Culture The Nighthawk Recordings

    Omnivore Recordings
      • 1. Calling Rastafari
      • 2. Dem A Payaka
      • 3. This Time
      • 4. Can They Run
      • 5. Can They Run Version
      • 6. Mister Music
      • 7. Mister Music Version

      7 Track EP from Reggae Legend Culture. Includes 4 Previously Unissued Tracks. Liner Notes From Nighthawk Founder / Producer Leroy Jodie Pierson. Culture began recording in 1976 with an early cut of This Time which was only released on an obscure Jamaican single. Composed in response to the state of emergency declared by the Jamaican government in that year, the early recording is a tame and lyrically altered version of the original song as finally presented on this album. “We couldn’t do it in dem time, We gonna give you the real ‘This Time’.” During the late 1970s Culture recorded seven fine albums, three for Joe Gibbs, three for Sonia Pottinger, and one issued in America by April Records, which Joseph Hill regarded as a bootleg. Culture was truly in their prime when they recorded the material included on this album. The first three tracks were recorded in 1981 with backing by the Roots Radics. The remaining tracks were taped in 1983 with backup by The Wailers band. Calling Rastafari, Dem A Payaka, and This Time were all originally included on the 1982 Nighthawk compilation album, Calling Rastafari.Most of the tracks released on the classic, roots reggae compilation, were recorded during a three-day session in 1981 at the Harry J studio in Jamaica. The Culture songs appeared alongside tracks by Gladiators, Mighty Diamonds, Wailing Souls and others, with most of the songs being unique to the album including those by Culture. Can They Run and Mister Musicand their respective Versions were recorded two years after Calling Rastafari was issued and languished in the Nighthawk vaults until the release of this special, limited-edition EP.

      Other Releases by Culture

      CultureGood ThingsRAS Records
      Strong roots vocal album originally released in 1989 on American label RAS, CD version has 4 extra tracks.
      • Culture – Hand 'A' Bowl
      • Culture – Good Things
      • Culture – Love Music (Extended Version)
      • Culture – Psalm Of Bob Marley
      CultureTwo Sevens Clash (40th Anniversary Edition)Joe Gibbs Record Globe
      40th anniversary edition of the classic ‘Two Sevens Clash’ album now expanded with a second disc of 12” disco mixes, DJ cuts and dubs. "Two Sevens...
      • Culture – Calling Rasta For I
      • Culture – I'm Alone In The Wilderness
      • 2×CD£13.99
        In stockAdd to Bag
      • LP 3£29.99
        Out of stock
      CultureCapture RastaAmussu Music
      Wicked mid 80s tune from Joesph Hill & Culture on the "Sleng Teng" rhythm with stripped down version on the flip. Limited press..
      • Culture – Capture Rasta
      • Enos McLeod – Captured
      CultureTwo Sevens Clash Joe Gibbs
      All time roots rockers classic album, a big favourite with punk and reggae fans in the late 70's
        • CD£13.99
          In stockAdd to Bag
        • LP£16.99
          Out of stock
        CultureCulture At Joe Gibbs17 North Parade
        Four bumper CDs compiling everything recorded by Culture for the one and only Joe Gibbs. Three classic albums (Two Sevens Clash; Baldhead Bridge; More...