The Salem Travelers Tell It Like It Is / Give Me Liberty Or Death

    Deptford Northern Soul Club Records
    • The Salem Travelers – Give Me Liberty Or Death
    • The Salem Travelers – Tell It Like It Is
    • 1. Give Me Liberty Or Death
    • 2. Tell It Like It Is

    Both tracks are a unique funky take on gospel. ‘Tell It Like It Is’ is filled with wah wah guitar chops and some excellent lead breaks that spice up the conga-adorned upbeat; a heady song grasping for the truth.

    ‘Give Me Liberty Or Death’ is slightly slower, with a Motown-styled backbeat behind a fist pumping anthem that reels in its churchy roots and some great vocal interplay, a message song filled with emotion.

    Two fantastic tunes from a transient ever-changing group who, in the 1960s and 1970s, were known for soulful harmonies, glass-shattering lead singing.

    Other Releases on Deptford Northern Soul Club Records

    Sebastian WilliamsGet Your Point Over ​/​ I Don't Care What Mama Said (Baby I Need You)Deptford Northern Soul Club Records
    **Originally released on the Ovide label from Houston, Texas, in 1970** Get Your Point Over’ is a brass-led funky dancer that beautifully compliments...

      People also bought

      En-To-EndNothing's HappeningBackatcha
      Top UK 1988 street boogie on 45 for the first time from the tape archives of London singer-producer Tony Shand.
      • – Vocal
      • – Instrumental
      Standing somewhere between the sounds of early 80s disco club land, electro-funk and synth-pop, Cloud’s ‘Visions’ session was a hidden gem amongst...
      • – Starlight
      • – Glimmer
      • – Moon Glow
      • – Moon Rock
      S.T.U.D. BandWhere's The Floor / SuccessBackatcha
      Sought-after disco funk recorded in Miami, 1981, available officially for the first time on reissue 45. Strength, Trust, Unity and Determination hailed...
      • – Where's The Floor
      • – Success
      Adrian Sherwood PresentsDub No FrontiersReal World
      Dub No Frontiers is inspired by and features female vocalists that Adrian Sherwood and the On U Sound label knew from the UK or had met while travelling...
      • Yehaiyahan – Love Hurts
      • Likkle Mai – Haste Makes Waste
      • Rita Morar – Meri Awaaz Suno (Hear My Voice)
      • In Temi Oyedele – I Dupe (Thanks Giving)
      • Neyssatou – War
      • Maria Wenda – Okama Werek Halok
      • Kerieva – Chavale
      • JaGodDa – Krysztalowy Aniol (Crystal Angel)
      • Saba Tewelde – Semarulay Daqey
      • Nadya Ostroff – Little Cosmonaut
      Angel Bat DawidRequiem For JazzInternational Anthem Recording Company
      An immersive 24-track albumexperience. Composed and arranged by Angel Bat Dawid, inspired in part by dialogue from Edward O. Bland’s 1959 film The Cry...
      • – Recordare - Recall The Joy
      GayanceMascaradeRhythm Section International
      Gayance joins forces with Rhythm Section for her debut album ‘Mascarade’ - a swaying dance that moves between poetic, soulful odes to the past, accounts...
      • – 1996 INNER G
      • – SHORE APART
      • – NUNCA MAIS
      • – IN THE GAZE
      • – MASCARADE
      ShabakaAfrikan CultureImpulse!
      Shabaka Hutchings debut release under his own name, Afrikan Culture, was released on Impulse! Records in May 2022. Known for his globally-acclaimed, groundbreaking...
      • – Black Meditation
      • – Call It A European Paradox
      • – Ital Is Vital
      • – Memories Don’t Live Like People Do
      • – Ritual Awakening
      • – Explore Inner Space
      • – The Dimension Of Subtle Awareness
      • – Rebirth
      Funk MastersLove MoneySoul Jazz Records
      Soul Jazz Records are releasing a new 12" of this huge 1981 disco/jazz-funk dance-floor bomb that has been out of print for over 40 years since its original...
      • Funk Masters – Love Money
      • Bo Kool – (Money) No Love
      Peven EverettBluelight LoveGroovin
      New unreleased 2023 production by the Chicago composer and producer. Definitely not to miss!
      • – Bluelight Love (Original)
      • – Bluelight Love (Remix)
      AirtoSeeds On The Ground - The Natural Sounds Of AirtoBuddah Records
      Airto’s second album, and second and last release for the Buddah label, brought back largely the same crew that appeared on his debut record Natural...
      • – Andei (I Walked)
      • – O Sonho (Moon Dreams)
      • – Uri (Wind)
      • – Papo Furado (Jive Talking)
      • – Juntos (We Love)
      • – O Galho Da Roseira (The Branches Of The Rose Tree)
      • – O Galho Da Roseira (The Branches Of The Rose Tree) Part II
      SSPSThe Life & Times Of Gigi BlackNation
      A retrospective of work by cult US producer SSPS whose strange, outsider experiments have grace the likes of L.I.E.S. and Kode run by Traxx. "Punk, hardcore,...
      • – Model Minority (Live From Unlimited Nation Summer 2020)
      • – Wake Up Thoughts
      • – Lust In The Times Of Love
      • – The Cliff Of Cancun (Live From Unlimited Nation Summer 2020)
      • – Lando's Revenge (Try Me)
      • – End Of Times
      • – Tandem Beat 2
      • – Black Poetry
      • – Sweet Children (Live From Unlimited Nation Summer 2020)
      • – Southside Sue
      • – Shake Ya Body
      • – The Savage Lurks
      • – Lend Me An Ear
      • – 1000 Truths (Balearic Inaugural mix)
      • – Little Kenny Broooke
      • – The Things We Do For Affection
      • 4×LP Box (1.5kg) NAT 021£80.00
        Limited 4xLP box set with 45 page zine feat. photos, historical text and track narrations by the artist
      TransllusionThe Opening Of The Cerebral Gate Tresor
      **Reissued with new artwork!** A C-L-A-S-S-I-C electro-techno album by Drexciya under their Transllusion guise! Produced by the late James Marcel Stinson...
      • – Transmission Of Life
      • – Negative Flash
      • – Walking With Clouds
      • – Cerebral Cortex Malfunction
      • – Cluben In Guyana
      • – Look Within
      • – Unordinary Realities
      • – Dimensional Glide
      • – War Of The Clones
      • – Crossing Into The Mental Astroplane
      • – Do You Want To Get Down?
      • – Do You Want To Get Down? (Vocal De Void)
      LeonieCloser To HeavenBackatcha
      A sought-after 1991 downtempo cut from Bristol’s Leonie backed by production duo Short & Curly. Includes previously unreleased instrumental and alt mix...
      • – Closer To Heaven (Extended Vocal Mix)
      • – Closer To Heaven (Instrumental)
      • – Closer To Heaven (Next To You Remix)
      • – Closer To Heaven (Groovy Instrumental)
      Learoy GreenLove Is The KeyBackatcha
      The drummer for Brown Sugar’s anthems ‘In Love With A Dread Locks’ and ‘Black Pride’, Learoy Green’s rare and in-demand solo street soul gem...
      • – Original Vocal
      • – RE-MIX