Shangaan Electro New Wave Dance Music From South Africa

Honest Jon's
  • CD HJRCD52£10.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. BBC – Ngunyuta Dance (The Shake-Your-Behind Dance)
  • 2. Tshetsha Boys – Nwa Pfundla (Pfundla's Daughter)
  • 3. Mancingelani – Vana Vasesi (My Sister's Children)
  • 4. Zinja Hlungwani – Ntombi Ya Mugaza (Shangaan Woman)
  • 5. BBC – Ngozi (Danger)
  • 6. Zinja Hlungwani – Nwa Gezani (Gezani's Daughter)
  • 7. Tiyiselani Vomaseve – Vanghoma
  • 8. Nka Mwewe Nka Mwewe – Khulumani (Let's Talk)
  • 9. Tiyiselani Vomaseve – Na Xaniseka (I'm Suffering)
  • 10. Zinja Hlungwani – Nwa Gezani My Love (Gezani's Daughter, My Love)
  • 11. Tshetsha Boys – Uya Kwihi Ka Rose (Rose, Where Are You Going?)
  • 12. Zinja Hlungwani – Thula (So Quiet)

An astounding compilation of the breakneck Shangaan dance music from South Africa! Shangaan is traditional South African music fused with electronics to create a fast-paced highly energetic form of dance music and is hugely popular in he areas between Johannesburg, Limpopo and Mozambique. The tracks on here are simply explosive and shake along at astonishing 180pm,  Honest Jon's Mark Ainley and Mark Ernestus have selected 12 of the best tracks which were recorded between 2006 and 2009 in Nozinja studio in Soweto!!

People also bought

Riddim BoxExcursions In The UK Funky UndergroundSoul Jazz Records
Soul Jazz Records new compilation of the UK Funky scene.‘Riddim Box’ explores the most unique, left-field and innovative UK Funky releases of the recent...
Fly Girls!B-Boys Beware: Revenge Of The Super Female RappersSoul Jazz Records
‘Fly Girls!’ celebrates the 30th anniversary of female rap on record ! This double-CD (and limited edition two volumes of super-loud double-vinyl)...
LonePineapple Crush / Angel BrainMagic Wire
Introducing Magic Wire Recordings….. New label from WerkDiscs' artist Lone (AKA Matt Cutler). With this debut 2 track 10" from the man himself we're...
  • 10"£5.99
    Out of stock
      Brazil Bossa Beat!Bossa Nova And The Story Of Elenco Records, BrazilSoul Jazz Records
      Following on from our Bossa Nova album and deluxe book (compiled by Gilles Peterson and Stuart Baker) comes this incredible collection of bossa nova tracks...
      • Deluxe CD£11.99
        Out of stock
      • 2×LP£14.99
        Out of stock
      • MP3 Release£7.99
        In stockAdd to Bag
      Rumble In The JungleRumble in the JungleSoul Jazz Records
       Soul Jazz Records latest journey features all-time classic jungle anthems such as General Levy’s ‘Incredible’ and UK Apachi and Shy FX’s...
      • 1. Asher Senator – One Bible
      • 2. Ninjaman, Bounty Killer, Beenie Man and Ninja Ford – Bad Boy Lick A New Shot
      • 3. M Beat With General Levy – Incredible
      • View full info and tracklisting
      Street and Gangland RhythmsBeats And Improvisations By Six Boys In Trouble (1959)Smithsonian Folkways
      Street percussion, drumming, songs and chants recorded in New York in 1959 by a group of street kids. Kind of like a prototype Haryou Percussion Group...
      Forge Your Own ChainsHeavy Psychedelic Ballads And Dirges 1968-1974Now Again / Stones Throw
      Beat heavy funky global-psychedelia on Now-Again! Inspired whilst Egon was sitting at his desk at Stones Throw's HQ listening to D.R Hooker's The Truth...
      • CD£14.99
        Out of stock
        Santa's Little Helpers Presents...The Christmas Stuffing Mix Sack
        Oh yes, it's that's time again when Santa's Little Helpers drop off another festively themed, weird and wonderful EXCLUSIVE mix for SOTU! Rumoured to be...
        • CD£6.99
          Out of stock
        Robert HoodOmegaEPM
        Robert Hood returns after last year's ‘Minimal Nation' re-issue with his new artist album ‘Omega'. The album is based on the 1971 classic...
        • 2×LP£18.99
          Out of stock
        • CD£14.99
          Out of stock
        Foster ManganyiNdzi Teke RiendzoHonest Jon's
        Sublimely convulsive Shangaan electro-gospel by a pastor from Giyani, Limpopo, recorded in 2008, brimming with aching, plaintive, mournful spirituality....
        • CD£10.99
          In stockAdd to Bag
        • LP£13.99
          Out of stock
        Danza MeccanicaItalian Synth Wave 1982-1987Mannequin
        After some exhausting work of "archeological" proportions - Italian label Mannequin have compiled  this superb compilation of super rare and unreleased...
        • CD£15.99
          Out of stock
            Jean-Pierre MassieraMidnight Massiera: The B-Muisc Of Jean-Pierre MassieraFinders Keepers
            Now also available on vinyl! 18 sacred psychedelic suppositories from the labortory of Mad scientist and scaplel happy pop-mutilator Jean-Pierre Massiera....
            • CD£9.99
              Out of stock
            • LP£14.99
              Out of stock