• 2×LP teg3319-1£19.99
    In stockAdd to Bag
  • CD TEG3319-2£11.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. Bonzo Goes to Washington – 5 Minutes (B-B-B-Bombing Mix)
  • 2. Clandestine Feat Ned Sublette – Radio Rhythm (Extra Cheese Mix)
  • 3. Indian Ocean – School Bell/Treehouse
  • 4. Felix – You Can't Hold Me Down
  • 5. Felix – Tiger Stripes
  • 6. Dinosaur L – Go Bang! (Walter Gibbons Mix)
  • 7. Indian Ocean – Treehouse (Extended Bootleg Edit)
  • 8. Bonzo Goes to Washington – 5 Minutes (R-R-R-Radio Mix)
  • 9. Sounds of JHS 126 Brooklyn – Chill Pill (Underwater Mix)
  • 10. Clandestine Feat Ned Sublette – Radio Rhythm (Dub Mix)

Includes the previously unreleased Walter Gibbons remix of Dinosaur L's Go Bang!

Ace compilation of leftfield disco from legendary underground NY hero Arthur Russell, who confounded music fans with a baffling array of pseudonyms, leaving a trail of clues that only the record fiends with the most Sherlock Holmes-like detection abilities could follow! But now even those of us who lack the Miss Marple skills can piece together the puzzle thanks to this excellent compilation which collects all the rare 12" singles Arthur Russell recorded for his own Sleeping Bag record label under different aliases such as Dinosaur L, Killer Whale, Indian Ocean, and Felix!

This collection will be an essential purchase for Arthur Russell fans if only because it includes the first official release of the Walter Gibbons remix of Go Bang (the Francois Kevorkian mix is the more well known one) - this has previously only been available on a bootleg Japanese white label which now attracts top dollar on the collectors' market!

As well as collecting versions of the two Arthur Russell tracks we included on our own New York Noise Volume 2 compilation (Felix and Clandestine) , this set includes the extended bootleg edit of Treehouse, two AR mixes of Talking Head Jerry Harrison's Reagan-sampling avant-electro-funk bomb 5 Minutes and the dubbed out AR mix of Chill Pill which adds crazy echo effects to the rap vocals!

Highly recommended!

Other Releases by Arthur Russell

Arthur RussellThe World Of Arthur RussellSoul Jazz Records
Soul Jazz Records are re-releasing their seminal retrospective on Arthur Russell.Since the initial groundbreaking release of ‘The World of Arthur...