Patrice Rushen Patrice (1978)

      • 1. Music Of The Earth
      • 2. When I Found You
      • 3. Changes (In Your Life)
      • 4. Wishful Thinking
      • 5. Let's Sing A Song Of Love
      • 6. Hang It Up
      • 7. Cha-Cha
      • 8. It's Just
      • 9. A Natural Thing
      • 10. Didn't You Know
      • 11. Play!
      • 12. Music of The Earth (Danny Krivit Edit)
      • 13. Hang It Up (12” Version)
      • 14. Play! (12” Version)
      • 15. Didn’t You Know? (Extended Version)

      After a series of jazz funk albums on Prestige, Patrice moved to Elektra as the label tapped into the burgeoning “sophisticated R&B” market at the tail end of the disco era. “By this time, I had already made some great in-roads, made some great friends and picked up valuable knowledge which definitely paid off in terms of the music and the way the records sounded,” Patrice remembers. As a brilliant pianist, songwriter and arranger from a young age, Rushen was perfectly placed to bring the class and musicianship that the label needed and now also began to assume the role of lead vocalist for the first time. She enlisted the production prowess of high school friend Charles Mims, Jr. and long-time mentor Reggie Andrews.

      Recorded at the newly opened Conway Studios in L.A., ‘Patrice’, Rushen brought in heartfelt lyrics, vulnerability and messages of hope into her music for the first time on yearning tracks like ‘Didn’t You Know’ and ‘When I Found You’ alongside simply forgetting your troubles on the singles ‘Hang It Up’ and 'Play!’. Clubs played an important part in the interest in her music. While her record label didn’t fully get behind her as an artist until the early ‘80s, influential club and black radio DJs consistently supported her and recognised Patrice as a unique talent. ‘Music Of The Earth’ became an underground New York club favourite and Danny Krivit’s extended edit has endured inits own right, included here.

      Other Releases by Patrice Rushen

      Patrice RushenNow (1984)Strut
      Released after the global success of ‘Straight From The Heart’ and the huge hit ‘Forget Me Nots’, ‘Now’ stripped back the arrangements and...

        Other Releases on Strut

        Idris Ackamoor & The PyramidsAfro Futuristic DreamsStrut
        Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids are back with their first major new studio album in over 3 years, an epic, sprawling new work exploring the future, the...
          Malombo Jazz MakersMalombo Jazz Makers Vol. 2Strut
          Formed in Mamelodi township near Pretoria, the group started out as Malombo Jazz Men with Julian Bahula on malombo drums, Abbey Cindi on flute and Philip...
          • – Ngivulele
          • – Udondolo
          • – Soul Of Africa
          • – Jolly Journey
          • – Umkhosi
          • – Majazana
          • – Abbey's Body
          • – Vukani
          • – Hleziphi
          • – Sibathathu
          • – Malombi Walk
          • – Emoubane
          Vusi Mahlasela, Norman Zulu, Jive ConnectionFace To FaceStrut
          Strut revives a lost recording from the archives in January with a 2002 collaboration between acclaimed South African folk singer Vusi Mahlasela, singer...
            Patrice RushenNow (1984)Strut
            Released after the global success of ‘Straight From The Heart’ and the huge hit ‘Forget Me Nots’, ‘Now’ stripped back the arrangements and...
              Wayne DavisWayne DavisStrut
              Strut present the first ever reissue of an essential lost classic from the Black Fire catalogue, Wayne Davis’ powerful self-titled gospel-soul album...
                Bennie Maupin & Adam RudolphSymphonic Tone Poem for Brother YusefStrut
                Exclusive collaboration between two jazz greats, Bennie Maupin and Adam Rudolph, on ‘Symphonic Tone Poem For Brother Yusef’, originally commissioned...
                  Theatre WestBow to the PeopleStrut
                  Strut reissue one of the most in-demand and significant albums from the archives of Jimmy Gray’s Black Fire Records, ‘Bow To The People’ (1976) by...
                  • – Searching for Ourselves
                  • – Crossroads
                  • – Bow to the People
                  • – Black Love
                  • – One Little Chance
                  • – Big Brother
                  • – Children of Tomorrow's Dreams
                  • – No More Junk
                  • – Della Get Down
                  • – I Am a Woman
                  The Beginning Of The EndBeginning Of The EndStrut
                  Strut present the definitive reissue of one of the all-time classic Caribbean soul and funk albums, the self-titled album by The Beginning Of The End,...
                  • – Super Woman
                  • – Trip To Nowhere
                  • – Jamaica
                  • – I've Got The News
                  • – Falling Apart At The Seams
                  • 2xLP + Download Code STRUT185LP£21.99
                    In stockAdd to Bag
                  Ote Maloya - The Birth Of Electric Maloya In La Réunion 1975-1986Strut
                  Strut present a brand new compilation documenting the groundbreaking maloya scene on Réunion Island from the mid-70s, as Western instrumentation joined...
                  • Caméléon – La Rosée Si Feuilles Songes
                  • Michou – Maloya Ton Tisane
                  • Jean Claude Viadère – Moin La Pas Fait Tout Sel
                  • Daniel Sandié – Défoule 3E Age
                  • Cormoran Group – P’Tit Femme Mon Gâté
                  • Marie Hélen Et Ses Créol’S – Séga Le Sport
                  • Françoise Guimbert – Tantine Zaza
                  • Vivi – Toé Même Maloya
                  • Pierrot Vidot – Commandeur
                  • Hervé Imare – Mele-Mele Pas Toué P’Tit Pierre
                  • 1. Caméléon – La Rosée Si Feuilles Songes
                  • 2. Michou – Maloya Ton Tisane
                  • 3. Jean Claude Viadère – Moin La Pas Fait Tout Sel
                  • View full info and tracklisting

                  People also bought

                  Alec R. CostandinosTrocadéro Bleu Citron (1978)RCA Victor
                  Wicked disco soundtrack from euro-disco from Cerrone-partner in crime Alec R CostandinosOriginal = USA Vinyl NM- /Sleeve NM- MINT SEALED OPENED ONCE, CUTOUT 100%...
                    • Original LP KKL1-0293£15.00
                      Vinyl condition: NM-Sleeve condition: NM-MINT SEALED OPENED ONCE, CUTOUT

                      100% Guarantee on this and all Original Vinyl at Sounds Of The Universe - 'if you're not happy we're not happy' money-back guarantee!
                    Bar-KaysBanging The Wall (1985)Mercury
                    1985 LP
                      • Original LP£10.00
                        Vinyl condition: VG+Sleeve condition: VG+Original Pre-Owned USA vinyl
                        In stockAdd to Bag
                      Jerry ButlerNothing Says I Love You Like I Love You (1978)Philadelphia International Records
                      Produced by Gamble/Huff w/ classic Philly session players in tow Original USA Vinyl VG+/Sleeve VG+ (in shrink)100% Guarantee on this and all Original...
                        Hamilton BohannonOne Step Ahead (1980)Phase II Records Ltd.
                        Original = Original USA Vinyl VG+ /Sleeve VG+ (in shrink) 100% Guarantee on this and all Original Vinyl at Sounds Of The Universe - 'if you're not happy...
                          Melba MooreWhat A Woman Needs (1981)EMI America
                          Produced by McFadden and WhiteheadOriginal = Original USA Vinyl VG+ /Sleeve VG 100% Guarantee on this and all Original Vinyl at Sounds Of The Universe...