Don Cherry The Summer House Sessions

    Blank Forms Editions
    • 2×CD£18.00
      Out of stock
    • New LP £28.00
      In stockAdd to Bag
      • 1. Summer House Sessions Side A
      • 2. Summer House Sessions Side B
      • 3. Untitled Summer House Session 1 [CD ONLY]
      • 4. Untitled Summer House Session 2 [CD ONLY]
      • 5. Untitled Summer House Session 3 [CD ONLY]
      • 6. Untitled Summer House Session 4 [CD ONLY]

      In 1968, Don Cherry had already established himself as one of the leading voices of the avant-garde. Having pioneered free jazz as a member of Ornette Coleman’s classic quartet, and with a high profile collaboration with John Coltrane under his belt, the globetrotting jazz trumpeter settled in Sweden with his partner Moki and her daughter Neneh. There, he assembled a group of Swedish musicians and led a series of weekly workshops at the ABF, or Workers’ Educational Association, from February to April of 1968, with lessons on extended forms of improvisation including breathing, drones, Turkish rhythms, overtones, silence, natural voices, and Indian scales. That summer, saxophonist and recording engineer Göran Freese—who later recorded Don’s classic Organic Music Society and Eternal Now LPs—invited Don, members of his two working bands, and a Turkish drummer to his summer house in Kummelnäs, just outside of Stockholm, for a series of rehearsals and jam sessions that put the prior months’ workshops into practice. Long relegated to the status of a mysterious footnote in Don’s sessionography, tapes from this session, as well as one professionally mixed tape intended for release, were recently found in the vaults of the Swedish Jazz Archive, and the lost Summer House Sessions are finally available over fifty years after they were recorded.

      Other Releases by Don Cherry

      Don CherryWhere Is Brooklyn?Blue Note
      From 1966, a set from Don Cherry also featuring Ed Blackwell on drums, Henry Grimes on bass as well as Pharoah Sanders on saxophone as part of a quartet....
      • – Awake Nu
      • – Taste Maker
      • – The Thing
      • – There Is The Bomb
      • – Unite
      Don CherryTibet (1981)Picc-A-Dilly
      Originally released in 1974 as Eternal Now (Sonet SNTF 653) with different sleeve artwork. Deep world rhythms and music from the don.

        Other Releases on Blank Forms Editions

        Don Cherry's New Researches feat. Naná VasconcelosOrganic Music Theatre: Festival de jazz de Chateauvallon 1972Blank Forms Editions
        This live album captures American trumpeter and free jazz proponent Don Cherry undertaking one of his most ambitious projects - the Organic Music Theatre,...
          • 2×CD£18.00
            Out of stock
          • New LP £35.00
            In stockAdd to Bag