Charles Mingus Mingus Ah Um

      • 1. Better Git It In Your Soul
      • 2. Goodbye Pork Pie Hat
      • 3. Boogie Stop Shuffle
      • 4. Self-Portrait In Three Colors
      • 5. Open Letter To Duke
      • 6. Bird Calls
      • 7. Fables Of Faubus
      • 8. Pussy Cat Dues
      • 9. Jelly Roll

      When Columbia first issued this album, 6 of the 9 tracks were shortened drastically to fit them on the LP. Later reissues (on CD) have included the tracks in their original full length, but this edition of the album had not been released on vinyl yet, until now! 50 years after its original conception, as it was intended by the Angry Man of Jazz himself.

      People also bought

      James BrownHell (1974)Polydor
      Includes a whole host of hits, psychedelic funk at it's very best - "Papa Don't Take No Mess", 'Please, Please, Please", "Coldblooded" and many, many more....
      • – Hell
      Red Hot Chili PeppersBlood Sugar Sex MagikWarner Bros. Records
      Fifth album from the band, and the one that propelled them to superstardom. Includes the hits "Under The Bridge" and "Give It Away".
        • New Audiophile 2×LP (180 GRAM) 0093624954163£37.99
          In stockAdd to Bag
        Sun RaUniverse In Blue (1972)Saturn
        Featuring Arkestra stawarts John Gilmore (tenor sax) and June Tyson (vocals). 
        • – Universe In Blue Part I
        • – Blackman
        Roy AyersChange Up The Groove (1974)Polydor
        Includes "The Boogie Back", "Fikisha' and Roy's own take on "Don't You Worry 'Bout A Thing". An essential rare groove funky jazz album from the man, originally...
        • – change up the groove
        • – fikisha (to help someone to arrive)
          Sun Ra And His ArkestraSuper-Sonic JazzEl Saturn
          Abstract free jazz from Sun Ra featuring John Gilmore and Juilian Priester!!!
            Roy AyersHe's Coming (1972)Polydor
            Featuring "We Live In Brooklyn Baby" and "He's A Superstar"! Surely the most essential Roy Ayers album - everyone a killer. Super deep, heavy funk jazz....
            • – he's a superstar
            • – we live in brooklyn baby
            Lou ReedEcstasyRhino
            £10 OFF!!!!Very limited pressing 2LP 180g Heavyweight Double LP reissue of Lou Reed' s 18th and final classic solo album "Ecstasy"
              Teddy PendergrassTeddy Pendergrass (1977)Philadelphia International
              Classic Philly sound includes 'The More I Get, The More I Want'
                Bob DylanNashville Skyline (1969)Columbia
                Like `Blonde on Blonde' and `John Wesley Harding', NS was recorded in Nashville TN in 1969 and is a highly succesfull meeting of country music (and a-star...
                  Teddy PendergrassLife Is A Song Worth Singing (1978)Philadelphia International Records
                  Sound of Philadelphia, 1978, recorded at Sigma Sound
                    J.J. CaleTroubadour (1976)Shelter
                    Featuring the original version of "Cocaine", as later covered and popularised by Eric Clapton.
                      Stevie WonderTalking Book (1972)Motown
                      Essential album, the first from Stevie's early 70's trilogy, the others being "Innervisions" and "Fulfillingness". Includes "Superstition" and "Maybe Your...
                      • – Tuesday Heartbreak
                      • – Superstition
                      • – Big Brother
                      David BowieHunky Dory (1971)RCA
                      It's Warhol, as in hole. Unbelieveably good classic album with songs you will be humming for the next thirty years (believe us, we have been!)
                        Arthur RussellThe World Of Arthur RussellSoul Jazz Records
                        New fully remastered re-release of Soul Jazz Records’ ‘The World of Arthur Russell’, the seminal collection of Arthur Russell’s essential music...
                        • Dinosuar L – Go Bang (Francois K Mix)
                        • Lola – Wax The Van
                        • Loose Joints – Is It All Over My Face (Larry Levan Mix)
                        • Arthur Russell – Keeping Up
                        • Arthur Russell – In The Light Of The Miracle
                        • Arthur Russell – A Little Lost
                        • Loose Joints – Pop Your Funk
                        • Arthur Russell – Lets Go Swimming (Walter Gibbons Mix)
                        • Dinosuar L – In The Cornbelt (Larry Levan Mix)
                        • Arthur Russell – Treehouse
                        • Indian Ocean – Schoolbell/Treehouse (Walter Gibbons Mix)
                        Herbie MannPush Push (1971)Embryo
                        Produced by Arif Mardin for his Atlantic subsidiary Embryo, Herbie takes on hits of the day such as "What's Going On" and Aretha's "Spirit In The Dark"...
                          John ColtraneA Love Supreme (1964)Impulse!
                          100% essential deep jazz classic! Searching, yearning, BEAUTIFUL spiritual jazz of the highest order! This is considered by many to be his best album and...
                            Herbie MannMuscle Shoals Nitty Gritty (1970)Atlantic
                            Recorded at Muscle Shoals studios with Roy Ayers and an all-star Memphis line-up of Roger Hawkins, Eddie Hinton, Barry Beckett, Andrew Love and Wayne Jackson. Includes...
                            • – Can You Dig It
                            • Original LP£12.00
                              Vinyl condition: VG+Sleeve condition: VGOriginal = Original USA Vinyl (Embryo gatefold sleeve, bit of tear to die cut square)

                              100% Guarantee on this and all Original Vinyl at Sounds Of The Universe - 'if you're not happy we're not happy' or your money back!
                            Sahib ShihabSeedsSchema Records
                            Reissue of this CLASSIC and extremely sought-after 1968 modal jazz rarity recorded in Europe by ex-pat US saxophonist Sahib Shihab! An original might cost...
                            • – Seeds
                            • – Who'll Buy My Dream
                            • – Uma Fita de Tres Cores
                            • – Mauve
                            Alice ColtraneWorld Spirituality Classics 1: The Ecstatic Music of Alice Coltrane TuriyasangitanandaLuaka Bop
                            Essential Alice Coltrane recordings issued for the first time on vinyl by Luaka Bop! Alice Coltrane was a legendary pianist, composer,...
                            • – Om Rama
                            • – Om Shanti
                            • – Rama Rama
                            • – Rama Guru
                            • – Hari Narayan
                            • – Journey to Satchidananda
                            • – Er Ra
                            • – Keshava Murahara
                            • – Krishna Japaye*
                            • – Rama Katha*
                            Herbie HancockMaiden Voyage (1965)Blue Note
                            Brilliant, brilliant album - every track's a winner! Highly recommended!
                              Duke Ellington & John ColtraneDuke Ellington & John Coltrane (1963)Impulse!
                              Duke Ellington & John Coltrane is a jazz album by Duke Ellington and John Coltrane recorded on September 26, 1962 and released in February 1963 on...
                                Donald ByrdA New PerspectiveBlue Note
                                Remarkable 1963 album with Hank Mobley, Kenny Burell, Herbie Hancock & gospel choir! includes the classic 'Cristo Redentor'. Killer and deep!
                                • – Elijah
                                • – Beast Of Burden
                                • – Cristo Redentor
                                • – The Black Disciple
                                • – Chant