Madlib Medicine Show No.8 - Advanced Jazz

Madlib invasion
  • CD MMSCD08£14.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. sample one
  • 2. sample two
  • 3. sample three
  • 4. sample four

Madlib follows ‘High Jazz’ with the eighth installment of the ‘Medicine Show’ series, a unique mix of the multiple facets of jazz music entitled ‘Advanced Jazz’. Even by his own exacting standards, Madlib has been busy this year.

While his recorded output always spans an impressive range of styles, he habitually returns to recurrent themes, like familar harbours in a vast musical ocean … and jazz is one such anchor point. ‘High Jazz’ shows a marked and significant development in Madlib’s craft, encapsulating every element of jazz within an 80-minute opus.

And so what better way to follow such an epic undertaking than with a companion-piece drawn from the thousands – literally - of jazz albums that inspired Madlib’s first forays into the genre? ‘Advanced Jazz’, is, as the title hints, a step (or three, or four) deeper than the Steve Kuhn and Weldon Irvine albums that he first enjoyed as he began developing the Yesterdays New Quintet project on 2001’s ‘Angles Without Edges’. Some of the music here – at least, to the uninitiated ear – might not seem to be “jazz” at all. But be in no doubt, this is a jazz mix through and through, as exhilarating a ride as ‘Brain Wreck Show’ or ‘Flight To Brazil’.

It is a celebration of this great American music, and while it focuses on the past 40 years, it clearly heralds every innovation, domestic and international, of this century-old form.

People also bought

Boris GardinerEvery Nigger Is A StarJazzman
Boris Gardiner's legendary "Every Nigger Is A Star", the long-lost soundtrack to a near mythical Jamaican film on Jazzman! Long a grail-status LP for...
  • CD£10.99
    Out of stock
    The Har-You Percussion GroupThe Har-You Percussion GroupCubop
    Har-You's super-rare legendary Latin funk release originally came out on ESP in 1969/1970. Although the title says Percussion Group, this is actually a...
    • CD£10.99
      Out of stock
    • LP£11.99
      Out of stock
    Erma FranklinSoul Sister (1969)Brunswick
    Rare groove classic from Aretha's soulful sibling. Includes her seminal version of "Light My Fire"!
    • Reissue LP£9.99
      Out of stock
    SilkieCity Limits Volume OneDeep Medi Musik
    This is the debut album from one of dubstep's most exciting artists, Silkie on Deep Medi Musik! Hailing from west London, 'City Limits Volume One' is...
    • CD£10.99
      Out of stock
    • 3×LP£17.99
      Out of stock
    Delta Swamp RockSounds From The South: At The Crossroads Of Rock, Country And SoulSoul Jazz Records
    Monster double CD pack with a whopping 68-page book accompaniment / Two volumes of seriously heavyweight vinyl gatefold and 8page insert. Featuring...
    VIVEKFeel It EPDeep Medi Musik
    This is VIVEK wicked new EP on Deep Medi! Recommended!
    • 2×12"£11.99
      Out of stock
    Motown's Mowest Story 1971-1973Our Lives Are Shaped By What We LoveLight In The Attic
    Sweet soul, heavyweight funk, and even a dose of potent West Coast hippy rock from the vaults of Motown's west coast subsidary label Mowest lovingly compiled...
    • 1. frankie valli & the four seasons – you're a song (that i can't sing)
    • 2. odyssey – our lives are shaped by what we love
    • 3. the sisters love – give me your love
    • View full info and tracklisting
    • CD£13.99
      Out of stock
    • 2×LP£23.99
      Out of stock
    The Record Players:The Story Of Dance Music Told By History's Greatest DJsBy Bill Brewster and Frank BroughtonVirgin Books
    From the writers of 'Last Night A DJ Saved My Life', Bill Brewster & Frank Broughton have come up trumps again with this fabulous book 'The Record...
      African Music TodayThe Sound Of Africa TodayTruth & soul
      This compilation spotlights a diverse range of contemporary African artists, from the James Brown-inspired funk of Bama & The Family, to the percussion-heavy...
      • CD£12.99
        Out of stock
      E.M.A.K.A Synthetic History Of E.M.A.K. 1982 - 88Universal Sound
      Soul Jazz/Universal Sound are releasing this stunning new compilation of underground German electronic experimentalists, E.M.A.K. (‘Elektronische...
      Light Sounds Dark PresentsReturn Of The ShermLight Sounds Dark
      NOW AVAILABLE ON CD!!!! Light Sounds Dark return with the follow up to ''Sherm sticks & other nasty joints'' with another highly charged mix of...
      • 2×LP£15.99
        Out of stock
      • CD£8.99
        Out of stock
      Perseo EditsVol. 1Perseo
      Excellent compilation featuring the trilogy of Perseo 12 inches. This is not a mix. All tracks are the full lengths & separate. The price is right...
      • CD£7.99
        Out of stock
        Brazil 70After Tropicalia: New Directions in Brazilian MusicSoul Jazz Records
        This is our follow up to “Tropicalia: A Revolution in Sound” and takes up exactly where the first volume took off mixing up styles and featuring killer...
          Strange Games & Funky ThingsVolume 5 - Compiled By DJ Spinna & BBE SoundsystemBBE
          The killer Strange Games… series which began in the summer of 1997 returns with volume five!!!! This essential compilation contains a wide variety...
          • 1. ned doheny – get it up for love
          • 2. sylvia – sweet stuff
          • 3. the ambassadors – i ain't got the love (of one girl on my mind)
          • View full info and tracklisting
          • 2×LP£14.99
            Out of stock
          • 2×CD£10.99 £6.00
            Out of stock