Pete Rock & CL Smooth Mecca and the Soul Brother (1992)

  • 2×LP GET52721-LP£24.99
    Out of stock
  • 2×LP (180g) MOVLP1633£22.99
    In stockAdd to Bag
  • 2×CD Heavy Box (150g) TEG755152£18.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. Return Of The Mecca
  • 2. For Pete's Sake
  • 3. Ghettos Of The Mind
  • 4. Lots Of Lovin
  • 5. Act Like You Know
  • 6. Straighten It Out
  • 7. Soul Brother No.1
  • 8. Wig Out
  • 9. Anger In The Nation
  • 10. They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y)
  • 11. On And On
  • 12. It's Like That
  • 13. Can't Front On Me
  • 14. The Basement feat. Heavy D., Robo-O, Grap & Dida
  • 15. If It Ain't Rough, It Ain't Right
  • 16. Skinz feat. Grand Puba
  • 17. it's not a game
  • 18. lots of lovin' remix
  • 19. they reminisce over you (t.r.o.y) remix
  • 20. straighten it out remix
  • 21. they reminisce over you (t.r.o.y) vibes mix
  • 22. it's not a game instrumental
  • 23. they reminisce over you (t.r.o.y) instrumental
  • 24. the basement instrumental
  • 25. if it ain't rough, it ain't right instrumental
  • 26. skins instrumental
  • 27. straighten it out instrumental
  • 28. they reminisce over you (t.r.o.y) remix instrumental
  • 29. ghettos of the mind accapella
  • 30. they reminisce over you (t.r.o.y) acapella
  • 31. the basement acapella

Mecca And The Soul Brother, the critically acclaimed 1992 debut album from the Mount Vernon duo, Pete Rock & CL Smooth! This album is considered as one of the greatest Hip-Hop albums of all time. Boast- ing tracks such as the first single, “They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.)”, a dedication to their deceased friend; “Trouble T-Roy”, which went on to become not only their signature hit, but also one of Hip Hop’s all-time great songs. The album is propelled forward by Rock’s quick, soulful interludes; usually bits of old R&B tunes layered with his signature trumpet and sax loops. Smooth’s liquid freestyle delivery pieces together the perfect vocal match that, together, creates a sprawling, nearly 80-minute-long album on which not a single song or interlude is a throwaway or a superfluous piece. Named one of the essential recordings of the 90s by Rolling Stone, among numerous other accolades,

Mecca and the Soul Brother stands up without ever really dating itself and is now available in a beautiful 2xCD box set edition. The first disc features the original 16 album tracks, remastered from the original masters recordings. The second disc contains 15 bonus versions and exclusives. Both discs come housed in individual ‘paste on’ style sleeves with brightly-colored printed dust sleeves. A 20-page book features in-depth liner notes written by Brian Coleman with contributions from Dante Ross, Pete Rock and CL Smooth. All this plus a full sized poster to boot. This reissue of an early 90s classic is a must have for any music collector or fan of good music.

People also bought

The JacksonsCan You Feel ItCamden
14 tracks, post-Jackson 5 but before Michael's solo career, some stormin funk and disco tracks here, from 'Blame It On The Boogie' to 'Show You The Way...
  • CD£7.99
    Out of stock
    Funk SpectrumIIBBE
    Great rare funk compilation from Kenny Dope and Keb Darge. Recommended!
    • CD£9.99
      Out of stock
    Dr. JohnIn The Right Place (1973)Atlantic
    Classic New Orleans funk album with The Meters as backing band! Vinyl is special edition Mardi Gras multi-coloured!
    • CD£7.99
      In stockAdd to Bag
    • New LP £21.99
      Out of stock
    Earth, Wind And FireEarth, Wind And Fire (1970)Warner Bros
    "Fan the Fire", "Bad Tune". Killer early album. Heavyweight funk on 180 gram vinyl. Essential !
    • New LP (180g)£16.99
      Out of stock
    John MoralesThe M&M MixesBBE
    Wow! An absolutely 110% essential compilation from the ever-brilliant BBE camp compiled by New York Disco legend John Morales!!!! John Morales alongside...
    • 2×LP£17.99
      Out of stock
    • 2×CD£10.99
      Out of stock
    Aretha FranklinSoul '69 (1969)Atlantic
    Another unquestionably ESSENTIAL late-sixties standard-setting soul album from the undisputed queen of soul, Aretha Franklin! This is truly amazing...
    • CD£7.99
      In stockAdd to Bag
    • Original LP£18.00
      Out of stock
      Aretha FranklinAretha Arrives (1967)Atlantic
      Absolutely essential C-L-A-S-S-I-C late-sixties soul album from the undisputed queen of soul, Aretha Franklin! Aretha Franklin's late-sixties string...
      • Original LP£20.00
        Out of stock
      James Brown's ProductionsThe Godfather's R&B 1962-67BGP
      This is a superb new compilation of James Brown's early productions from 1962-67. Featuring super-rare cuts, this CD clearly shows Brown's journey from...
      The JacksonsDestiny (1978)Epic
      "Blame It on The Boogie", "Shake Your Body Down To The Ground" - the last great Jacksons album - a disco masterpiece!
      • Original LP£9.99
        Out of stock
      Bim ShermanTribulation (Down In Jamdown 1974 to 1979)Pressure Sounds
      a superb compilation from pressure sounds of the late and greatly underrated bim sherman. haunting melodies , tuff roots rockers,deep dubs and featuring...
      • CD£10.99
        Out of stock
      • 2×LP£11.99
        Out of stock
      Disco SpectrumVolume TwoBBE
      Awesome second installment in this great series of disco/boogie compilations from BBE! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
      • 2×CD£9.99
        Out of stock
      Kenny Dope vs P&P RecordsKenny Dope vs P&P RecordsP&P
      Patrick Adams and Peter Brown open up their rare and highly sought after disco back catalogue to the the one and only Kenny Dope. On the double CD we see...
      • 2×CD£13.99
        Out of stock
      DJ SpinnaThe Boogie Back : Post Disco Club JamsBBE
      Wicked new boogietastic compilation from supreme DJ, crate digger and remixer, Dj Spinna on BBE! BBE return to what they are best and most well known...
      • 2×CD£11.99
        Out of stock
      Collins and CollinsCollins and CollinsA&M
      Excellent reissue of this classic rare groove LP! Highly sought-after album featuring the two-step classic Top of the Stairs plus loads of other great...
      • CD£10.99
        Out of stock
        I'm Dreaming Of A Shite XmasSanta's Little Helpers PresentsYule Know Who
        It's that time of year again and as we've all been good boys and girls, Santa's little helpers have delivered at SOTU's door an annoymous special one-off...
        • CD£5.99
          Out of stock
        Disco DischargeGay Disco & Hi NRGHarmless
        BACK IN STOCK! Disco Discharge is a brand new series from Harmless. Covering 4 themes – Classic Disco, Disco Ladies, Euro Disco and Gay Disco...
        • CD£7.99
          Out of stock