The Awakening Hear, Sense & Feel

Snow Dog
  • CD SDGBJ 1209CD£11.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. Awakening Prologue: Spring Thing
  • 2. When Will It Ever End
  • 3. Convulsions
  • 4. Kera's Dance
  • 5. Jupiter
  • 6. Brand New Feeling
  • 7. Awakening Epilogue

The Awakening sees the light of day again, escaping oblivion thanks to the reissuing of the Chicago-based jazz sextet's 1972 album titled Hear, Sense & Feel. While keeping attuned to John Coltrane's spirituality, the group follows a no-nonsense, straightforward jazz course with sidesteps into the freer jazz zones -- quite natural for band pianist Ken Chaney and saxophonist/flautist Ari Brown, given their involvement with the Afro-centric AACM (Association for the Advancement of Creative Music).

People also bought

Gene Russell Talk to My LadySnow Dog
Gene Russell should be a name familiar to committed and more casual fans of jazz and R&B made in the 1970s.  Talk to My Lady has its transcendent...
Walter BishopKeeper of My Soul Snow Dog
On his second and last Black Jazz album Keeper of My Soul (1973), Walter Bishop Jr. plays acoustic and electric pianos and organ with a sense of uplift,...
  • CD£13.99
    Out of stock
Doug Carn Spirit of the New LandBlack Jazz
Deep, deep spiritual jazz. Original copy. Vinyl is great. Sleeve has promo sticker, 2 dynamo name stickers, tape residue in corner, two v. small tears...
  • Original LP£49.99
    Out of stock
Gene RussellNew DirectionSnow Dog
Think Ahmad Jamal. Vince Guaraldi. Junior Mance. Red Garland. Ramsey Lewis. Then think again. It's Gene Russell with his New Direction, an album that originally...
Walter BishopCoral Keys Snow Dog
The songs on Coral Keys are decisive and radiant, thankfully free of the indulgences marring many jazz records issued in the early 1970s. The title-track...
  • CD£11.99
    Out of stock
Kellee PattersonMaiden VoyageBlack Jazz
Fantastic album on Black Jazz, originally released in 1974 and featuring a great vocal version of Herbie Hancock's "Maiden Voyage". Produced by Gene...
  • Reissue LP£10.99
    Out of stock
  • CD£11.99
    In stockAdd to Bag
Calvin Keys Shawn-NeeqSnow Dog
One of the most radiant is his debut, Shawn-Neeq, originally issued in 1973. The album came in the wake of the soul jazz era when Miles Davis' startling...
  • CD£13.99
    Out of stock
Chester Thompson Powerhouse Snow Dog
"Contacted by phone at his home just south of San Francisco, Chester Thompson is quick in his response to a question about a record he made in three hours...
  • CD£13.99
    Out of stock
Henry Franklin The SkipperSnow Dog
For decades, the Los Angeles jazz community has been fortunate to have bass player Henry 'The Skipper' Franklin in their midst. He's a paragon of jazz...
  • CD£13.99
    Out of stock
The Awakening Mirage Snow Dog
The Awakening's jazz - hard bop with side-trips into soul jazz, plus some free-jazz tonal expressionism. The Chicago-based jazz sextet known as The...
  • CD£13.99
    Out of stock
Rudolph JohnsonThe Second Coming Snow Dog
On his second Black Jazz release, the unjustly under-appreciated saxophonist Rudolph "Rudy" Johnson shows confidence in his direct, emotional approach...
    DJ Mitsu The Beats Solid Black Snow Dog
    In conjunction with Snow Dog Projects and Black Jazz Records, Jazzy Sport crew member DJ Mitsu The Beats has composed a seamless mix of tracks selected...
    Kev Beadle Presents Private Collection Independent Jazz Sounds From The Seventies And Eighties BBE
    Stirring up memories of Dingwalls, and the WAG club, Kev Beadle delivers a stellar collection of ultra rare funky jazz cuts for BBE. Well known...
    • 1. Peter Giger's Family Of Percussion & Archie Shepp – Here Comes The Family
    • 2. Kamal Abdul Alim – Brotherhood**
    • 3. Johnny Walker – Dipping
    • View full info and tracklisting
    • CD£9.99
      Out of stock
    • 2×LP£14.99
      Out of stock
    Spiritual Jazz Volume Four Jazzman
    Jazzman focus their attention on American jazz musicians who chose to leave the US for European shores. Showcased on Volume Four are the results of a cultural...
    • 1. Pierre Cavalli ft. Sahib Shihab – Studie Nr. 1 fur 12-saitige Gitarre
    • 2. Johnny Hawksworth & Hampton Hawes – Jazz Rule
    • 3. Clarence Peters – Born & Shake
    • View full info and tracklisting
    • CD£14.99
      Out of stock
    • 3×LP£28.99
      Out of stock
    London Is The Place For Me Afro-Cubism, Calypso, Highlife, Mento, Jazz The Music Of Young Black London, 5 & 6Honest Jons
    At last, fresh installments in Honest Jon's acclaimed, much-loved series: open-hearted, bitter-sweet, mash-up postcards to the here and now, from young...
    • 2×CD£15.99
      Out of stock
    Music For Dancefloors The KPM Library Strut
    An early key release in Strut's back catalogue, now re-released after almost 13 years with a special bonus disc - "Music For Dancefloors" compiles the...
    • 1. Alan Parker & Madeline Bell – That's What Friends Are For (Vocal)
    • 2. Alan Parker – Unlimited Love
    • 3. Duncan Lamont – Funky Express (Re-Edit)
    • View full info and tracklisting
    • 2×CD£12.99
      Out of stock
    • 2×LP£19.99
      Out of stock
    Rudolph JohnsonSpring Rain Snow Dog
    It was a time when the reigning U.S. label for jazz was CTI. The early 1970s also saw another label hit the streets, and with Rudolph Johnson's Spring...
    Oliver LakeNtu: Point From Which Creation Begins (1971)Universal Sound
    VINYL COMES WITH FREE DIGITAL DOWNLOAD VOUCHER FROM OUR WEBSITE ONLY! Soul Jazz Records/Universal Sound are reissuing jazz composer Oliver Lake's Ntu:...