Wild Combination A Portrait of Arthur Russell DVD


    Matt Wolf’s acclaimed documentary tells the story of seminal avant-garde composer, singer-songwriter, cellist, and disco producer Arthur Russell. As a key player in the Downtown NYC scene of the late seventies and early eighties, Arthur Russell created idiosyncratic and beautuful music that spanned the genres of disco, folk, rock, electro, post punk, dub, and orchestral compostion, bridging the worlds of pop and avant garde music!

    This unique film is a true labour of love and features the amazing music of Arthur Russell (including some previously unreleased tunes!) alongside loads of archive footage, interviews, and much more besides. This is a touching, gentle, and involving film that is essential viewing for Arthur Russell fans, and an ideal introduction to the man and his music for new initiates! The film incorporates rare archival footage and commentary from Arthur’s family, friends, musical collaborators, and admirers, including Philip Glass, Allen Ginsberg,  and many more.

    NTSC DVD Region 0 (all regions)

    People also bought

    Arthur RussellWorld Of EchoAudika
    This is one of Arthur Russell's most well known albums, and exemplifies the folky, idiosyncratic, singer-songwriter side of his diverse musical practice...
    • – Tone Bone Kone
    • – Soon To Be Fun - Let's See
    • – Answers Me
    • – Being It
    • – Place I Know - Kid Like You
    • – See Through
    • – All-boy All-girl
    • – Lucky Cloud
    • – Let's Go Swimming
    100% Dynamite! NYCDancehall Reggae Meets Rap In New York CitySoul Jazz Records
    An essential guide to the Dancehall Reggae/Hip-Hop clash that ruled New York in the early 1990s as Shinehead, Supercat, Mad Lion, Bobby Konders and many...
    • Supercat – Don Dada (Bobby Konders Mix)
    • Yankee B – The Original
    • Shinehead – Know how Fe Chat
    • Fu Schnickens – Ring The Alarm
    • Born Jamericans – Informer
    • Shaggy – Mattress Jockey (Siren Remix)
    • Jah Batta and Skatee – Style and Fashion
    • Rayvon – Girls Fresh
    • Red Fox – Dem A Murderer
    • Nikey Fungus – Zig Zag Stitch
    • Bobby Konders – Mack Daddy
    • Louie Rankin – Typewriter
    • Mad Lion – Double Trouble (Original Mix)
    • Super C – The Rat
    • Lady Apache – Rock and Comeen
    • Jamalski – Texas Rumpus
    • Ken Albert – Gunshot
    • Shinehead – Rough and Rugged
    • Ugly Man – DJ De Yah
    • Rankin' Don – Real McCoy
    • Mad Lion – Love Woman So
    • Terror Fabulous – Woman Say So
    ZombyWhere Were You In '92? (Black vinyl reissue)CVLT Music
    Zomby revisits the sound of early 1990s hardcore/breakbeat with loads of looped-up Amen-style drum breaks, hoover bass, ragga vocal samples, double-speed...
    • – Fuck Mixing, Let's Dance
    • – Euphoria
    • – We Got The Sound
    • – Get Sorted
    • – Float
    • – Where Were U In '92?
    • – U Are My Fantasy (Street Fighter II Theme Remix)
      Jean-Pierre MassieraPsychosis Freakoid (1963-1978)Mucho Gusto
      Wicked compilation of leftfield disco fun from French studio whizz Jean-Pierre Massiera - the man behind such cult classics as Venus Gang 'Love to Fly'...
      • Basile – il Turbo dell'anno
      • Piranhas – La Turbie Pirhanienne
      • Les Chats – Bizarre
      • Herman's Rocket – Space Woman
      • Venus Gang – Space Inferno
      • Starlights – Jingle Jungle
      Studio One Roots Vol. 3Soul Jazz Records
      Roots music flourished in the 1970’s as Rastafarianism, Black consciousness and self-determinization became the most important aspects of Reggae music....
      • Freddie Mckay – (I'm) A Free Man
