• 1. ancestors
  • 2. the legend of mankind
  • 3. the wind
  • 4. forces unseen
  • 5. on the run from mr. charlie
  • 6. the sun
  • 7. hate/love
  • 8. newear
  • 9. theme from illusion suite
  • 10. primal sound (the moon)
  • 11. nappy headed history
  • 12. young day (short vers)
  • 13. for brother sun ra
  • 14. hope
  • 15. nino's deeds (alt take)
  • 16. slave riot, paris 1-3 before
  • 17. slave riot, paris 4-6 after
  • 18. black freedom

Young Jazz Rebels is a Madlib jazz group from the Yesterdays Universe collective. The album Slave Riot, their debut, is an avant-garde free jazz record, a style Madlib has been developing with Young Jazz Rebels since their debut on 2006's Chrome Children compilation with the track “Nino's Deed.”


An alternate take of “Nino's Deed” is included on Slave Riot, with 17 others – sounds ranging from heavy rhythm (“The Legends of Mankind”) to electro-jazz fusion (“Forces Unseen”, “Black Freedom”) to the sparse and experimental heard in the 2-part album centerpiece, “Slaved Riot”.


Inspired primarily by independent and experimental jazz vinyl from the late 60s, 70s and 80s, Slave Riot begins and ends with audible vinyl static, and it's packaged uniform with Madlib's other new jazz release, Miles Away: CD with heavy-boarded mini-gatefold LP-style package with a “tip-on” gatefold photo and inner sleeve. The double LP is printed with a duo-tone black panther on front & back.


Young Jazz Rebels: Melvin Hampson, Juggy Lewis, Lena Hamilton, Mary Jane, Tyrone Crumb, Lamont Parker, Monk Hughes, Brother Dave L.  Produced & Arranged by the unstopable and highly talented, Madlib!!!