• 2×LP£25.99
      Out of stock
    • CD£11.99
      Out of stock
      • 1. Afro Futuristic Dreams
      • 2. Thank You God
      • 3. Police Dem
      • 4. First Peoples
      • 5. Truth To Power
      • 6. Re - Memory
      • 7. Garland Rose
      • 8. Requiem For The Ancestors
      • 9. Nice It Up

      Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids are back with their first major new studio album in over 3 years, an epic, sprawling new work exploring the future, the past and the urgent reality of the present, ‘Afro Futuristic Dreams’.

      Recorded between San Francisco and London and brought together by the genius of Malcolm Catto at his analogue Quatermass Studio, the new recording represents another bold step in Ackamoor’s ever-evolving journey in jazz, adding full, intricate scores including string sections and choral elements to the Pyramids’ trademark spiritual Afro-jazz sound; Driven by the core Pyramids members Ackamoor (sax, keytar, organ), Margaux Simmons (flute), Sandra Poindexter (violin) and Bobby Cobb (guitar), tracks range from hard-hitting commentaries about police brutality (‘Police Dem’) to celebrations of the ancestors and departed loved ones (‘Requiem For The Ancestors’, ‘Re-Memory’) and hazy cosmic journeys, including the album’s title track and the sparkling, experimental closer, ‘Nice It Up’.

      Other Releases on Strut

      Malombo Jazz MakersMalombo Jazz Makers Vol. 2Strut
      Formed in Mamelodi township near Pretoria, the group started out as Malombo Jazz Men with Julian Bahula on malombo drums, Abbey Cindi on flute and Philip...
      • – Ngivulele
      • – Udondolo
      • – Soul Of Africa
      • – Jolly Journey
      • – Umkhosi
      • – Majazana
      • – Abbey's Body
      • – Vukani
      • – Hleziphi
      • – Sibathathu
      • – Malombi Walk
      • – Emoubane
      Vusi Mahlasela, Norman Zulu, Jive ConnectionFace To FaceStrut
      Strut revives a lost recording from the archives in January with a 2002 collaboration between acclaimed South African folk singer Vusi Mahlasela, singer...
        Patrice RushenNow (1984)Strut
        Released after the global success of ‘Straight From The Heart’ and the huge hit ‘Forget Me Nots’, ‘Now’ stripped back the arrangements and...
          Wayne DavisWayne DavisStrut
          Strut present the first ever reissue of an essential lost classic from the Black Fire catalogue, Wayne Davis’ powerful self-titled gospel-soul album...
            Bennie Maupin & Adam RudolphSymphonic Tone Poem for Brother YusefStrut
            Exclusive collaboration between two jazz greats, Bennie Maupin and Adam Rudolph, on ‘Symphonic Tone Poem For Brother Yusef’, originally commissioned...
              Theatre WestBow to the PeopleStrut
              Strut reissue one of the most in-demand and significant albums from the archives of Jimmy Gray’s Black Fire Records, ‘Bow To The People’ (1976) by...
              • – Searching for Ourselves
              • – Crossroads
              • – Bow to the People
              • – Black Love
              • – One Little Chance
              • – Big Brother
              • – Children of Tomorrow's Dreams
              • – No More Junk
              • – Della Get Down
              • – I Am a Woman
              Patrice RushenPatrice (1978)Strut
              After a series of jazz funk albums on Prestige, Patrice moved to Elektra as the label tapped into the burgeoning “sophisticated R&B” market at the...
                The Beginning Of The EndBeginning Of The EndStrut
                Strut present the definitive reissue of one of the all-time classic Caribbean soul and funk albums, the self-titled album by The Beginning Of The End,...
                • – Super Woman
                • – Trip To Nowhere
                • – Jamaica
                • – I've Got The News
                • – Falling Apart At The Seams
                Dance ManiaHardcore Traxx: Dance Mania Records 1986-1995Strut
                Strut team up with the legendary Dance Mania Records for their first ever full label compilation. Dance Mania has wielded its influence heavily across...
                • Hercules – 7 Ways (Vocal)
                • Victor Romeo presents Leetrece Brown – Love Will Find a Way (Club)
                • The House Master Boyz and The Rude Boy of House – House Nation
                • Da Posse feat. Martell – Searchin' Hard (Mike Dunn's AC mix)
                • Club Style – Crazy Wild
                • DJ Funk – House the Groove
                • DJ Deeon – Da Bomb
                • Robert Armani – Ambulance
                • 1. Hercules – 7 Ways (Vocal)
                • 2. Victor Romeo presents Leetrece Brown – Love Will Find a Way (Club)
                • 3. The House Master Boyz and The Rude Boy of House – House Nation
                • View full info and tracklisting
                • 2×LP£18.99
                  In stockAdd to Bag
                • CD£9.99
                  Out of stock

                People also bought

                Space Funk 2Afro Futurist Electro Funk in Space 1976-84Soul Jazz Records
                Soul Jazz Records’ new second collection of twisted hyperspace electro/funk ‘Space Funk 2: Afro Futurist Electro Funk in Space 1976-84’, continues...
                • Alien Starr – Music-A-Lizer
                • Chance – Master Groove (Instrumental)
                • The Bobby Deemo Band – More Ounce Rap
                • Mack Simmons – Skin Tight
                • Maggotron – Computer Pop
                • Tribe – Vulcan Voyage
                • Command Performance – Breakdance
                • Junei – Let's Ride
                • The Graingers – Shine Your Light
                • Mid City Crew – Get Right
                • Chapter Three – Smurf Trek
                • X-Ray Vision – Video Control
                • Rich Cason and The Galactic Orchestra – Year 2001 Boogie
                • Frank James and Shadow – Summer Time
                Fabio presents Generation Liquid: Volume 1Above Board Projects
                Fabio took the initiative to establish London's first dedicated soulful deep Drum and Bass night, known as Speed. Week after week, Fabio shared the decks...
                • – Artificial Intelligence - Switch On
                • – D. Kay - It’s On The Way
                • – Chase and Status - Hurt You
                • – Alix Perez - Forsaken (ft. Peven Everett & Spectrasoul)
                • – High Contrast - Racing Green
                • – Jaheim - Put That Woman First (Calibre Vocal Remix)
                • – Jonny L - Oh Yeah
                • – MJ Cole - Sincere (Marcus Intalex & S.T. Files Remix)
                • 2×12"£31.00
                  Out of stock
                Miami SoundRare Funk and Soul from Miami, Florida 1967-74 (2023 Edition)Soul Jazz Records
                New 20th anniversary edition of Soul Jazz Records' long out-of-print Miami Sound: Rare Funk and Soul from Miami, Florida, 1967-74. This album had been...
                • All The People – Cramp Your Style
                • Helene Smith – You Got To Be A Man
                • George McCrae – I Get Lifted
                • James Knight And The Butlers – Funky Cat
                • Gwen McCrae – 90% Of Me Is You
                • Little Beaver – Funkadelic Sound
                • James Knight And The Butlers – Save Me
                • Joey Gilmore – Do It To Me One More Time
                • Helene Smith – A Woman Will Do Wrong
                • James Knight And The Butlers – Fantasy World
                • Timmy Thomas – Funky Me
                • The New Clarence Reid – Cadillac Annie
                • Frank Williams & The Rocketeers – The Spanish Flyer
                • Della Humphrey – Don't Make The Good Girls Go Bad
                • Frank Williams & The Rocketeers – You Got To Be A Man
                • Joey Gilmore – Somebody Done Took My Baby
                • Little Beaver – I Love The Way You Love