P.E Hewitt Jazz Ensemble Winter Winds : The Complete Works 1968-70

Now Again / Stonesthrow
  • 3×LP NA5044LP£39.99
    Out of stock
  • 3×CD NA5044£17.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. free
  • 2. ihadmyheadoverthechickensouppot
  • 3. mary
  • 4. don't judge your brother
  • 5. cat house blues
  • 6. the ones left behind
  • 7. betrayed
  • 8. bullheads in my shoes blues
  • 9. alone and watching
  • 10. sad sunday
  • 11. now is here
  • 12. donna
  • 13. 3am
  • 14. it doesn't matter...yes it does...but i can't stop
  • 15. tender morning
  • 16. i'm wondering why
  • 17. more than anything
  • 18. it's got two maes and that's alright
  • 19. ill love song
  • 20. oma rakas
  • 21. the winterwind
  • 22. bada que bash
  • 23. tuija

Deep jazz from a teenage prodigy!

Collected here are three lost albums by Bay Area vibraphonist/composer/arranger PE Hewitt! Masterpieces in parkeresque be-bop, deep, modal 'kind of blue' and spiritual jazz from a teenaged wunderkind, recorded and released from 1968-1970!  Includes the killer track 'Bada que bash' which featured on Jazzman's superb compilation 'Spiritual Jazz' (US version)!!!

The triple CD is packaged in a plush “mini LP” hard-box set format with an extensive booklet which includes the original liner notes from the albums, an essay on Hewitt and his career, a thorough interview with Hewitt by Egon and Groove Merchant “Cool” Chris Veltri, and never before seen photos!!

People also bought

Lloyd McNeill QuartetAshaUniversal Sound
Soul Jazz are issuing this super-rare deep jazz album from the Lloyd McNeill Quartet. This album was originally released by flute player Lloyd McNeill...
  • LP£13.99
    Out of stock
  • CD£11.99
    Out of stock
  • MP3 Release£7.99
    In stockAdd to Bag
Horo : A Jazz PortraitCompiled by Gilles PetersonDJV
Fifteen tracks of 60's and 70's deep free jazz from the legendary Italian Jazz label Horo compied by Gilles Peterson!!!! Horo records was founded...
  • CD£14.99
    Out of stock
Matthew Larkin CassellThe Complete WorksStones Throw
This anthology collects Bay Area soul-jazz singer/songwriter Matthew Larkin Cassell's complete works (comprising his 'Pieces' album, an EP entitiled 'Matt...
Roy AyersLots Of LoveUniversal Sound
Roy Ayer’s superb ‘Lots of Love’ was originally released on his own independent Uno Melodic label in 1983. The album is one of his deepest...
  • CD£11.99
    Out of stock
  • 2×LP£13.99
    Out of stock
Freedom, Rhythm and Sound (Album)Revolutionary Jazz and the Civil Rights Movement 1963-82Soul Jazz Records
This album features the work of revolutionary jazz artists who created new radical music infused with the values of Martin Luther King, Malcolm X and...
  • 2×CD£12.99
    Out of stock
  • 2×LP Vol.1£14.99
    Out of stock
  • 2×LP Vol.2£14.99
    Out of stock
    The Lloyd Miller TrioThe Lloyd Miller Trio EPJazzman
    Despite having dedicated most of his 72 years to the intricacies and nuances of jazz and middle-eastern music, Dr Lloyd Miller is an incredibly talented...
    • 12"£6.99
      Out of stock
    OchoOcho 2Universal Sound
    The second of three albums by Ocho, one of the defining bands of the Latin New York Funk sound. Led by Chico Mendoza, Ocho have been featured heavily in...
    Gideon Van GelderPerpetualKindred Spirits
    'Perpetual' shows a different side to Gideon Van Gelder, the pianist we already know from tracks like ?Touch? on Brownswood?s soul jazz conjurer José...
    • CD£11.99
      Out of stock
    Build An ArkLove Part 2Kindred Spirits
    Carlos Nino and Build An Ark return with the companion piece to 2009's LP Love Part 1.  Focusing on the diverse improvisations that were recorded...
    • LP£9.99
      Out of stock
    • CD£13.99
      Out of stock
      Sugar MinottHerbman HustlingBlack Roots
      Classic early 80s album, and one of the first Reggae releases to start using drum machines - the start of the digital revolution !
      • Reissue LP£9.99
        Out of stock
      Bossa Nova and the Rise of Brazilian Music In The 1960sAlbumSoul Jazz Records
      This double-CD is a concise guide to the music of bossa nova and comes with an extensive 75-page photographic mini-book with stunning photographs of Brazilian...
      Studio One Roots Vol. 3Studio One Roots Vol. 3Soul Jazz Records
      Roots music flourished in the 1970’s as Rastafarianism, Black consciousness and self-determinization became the most important aspects of Reggae...
      JoeClaptrap / Level CrosssingHessle Audio
      The mysteroius Joe steps up for his second offering on the ever-brilliant Hessle Audio imprint! Reminiscent of Imagine Iam's deep percussive workout...
      • 12"£5.99
        Out of stock
      Sounds Of LiberationSounds Of LiberationPorter
      Formed in the early 70s, the Sounds of Liberation was a group of Philadelphia musicians made up of Byard Lancaster, Khan Jamal, Monnette Sudler, Omar Hill,...
      • CD£14.99
        Out of stock
      Skelly VibesNatural MysticLife Music
      digital roots cover of bob marley's classic "natural mystic"
      • 7"£3.99
        Out of stock
      New Orleans FunkThe Original Sound of Funk 1960-75Soul Jazz Records
      Album features Ernie K Doe’s ‘Here Come The Girls’, The Meters, Eddie Bo, Professor Longhair, Lee Dorsey, Wild Magnolias and more.This is the definitive...
      • 2. The Explosions – Hip Drop
      • 3. Lee Dorsey – Who's Gonna Help Brother Get Further
      • 4. Gentleman June Gardner – It's Gonna Rain
      • View full info and tracklisting
      J RoccSome Cold Rock StuffStones Throw
      BACK IN STOCK!!! This is the highly anticipated debut album of original music from one of the original turntablists and longtime DJ for Madlib and the...
      • 2×CD£11.99 £10.99
        In stockAdd to Bag
      • 3×LP£27.99
        Out of stock
      Arthur VerocaiArranjos Composicoes: A Mix By DJ NutsMochilla
      A timeless mix of rare and classic recordings from cult Brazilian psych underground legend, Arthur Verocai by DJ Nuts! 78 minutes of all Verocai compositions...
      • CD£11.99
        Out of stock
      DistanceNo WarningChestplate
      In true Distance style ‘No Warning’ starts with a cold errie backdrop, setting the scene for the devastating drop that follows. The hard hitting...
      • 12"£5.99
        Out of stock
      Ramsey LewisThem ChangesCadet Records (1970)
      Rare funky Ramsey Lewis album
      • Original LP£15.00
        Out of stock
      Scion SuccessPetty Petty MurdererLife Music
      dancehall roots vocal over a cover of bob marley's "natural mystic" rhythm
      • 7"£3.99
        Out of stock
      Invasion Of The Mysteron Killer Sounds in 3-DCompiled by Kevin Martin (The Bug) and Stuart Baker (Soul Jazz Records)Soul Jazz Records
      Kevin Martin (aka The Bug) and Stuart Baker (Soul Jazz Records) have collaborated on a unique project bringing together new, exclusive and in-demand cutting-edge...