• CD AACD067£12.99
    Out of stock
  • New LP AALP067£14.99
    In stockAdd to Bag
  • 1. Carruseles
  • 2. Los Vecinos
  • 3. Cecilia
  • 4. Mi Cumbia
  • 5. Que Paso
  • 6. Vestido Nuevo
  • 7. Mambo Loco
  • 8. Cumbia Bogotana
  • 9. El Pechiche
  • 10. Santo Amor

Great compilation of Anibal Velasquez recorded between 1962 and 1978 reissued by Analog Africa!

Nestled between the Caribbean Sea and the Rio Magdalena, lies the city of Barranquilla. Hailed by its locals as Colombia’s “Puerto de Oro” or Golden Gate Barranquilla has served as a gateway for “Caribbean Tropical Sounds” for almost a century. Its port-city status, has allowed its citizens to remain up-to-date with the latest grooves coming out of the Caribbean basin; with scores of LPs arriving from Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Mexico, Puerto Rico, and the United States.

Nobody embodies more Barranquilla’s rich musical heritage than the master accordionist Anibal Velasquez. Known affectionately by his fans as “El Mago” (the Magician), Anibal has been one of the most prolific musicians of Colombia’s Musica Tropical movement.

Anibal’s contribution to Colombia’s Musica Tropical Movement cannot be forgotten. His ability to play music that was joyful and percussive, with lyrics right out of everyday life, while at the same time championing new sound, has made him into one of the few living legends of Colombia’s glorious musical past.

Many of the tracks presented here have set fire to more then one dance-floor and have become essential during Analog Africa DJ Sets.