      • Jennifer Lara – A Change Is Gonna Come
      • Alton & Zoot – Oppression
      • Winston Flames – In A Armagideon
      • Dillinger – Babylon Fever
      • The Gladiators – Re Arrange
      • Vin Gordon – Fullness
      • Larry Marshall – Better Must Come
      • Cliff Stewart – Burn Collie
      • Im And Count Ossie – So Long Rastafari Calling
      • The Nightingales – What A Situation
      • Clifton Gibbs & The Selected Few – Brimstone & Fire
      • Dub Specialist – Musical Science
      • Prince Jazzbo – Creation Skank
      • Errol Dunkley – Way Down Low
      • Lloyd Forest – Where It's At
      • The Dynamic Four – Let's Make Love
      • Judah Eskender Tafari – Jah Light
      FunkinEvil (Kyle Hall & Funkineven)Night / DuskWild Oats
      New from Kyle Hall's Wild Oats Music imprint! This Project "FunkinEvil" Is the long awaited collaboration between London Producer FunkinEven & Detroit's...
      • – Intro
      • – after dusk
      QuirkeAcid Beth EPYoung Turks
      Young Turks unveil yet more new talent in the form of Quirke. This four track EP showcases a variety of musical composition, spacey ambience and helium...
      • – We Landed
      • – Break A Mirrored Leg
      • – Acid Beth
      • – There's A Half Moon In
      Fripp & EnoEvening StarOpal
      Nice reissue of this 1975 album of groundbreaking ambient guitar and electronics from King Crimson's widdle-meister and Roxy Music's androgenous avant-gardist...
      • – Wind on Water
      • – Wind on Wind
      Art Ensemble Of ChicagoLes Stances A Sophie (1970)Soul Jazz Records
      As the legendary Art Ensemble of Chicago celebrates it’s 50th anniversary, Soul Jazz Records are releasing a new fully re-mastered edition of the group’s...
      • Art Ensemble Of Chicago – Theme De Yoyo
      • Art Ensemble Of Chicago – Theme De Celine
      • Art Ensemble Of Chicago – Variations Sur Un Theme De Monteverdi
      • Art Ensemble Of Chicago – Variation Sur Un Theme De Monteverdi (ii)
      • Art Ensemble Of Chicago – Proverbes (I)
      • Art Ensemble Of Chicago – Theme Amour Universal
      • Art Ensemble Of Chicago – Theme Libre
      • Art Ensemble Of Chicago – Proverbes (II)
      • 1. Art Ensemble Of Chicago – Theme De Yoyo
      • 2. Art Ensemble Of Chicago – Theme De Celine
      • 3. Art Ensemble Of Chicago – Variations Sur Un Theme De Monteverdi
      • View full info and tracklisting
        Fripp & EnoNo PussyfootingDGM PANEGYRIC
        Deluxe reissue of this classic ambient album from Brian Eno and Robert Fripp! Originally released in 1973, this is an essential album of beautiful ambient...
        • – The Heavenly Music Corporation
        • – Swastika Girls
        Studio One Soul 2Soul Jazz Records
        New one-off pressing coloured vinyl 18th anniversary edition of the long-out-of-print Studio One Soul 2, the long-awaited second volume of one of the largest...
        • Jacob Miller – Westbound Train
        • Hortense Ellis – People Make The World Go Round
        • Horace Andy – Ain't No Sunshine
        • Soul Vendors – Swing Easy
        • The Heptones – Choice Of Colours
        • Jackie Mittoo & The Brentford Disco Set – Choice Of Music Part 2
        • Prinze Jazzbo – Fool For Love
        • Cornell Campbell – Ten To One
        • Winston Francis – Don't Change
        • Jackie Mittoo – Jumping Jehosophat
        • Tony Gregory – Get Out Of My Life Woman
        • Dub Specialist – Darker Block
        • Little Joe – Red Robe
        • Devon Russell – Make Me Beleive In You
        • Jerry Jones – Compared To What
        • Ken Boothe – Thinking
        • Anthony Creary – Land Call Africa
        • Jackie Mittoo – Fancy Pants