James Brown's Productions The Godfather's R&B 1962-67

  • 1. Dizzy Jones – I don't care
  • 2. Bobby byrd – I'm lonely
  • 3. James crawford – Got no excuse
  • 4. Elsie mae – Do you really want to rescue me part one
  • 5. The jewells – lookie lookie lookie
  • 6. James crawford – If you don't work you can't eat
  • 7. James brown – New breed (the boo-ga-loo) part one
  • 8. Anna king – That's when i cry
  • 9. Vicki anderson – Wide awake in a dream
  • 10. Dizzy jones – Unexplainable
  • 11. The poets – Devil's den part one
  • 12. Yvonne fair and the james brown band – It hurts t be in love
  • 13. Rev willingham – That's the spirit
  • 14. James crawford – Help poor me
  • 15. Vicki anderson – Nobody cares
  • 16. Bobby byrd – I'll keep pressing on
  • 17. Yvonne fair – I found you
  • 18. Al brisco clark and his orchestra – Soul food parts 1 & 2
  • 19. Anna king – If you don't think
  • 20. Bobby byrd – I found out
  • 21. Tammy montgomery – I cried

This is a superb new compilation of James Brown's early productions from 1962-67. Featuring super-rare cuts, this CD clearly shows Brown's journey from rockin R'n'B towards the incredible sound of Funk that he made his own. These are every bit as good as his later, more famous, funk productions. Here are early recordings by Bobby Byrd and Vicki Anderson, sought-after dancefloor collector’s items by Elsie Mae and Dizzy Jones, the James Brown band before they became the JBs and Yvonne Fair belting out the original version of James’ ‘I Got You (I Feel Good)’ titled ‘I Found You’. You also have James’ tribute to influences and heroes from his early days with records by the Rev Willingham and the Five Royales, and James lets loose on his organ a couple of times. These recordings are the roots of funk. Super recommended!

People also bought

Disco SpectrumVolume TwoBBE
Awesome second installment in this great series of disco/boogie compilations from BBE! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
  • 2×CD£9.99
    Out of stock
Keb Darge & Lucinda SlimThis Is DJ's Choice Volume TwoUnique
Deep funk legend Keb Darge has teamed up with Lucinda Slim to produce this 17 track compilation of early fifties R&B, Nortern Soul, Blues Bopper s...
  • CD£16.99
    Out of stock
Kenny Dope vs P&P RecordsKenny Dope vs P&P RecordsP&P
Patrick Adams and Peter Brown open up their rare and highly sought after disco back catalogue to the the one and only Kenny Dope. On the double CD we see...
  • 2×CD£13.99
    Out of stock
ShaftOST by Isaac HayesStax
Essential, definitive, Blaxpoitation movie soundtrack with loads of wah wah guitars! Highly recommended!ORIGINAL USA gatefold vinyl pressing
  • CD£8.99
    In stockAdd to Bag
  • Reissue 2×LP£24.99
    Out of stock
  • Original 2×LP£15.00
    Out of stock
DJ SpinnaThe Boogie Back : Post Disco Club JamsBBE
Wicked new boogietastic compilation from supreme DJ, crate digger and remixer, Dj Spinna on BBE! BBE return to what they are best and most well known...
  • 2×CD£11.99
    Out of stock
Collins and CollinsCollins and CollinsA&M
Excellent reissue of this classic rare groove LP! Highly sought-after album featuring the two-step classic Top of the Stairs plus loads of other great...
  • CD£10.99
    Out of stock
    Pete Rock & CL SmoothMecca and the Soul Brother (1992)Elektra
    Mecca And The Soul Brother, the critically acclaimed 1992 debut album from the Mount Vernon duo, Pete Rock & CL Smooth! This album is considered as one...
    • 2×LP£24.99
      Out of stock
    • 2×LP (180g)£22.99
      In stockAdd to Bag
    • 2×CD Heavy Box (150g)£18.99
      Out of stock
    I'm Dreaming Of A Shite XmasSanta's Little Helpers PresentsYule Know Who
    It's that time of year again and as we've all been good boys and girls, Santa's little helpers have delivered at SOTU's door an annoymous special one-off...
    • CD£5.99
      Out of stock
    Disco DischargeGay Disco & Hi NRGHarmless
    BACK IN STOCK! Disco Discharge is a brand new series from Harmless. Covering 4 themes – Classic Disco, Disco Ladies, Euro Disco and Gay Disco...
    • CD£7.99
      Out of stock
    Marcus BelgraveGeminiSoul Jazz Records
    Originally released in 1974 on the independent Tribe Records, this album features many of the Detroit heavyweight artists such as Wendell Harrison and...
    • CD£11.99
      Out of stock
    • LP£13.99
      Out of stock
    The JacksonsCan You Feel ItCamden
    14 tracks, post-Jackson 5 but before Michael's solo career, some stormin funk and disco tracks here, from 'Blame It On The Boogie' to 'Show You The Way...
    • CD£7.99
      Out of stock
    Sahib ShihabSeedsSchema Records
    This is a CLASSIC and extremely sought-after 1968 modal jazz rarity recorded in Europe by ex-pat US saxophonist Sahib Shihab! An original might cost you...
    • New LP £19.95
      Out of stock
    • CD£12.99
      Out of stock
        Funk SpectrumIIBBE
        Great rare funk compilation from Kenny Dope and Keb Darge. Recommended!
        • CD£9.99
          Out of stock
        MFSBMutha Funkin Son Of A Bitch: The Truth Behind The Philly LegendFunkadelphia
        Forget the wack cover - this is a serious compilation!! Similar to Soul Jazz Records Philadelphia Roots CDs with seriously obscure tracks.60s and early...
        • CD£10.99
          Out of stock
        • Reissue LP£12.99
          Out of stock
        Dr. JohnIn The Right Place (1973)Atlantic
        Classic New Orleans funk album with The Meters as backing band! Vinyl is special edition Mardi Gras multi-coloured!
          Earth, Wind And FireEarth, Wind And Fire (1970)Warner Bros
          "Fan the Fire", "Bad Tune". Killer early album. Heavyweight funk on 180 gram vinyl. Essential !
          John MoralesThe M&M MixesBBE
          Wow! An absolutely 110% essential compilation from the ever-brilliant BBE camp compiled by New York Disco legend John Morales!!!! John Morales alongside...
          • 2×LP£17.99
            Out of stock
          • 2×CD£10.99
            Out of stock
          Aretha FranklinSoul '69 (1969)Atlantic
          Another unquestionably ESSENTIAL late-sixties standard-setting soul album from the undisputed queen of soul, Aretha Franklin! This is truly amazing...
          • CD£7.99
            In stockAdd to Bag
          • Original LP£18.00
            Out of stock
            Aretha FranklinAretha Arrives (1967)Atlantic
            Absolutely essential C-L-A-S-S-I-C late-sixties soul album from the undisputed queen of soul, Aretha Franklin! Aretha Franklin's late-sixties string...
            • Original LP£20.00
              Out of stock
            Bim ShermanTribulation (Down In Jamdown 1974 to 1979)Pressure Sounds
            a superb compilation from pressure sounds of the late and greatly underrated bim sherman. haunting melodies , tuff roots rockers,deep dubs and featuring...
            • CD£10.99
              Out of stock
            • 2×LP£11.99
              Out of stock