay HawkinsI Put A Spell On You Jukebox Jam
BACK IN STOCK! Reissue of this 1956 Rhythm and blues classic from Screamin Jay Hawkins! Powerful, theatrical gut-wrenching vocal over a minimal spooky...
  • 7"£5.99
    Out of stock
Studio One Roots 2Studio One Roots 2Soul Jazz Records
Studio Roots Vol. 2 delves deeper into the vaults of the legendary Jamaican Reggae label and features rare and classic roots as well as an unprecedented...
    MadlibMedicine Show No.10 - Black SoulMadlib Invasion
    Episode 10 in the Medicine Show series finds Madlib fashioning a mix of 60s and 70s soul and funk unlike any you've ever heard before. Madlib has travelled...
    Invasion Of The Mysteron Killer Sounds in 3-DCompiled by Kevin Martin (The Bug) and Stuart Baker (Soul Jazz Records)Soul Jazz Records
    Kevin Martin (aka The Bug) and Stuart Baker (Soul Jazz Records) have collaborated on a unique project bringing together new, exclusive and in-demand cutting-edge...
    Barrington LevyRagga Muffin RemixJah Life/Life Music
    remix of the original raggamuffin with version on the flip
    • 7"£3.99
      Out of stock
    West Indies FunkVolume Two Trans Air
    Following the success of the first installment of 'West Indies Funk & 'Disc 'O' Lypso, Trans Air Records of San Juan, Puerto Rico present a killer...
    • CD£13.99
      Out of stock
    • 2×LP£15.99
      Out of stock
    Eddie HooperTomorrow's Sun / Pass It On (Part 1)Soundway
    Out-there spiritual disco from Guyanese soca artist Eddie Hooper on Soundway! Famous in the large part for his soca recordings. However, it is the disco...
    • 12"£7.99
      Out of stock
    West Indies FunkVolume Three Trans Air
    Hot on the heels of the essential 'Disc 'o' Lypso compilation and the previous two volumes of 'West Inides Funk' comes this brilliant third installment...
    • 1. Original Tropicana Steel Band – Funky Abbey Road
    • 2. Trinidad & Tobago Steel All Stars – Do Your Thing
    • 3. Sapodilla Punch – Hold On I'm Coming
    • View full info and tracklisting
    • CD£14.99
      Out of stock
    • 2×LP£15.99
      Out of stock