• 2×LP ITR200LP£20.99
    Out of stock
  • CD ITR200CD£12.99
    In stockAdd to Bag
  • 1. cosmic cars
  • 2. sharevari
  • 3. good life
  • 4. strings of life
  • 5. alleys of your mind
  • 6. bugs in the bass bin
  • 7. jaguar
  • 8. tear the club up
  • 9. detoroito mix

Moodyman associate Mick Collins aka 'The Dirtbombs' release 'Party Store' - nine disco/punky/ garage live interpretations of classic Detroit house and techno from the 80's and early 90's.

The subject matter runs the gamut from materialistic future-disco braggadocio (“Sharevari,” originally by A Number of Names) to cold, post-industrial isolation (“Alleys of Your Mind,” originally by Cybotron) through to the instrumental optimism of a worldwide house classic (“Strings of Life,” originally by Derrick May).

The two clear standout tracks are “Good Life” and “Bug in the Bass Bin.” Collins recontextualizes the upbeat modern dance élan of the former, originally by Kevin Saunderson via his Inner City outfit, to echo with post-punk zeal as the zest of doubled harmonies resonates throughout. “Bass Bin” (originally by Carl Craig as Innerzone Orchestra) features modular synthesizer programming by Craig himself and is the album’s pièce de résistance. Clocking in at more than 21 minutes, the track’s original light jazz underpinnings are diffused into a martial, militaristic backbeat coupled with fire-raining feedback screes from Collins’s trusty Kent guitar.

People also bought

    Bossa Nova and the Rise of Brazilian Music In The 1960sAlbumSoul Jazz Records
    This double-CD is a concise guide to the music of bossa nova and comes with an extensive 75-page photographic mini-book with stunning photographs of Brazilian...
    • Deluxe 2×CD£12.99
      In stockAdd to Bag
    • MP3 Release£8.99
      Out of stock
      Light Sounds Dark / PsychemagikAfter The VoidLight Sounds Dark
       Light sounds dark combine forces with fellow marshmallows Psychemagik unearth a treasure trove of rare 70's psych and cosmic delights! A selection...
      • 2×LP£15.99
        Out of stock
      • 2×CD£11.99
        Out of stock
      Bounty KillerThe Lord Is My Light and My SalvationJammys
      Gospel Dancehall !
      • 7"£3.00
        Out of stock
      MoodymannFreeki Mutha F*cker / Juan Atkins & Egyptian Lover RemixesKDJ
      Sleazy dirty deep house from Moodymann on KDJ! The original was on 2009's Det.Riot 67 EP and has been long available. As welTwo blinding remixes from...
      • 12"£10.99
        Out of stock
      Jean Michel BasquiatDowntown 81Virgin
      Punk, No Wave, and high art collide in the soundtrack of "Downtown 81," a film starring renowned graffiti artist Jean-Michel Basquiat. The almost ill-fated...
      • 2×LP£13.99
        Out of stock
      Originals 5Compiled By Felix DickinsonClaremont56
      The highly antiicipated Volume 5 is finally here!  Those of you who grabbed the previous limited edition Originals mixes from Sean P, Moonboots and...
      • CD£11.99
        Out of stock
      Waxpoetics 39Fela Kuti / Tony Allen IssueWaxpoetics
      BACK IN! Our favourite magazine is back with a wicked issue concentrating on African cult hero Fela Kuti! Highlights: An excerpt from Fela:...
      • Magazine (250g)£7.99
        Out of stock
      The World EndsAfro Rock & Psychedelia In 1970s NigeriaSoundway
      The World Ends is the latest title from Soundway Records showcasing a wave of guitar driven and psychedelic groups that sprung up in Nigeria during the...
      The TechniquesI'll Be Right ThereTechniques
      Wicked uplifting Rocksteady vibes
      • 7"£3.00
        Out of stock
      Blludd Relations Cold Like The BaronSounds Of The Universe / Soul Jazz Records
      WORLDWIDE EXCLUSIVE! Only available here, right now! Blludd Relations Sounds of The Universe Art+Sound 12” release no. 5! REMEMBER –...
      Heatsick Snakes & Ladders EP Sounds Of The Universe / Soul Jazz Records
      Trippy experimental club tracks from Steven Warwick aka Heatsick exclusive to our Sounds Of The Universe imprint. Limited to 300 copies - available only...
      CultureCulture At Joe Gibbs17 North Parade
      Four bumper CDs compiling everything recorded by Culture for the one and only Joe Gibbs. Three classic albums (Two Sevens Clash; Baldhead Bridge; More...
      Nirosta Steel Some Say (Produced by Arthur Russell)Wilde Calm Records
      Recently discovered song from the archive of Arthur Russell, recorded and engineered by disco legend Bob Blank at his Connecticut-based studio. Produced...
      • 7"£8.99
        Out of stock
          Rick Poppa HowardDo What You Have To DoHour House Is Your Rush
          Tevo Howard joins up with his father again to deliver another classic Chicago house record. It's another must-have from the Howard camp. This is as good...
          • 12"£6.99
            Out of stock
              Sofrito: Tropical Discotheque (Reissue)VariousStrut
              Debut compilation from the Sofrito collective featuring heavy tropical dancefloor sounds from Africa, the caribbean and South America - finally back in...
              • 1. banda los hijos de la nina luz – quiero amanacer
              • 2. les ya toupas du zaire – je ne bois pas beaucomp
              • 3. frente cumbiero – pitchito
              • View full info and tracklisting
              • 2×LP£21.99
                Out of stock
              Talking HeadsThe Name of This Band is Talking Heads (1981)Sire
              Talking Heads in the zone, 1981. Every tune is killer.
              • Original 2×LP£12.00
                Out of stock
              Tectonic presentsScientist Launches Dubstep Into Outer Space : THE SCIENTIST MIXESTectonic
              THE SCIENTIST MIXES! Tectonic's most ambitious project to date, in which the influence of dub comes full circle, ‘Scientist Launches Dubstep Into...
              • 1. scientist vs pinch & emika – 2012 dub
              • 2. scientist vs armour (roly vex'd) – the long way dub
              • 3. scientist vs guido – korg back dub
              • View full info and tracklisting
              • CD£13.99
                Out of stock
              • 2×LP£11.99
                Out of stock
              GrayShades Of Gray Featuring Jean-Michel BasquiatPlush Safe
              *NOW ON AVAILABLE ON VINYL* The new Gray album release, "Shades of..." featuring Jean-Michel Basquiat, Michael Holman, Nicholas Taylor and Justin Thyme. ...
              • LP£16.99
                Out of stock