• LP RRRLP 001.£12.99
      Out of stock
    • Joseph Malik – Malcolm X Strings
    • Joseph Malik – Love Bound
    • Joseph Malik – But I'm Lost Not Found
    • Joseph Malik – Inside In, Outside Out
    • Joseph Malik – Mixed Combination
    • Joseph Malik – Vanguard
    • Joseph Malik – Country Yard
    • Joseph Malik – Intermission
    • Joseph Malik – Take A Left
    • Joseph Malik – Lost Not Found (Resprise)
    • Joseph Malik – Awakening
    • Joseph Malik – Basquiat
    • 1. Malcolm X Strings
    • 2. Love Bound
    • 3. But I'm Lost Not Found
    • 4. Inside In, Outside Out
    • 5. Mixed Combination
    • 6. Vanguard
    • 7. Country Yard
    • 8. Intermission
    • 9. Take A Left
    • 10. Lost Not Found (Resprise)
    • 11. Awakening
    • 12. Basquiat

    Throughout the album you will be rooted in the present tense but you will hear sounds that take you back through the rich history of black music. The first track to be taken from the LP for the debut vinyl 45, 'Take A Left , produced by Malik and Sound Signals, begins with a blues harmonica that conjures the memory of Sonny Boy Williamson. As the track expands it initially becomes plantation gospel, joined by brass and then on the back of a nagging beat it morphs into a full-blown modern soul song. 'Country Yard' is a pleading rural blues song about Sunday and selling your soul, which riffs on the mythology of Robert Johnson and soul sold to the Devil. Two of the album's tribute tracks are deeply immersed in black history. 'Malcolm X Strings' is a gentle and insinuating piece of orchestral soul, which seems to soar above Harlem, rising at the East Winds loft on 125th Street where the Last Poets launched their revolutionary poetry and eventually fading over the Audubon Ballroom, where Malcolm X was shot by conspirators. 'Basquiat' is a more recent tribute, remembering the life and death of the artist Jean-Michel Basquiat the graffiti artist turned post-modern genius. It is through Basquiat's life that we return to Joseph Malik, a young man who refuses to be contained by expectation and, like Basquiat, lists the New York underground of Lou Reed, Velvet Underground and new wave innovators Talking Heads among his many influences.
    But enough of history - this is an album very much about now and the way black music can descant on the past and yet embrace endless innovation. In the spirit of the old sixties DJs that were the ghetto mavens of their ear - "Cut the chatter, check out the platter."

    Other Releases on Ramrock

    DB CohenFind a wayRamrock
    DB Cohen’s ‘Find A Way’ is filled with reggae goodness from beginning to end. Featuring champion MC’s D’Oxman & Mark Professor, heavyweight...
    • DB Cohen – Find A Way
    • DB Cohen – Find A Way - [a=Ashley Beedle]'s North Street Vocal Remix
    • DB Cohen – Find A Way - Wrongtom's Echolocation Dub

    People also bought

    Ø & PanasonicSähkö - The Movie Soundtrack EPSahko
    The long lost tapes of Jimi Tenor's Sähkö soundtrack have finally been re-discovered, via some returned demo tapes Jimi had sent to Warp in the 90's....
    • Ø & Panasonic – Scene 1
    • Ø & Panasonic – Scene 2
    • Ø & Panasonic – Scene 3
    • Ø & Panasonic – Scene 4
    • Ø & Panasonic – Scene 5
    • Ø & Panasonic – Scene 6
    • 12" EP£11.99
      Out of stock
    Salsoul: The Reflex RevisionsVarious ArtistsSalsoul
    Salsoul Records are proud to present another crate digging anthology of jams that have been lovingly reworked, this time by mighty French mixer, The Reflex!...
    • Loleatta Holloway – Mama Don't Papa Won't (The Reflex Revision)
    • Candido – Dancin' & Prancin' (The Reflex Revision)
    • Skyy – Let's Celebrate (The Reflex Revision)
    • Rafael Cameron – Boogie's Gonna Get Ya (The Reflex Revision)
    • 1. Loleatta Holloway – Mama Don't Papa Won't (The Reflex Revision)
    • 2. Candido – Dancin' & Prancin' (The Reflex Revision)
    • 3. Skyy – Let's Celebrate (The Reflex Revision)
    • View full info and tracklisting
    • 2×LP£20.99
      Out of stock
    Robert HoodDJ Kicks!K7 Records
    Detroit’s pioneering techno giant Robert Hood takes the reins of the DJ-Kicks mix series. This 22 track offering includes four of his own exclusives!...
    • Robert Hood – Focus (DJ-Kicks)
    • Truncate – Terminal 5
    • Slam – Remain
    • Stare5 – We Will Not
    • Gary Beck – Video Siren
    • Mark Reeve – Dice
    • Landside – Signs of Change (Robert Hood Remix)
    • Ben Long & Tom Hades – The Knight Rider
    • 2xLP + Download Code£21.99
      In stockAdd to Bag
    • CD£12.99
      Out of stock
    Dom Salvador e AboliçaoSom, Sangue e RaçaMad About Records
    The album ‘Som, sangue e raça’ paves the way for future generations of musicians and producers of the 'carioca' scene at the beginning of the 1970s....
    • Dom Salvador e Aboliçao – Uma Vida
    • Dom Salvador e Aboliçao – Guanabara
    • Dom Salvador e Aboliçao – Hei! Você
    • Dom Salvador e Aboliçao – Som, Sangue E Raça
    • Dom Salvador e Aboliçao – Tema Pro Gaguinho
    • Dom Salvador e Aboliçao – O Rio
    • Dom Salvador e Aboliçao – Evo
    • Dom Salvador e Aboliçao – Number One
    • Dom Salvador e Aboliçao – Folia De Reis
    • Dom Salvador e Aboliçao – Moeda, Reza E Côr
    • Dom Salvador e Aboliçao – Samba Do Malandrinho
    • Dom Salvador e Aboliçao – Tio Macrô
    • LP£21.99
      Out of stock