Sam Sanders Mirror, Mirror

180 Proof
  • 2×LP (180g) l-OEP1004£21.99
    Out of stock
  • CD cd-OEP1004£11.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. Inner City Player
  • 2. Face At My WIndow
  • 3. Loser
  • 4. Funk’ed Up
  • 5. Love’s Gain
  • 6. Summer Mist

Compared to the likes of John Coltrane, Ornette Coleman and Joe Henderson, Sam Sanders stands out as one of the most unique phenomena to come from the Motor City. Catching a glimpse of fame early on, performing with several internationally known acts, he also learned a bit about what the Record Industry’s primary goals were - and realised that he did not share them. Seeking his own direction, a drive for artistic freedom turned out to be a double-edged sword: while it allowed Sanders to produce some of the most electric jazz, funk, and soul to come from Detroit, it also meant that most of his recordings were never widely released, if they were released at all.

*NB: Limited collector's edition comes on orange coloured vinyl*