• CD 9786310509358£11.99
    Out of stock
  • 2×12" au 1007£13.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. Springfield
  • 2. Springfield - DFA Remix
  • 3. Springfield Detail
  • 4. See My Brother Hes Jumping Out - Lets Go Swimming Number 1
  • 5. Corn Number 3
  • 6. Hiding Your Present From You - Cd Bonus Track
  • 7. You Have Did The Right Thing When You Put That Skylight In

These are songs from an unfinished album that was made at around the same time as the material on the Calling out of Context album. It was Arthur's intention that he would work with a producer/remixer to produce a definitive version of the title track, just as he had done previously with François Kevorkian, Nicky Siano, Larry Levan, and Walter Gibbons. Sadly Arthur passed away before his vision could be realised, but there are surely no contemporary producers/remixers more up to completing the task than the mighty DFA (LCD Soundsystem, The Rapture, Black Dice etc etc)! Their remix sits perfectly in the magnificent lineage of Arthur Russell singles!

Also worth noting is See My Brother, He's Jumping Out, which is the first version of the classic disco not disco track Let's Go Swimming; and the amazing, distortion-drenched You Have Did The Right Thing When You Put That Skylight In!


Other Releases by Arthur Russell

Arthur RussellThe World Of Arthur RussellSoul Jazz Records
Soul Jazz Records are re-releasing their seminal retrospective on Arthur Russell.Since the initial groundbreaking release of ‘The World of Arthur...