Gil Scott-Heron The Best Of Gil Scott-Heron

    Sony Music
    • CD£7.99
      Out of stock
      • 1. the bottle
      • 2. the revolution will not be televised
      • 3. lady day and john coltrane
      • 4. washington D.C.
      • 5. the get out of the ghetto blues
      • 6. storm music
      • 7. no exit
      • 8. free will
      • 9. pieces of a man
      • 10. home is where the hatred is
      • 11. did you hear what they said
      • 12. back home
      • 13. 'B' movie
      • 14. blue collar
      • 15. h2ogate blues

      A fantastic introduction to the man and his genius at an incredible price.

      Other Releases by Gil Scott-Heron

      Gil Scott-HeronI'm New Here (10th Anniversary Expanded Edition)XL Recordings

      "In February 2010, the late, legendary musician, poet and author Gil Scott-Heron released his thirteenth, and last, studio album. First conceptualised in 2005, and ultimately produced by XL Recordings head Richard Russell during New York recording sessions that commenced in January 2008, 'I’m New Here' was Scott-Heron’s first album in thirteen years and found him sounding as vital, boundary-pushing and insightful as ever before. XL Recordings release a limited-edition, expanded version of the album on its 10th anniversary. In addition to the original album, the 'I'm New Here 10th Anniversary Edition' features two unreleased tracks - a cover of Richie Havens’ 'Handsome Johnny’ and a previously unheard Scott-Heron song 'King Henry IV’ - as well as a selection of other recordings from the original I’m New Here sessions that were only previously available on a rare, vinyl only deluxe version of the LP."

      • – On Coming from a Broken Home (Pt. 1)
      • – Me and the Devil
      • – I'm New Here
      • – Your Soul and Mine
      • – Parents (Interlude)
      • New 2×LP (Coloured Vinyl)£22.99
        Out of stock
      • 2×CD£11.99
        In stockAdd to Bag
      Gil Scott-HeronWe’re New Again – A Reimagining by Makaya McCravenXL Recordings

      To mark the 10th anniversary of the release of 'I’m New Here', the 13th, and last, studio album from the legendary US musician, poet and author Gil Scott-Heron, acclaimed US jazz musician Makaya McCraven delivers a unique reinterpretation of the album.

      • – Special Tribute (Broken Home pt. 1)
      • – I'm New Here
      • – Running
      • – Blessed Parents
      • – New York is Killing Me
      • – The Patch (Broken Home pt. 2)
      • – People of the Light
      • – Being Blessed
      • – Where Did the Night Go
      Gil Scott-HeronA New Black Poet : Small Talk at 125th and Lennox (1970)Flying Dutchman

      Legendary classic first album featuring heavyweight percussion backing up the amazing spoken poetry/rap of the young genius. E-S-S-E-N-T-I-A-L!

        • Reissue LP£13.99
          Out of stock
        • CD£7.99
          In stockAdd to Bag
        Gil Scott-HeronNothing NewXL

        Re-issue of this Record Store Day release from 2013 - 'Nothing New' is the collection of outtakes and unreleased takes from the late, great Gil Scott-Heron album, 'I'm New Here'.

        • – Did You Hear What They Said
        • – Better Days Ahead
        • – Household Name (Interlude)
        • – Your Daddy Loves You
        • – Changing Yourself (Interlude)
        • – Pieces Of A Man
        • – Enjoying Yourself (Outro)
        • – Alien (Hold Onto Your Dreams)
        • – Before I Hit The Bottom (Interlude)
        • – 95 South (All Of The Places We've Been)
        • – The Other Side
        • – The On/Off Switch (Interlude)
        • – Blue Collar
        • – On Bobby Blue Bland (Outro)
        Gil Scott-HeronThe Revolution Begins: The Flying Dutchman MastersBGP

        The three albums Gil Scott-Heron recorded for Bob Thiele’s Flying Dutchman label are some of the most important in the history of black music. They show a multi-talented artist reaching maturity with his first recorded efforts. "The Revolution Begins” gathers together every piece of music released by Gil on Flying Dutchman, including a track recorded with Bernard “Pretty” Purdie which has never been previously reissued. All remastered from the original master tapes, bringing you sound that’s better than you’ll ever have heard and new clarity to Gil’s words and the musical performances. BGP have additionally assembled an alternate version of Gil's third album, "Free Will", based on access to the original recordings.

          Gil Scott-HeronFree Will (1972)Flying Dutchman

          Brilliant early Gil Scott-Heron album. One of his rarest on the great Flying Dutchman label.

          • – Free Will
          • – Sex Education Ghetto Style

          Other Releases on Sony Music

          Tenacious DThe Pick Of DestinySony Music

          Second album by Jack Black's American comedy rock band Tenacious D, the soundtrack for their film of the same name.

            • New LP (180g) + Download Code£21.99
              In stockAdd to Bag
            Jeff WayneJeff Wayne's Musical Version Of The War Of The WorldsSony Music

            2018 version of Jeff Wayne's Musical Version of The War of the Worlds. Retelling the story of The War of the Worlds by H. G. Wells, originally released 9th June 1978.

              Primal ScreamGive Out But Don't Give Up (The Original Memphis Recordings)Sony Music

              Give Out But Don’t Give Up: The Original Memphis Recordings is a document of the sessions with Tom Dowd and the Muscle Shoals rhythm section (David Hood (bass) and Roger Hawkins (drums)). These took place at Ardent Studios in Memphis and these sessions are said to showcase a more ‘country soul/rock ‘n’ roll’ side to the band. These recordings were apparently found in Andrew Innes’ basement! Now presented to you in double 180g LP!

                • CD£15.99
                  In stockAdd to Bag
                • 2×LP (180g)£26.00
                  Out of stock
                Rag'n'Bone ManHumanSony Music

                Debut album featuring the singles 'Human' and 'Skin'.

                  The Dave Brubeck QuartetTime OutSony Music

                  1959 album by The Dave Brubeck Quartet, based upon the use of time signatures that were unusual for jazz (mainly waltz or double-waltz time, but also 9/8, and most famously 5/4).

                  An experimental, extraordinary album at the time that has became one of the best-known and biggest-selling jazz albums ever.

                    People also bought

                    Ornette ColemanFree Jazz (1961)Atlantic

                    Alto saxophonist Ornette Coleman's masterpiece, Free Jazz: A Collective Improvisation by the Ornette Coleman Double Quartet, is one of the hinges of jazz evolution.

                      • New LP £14.99
                        Out of stock
                      • CD£7.99
                        In stockAdd to Bag
                      Gato BarbieriChapter Two: Hasta Siempre (1974)Impulse

                      Killer latin fusion from sax player Gato Barbieri. Dingwalls stylee jazz dance

                      • – Marissea
                      • CD£7.99
                        Out of stock
                      • Original LP£15.00
                        Vinyl condition: VG+Sleeve condition: VG+Original = USA vinyl

                        100% Guarantee on this and all Original Vinyl at Sounds Of The Universe - 'if you're not happy we're not happy' money-back guarantee!
                        Out of stock