• CD£9.99
      Out of stock
    • 3×LP£16.99
      Out of stock
    • Paul White – gentle freak
    • Paul White – pride
    • Paul White – ancient treasure
    • Paul White – bom bom
    • Paul White – fly with me
    • 1. crazy science intro
    • 2. gentle freak
    • 3. pride
    • 4. fire soul
    • 5. ancient treasure
    • 6. marshen signals
    • 7. bom bom
    • 8. come back
    • 9. dance scene
    • 10. music trip interlude
    • 11. fly with me
    • 13. alone again
    • 14. promises
    • 15. mushroom forest
    • 16. my guitar whales
    • 17. organ therapy
    • 18. comedy hour
    • 19. mind the world
    • 20. purple brain interlude
    • 21. let it out
    • 22. bingo
    • 23. ride with me
    • 24. every breath
    • 25. professional criminals

    Amazing new album from London psych-beatsmith Paul White on Now Again!

    Paul White & The Purple Brain is based around and inspired by the work of little-known Swedish psych-rock guru S.T. Mikael. Heavy on Eastern influences and otherworldly concerns, Mikael’s music ranges from searing electric guitar-led dirges to dreamlike ballads to ghostly atmospheric experiments.

    Having been granted access to S.T. Mikael’s back catalogue, Paul White found a unique source of inspiration and challenged himself to create an album using the Swedish multi-instrumentalist’s work as the sole basis for his output. The result is Paul White & The Purple Brain – a remarkably diverse album that defies easy categorisation. 'Marshen Signals' brings to mind the brooding atmospherics and jeep-rattling bass of mid-90s D.I.T.C. productions, whilst 'Alone Again' nods to the pioneers of the BBC Radiophonic Workshop. Sitar-led tracks such as 'Pride' share common ground with the likes of ‘60s English psych band July and My Guitar Whales – the first single to be taken from the album – could be a classic rap banger remixed for a Hungarian fairground.

    For Fans of Madlib, Flying Lotus, Stereolab and J Dilla

    Highly Recommended!!!

    Other Releases by Paul White

    Paul WhiteRejuvenateR&S
    As the title suggests, Rejuvenate marks a rebirth for South London musician Paul White. Abandoning sampling altogether, White wrote, played and produced...
    • – A Chance
    • – Set The Tone (feat Denai Moore)
    • – See Through (feat Denai Moore)
    • – Returning
    • – Spare Gold (feat Shungudzo)
    • – Ice Cream Man (feat Shungudzo)
    • – Waves
    • – Rejuvenate
    • – Soul Reunion
    • – Laugh With Me (feat Sarah Williams White)
    • – All Around (feat Sarah Williams White)
    Paul White Shaker Notes R&S
    Paul White makes his debut for R&S, putting aside his his sampler in favour of drums, bass, guitar, synths and his own vocals. 'Shaker Notes' is daubed...
    • – all we know
    • – where you gonna go?
    • – honey cats
    • – wait & see
    • – is it up to us?

    People also bought

    The Bug feat. FlowdanRunSwamp81
    The Bug returns with this devastingly heavy rudeboy bass killer! People who loved 'Skeng' and 'Jah War' will LOVE this! Here we see the return of The...
    • – Run
    • 12"£5.99
      Out of stock
    MadlibMedicine Show No.6 - The Brain Wreck ShowMadlib Medicine Show
    Madlib follows History of the Loop Digga: 1990-2000 with the sixth installment in his Madlib Medicine Show, his psych-prog-avante-freak-out-funk rock mix...
    • – sample one
    • – sample two
    • – sample three
    • – sample four
    • CD£14.99
      Out of stock
    Ranking DreadAfricaFreedom Sounds
    Wicked tune from the rub a dub man recorded for freedom sounds label b-side features a killer King Tubby dub mix worth the £8.00 just for the dub!!!
    • – Africa
    • – King Tubbys Dub Plate Mix
    • 7"£8.00
      Out of stock
    The MaytalsMonkey ManBeverley's
    Classic early funky reggae tune with an organ instrumental cut on the flip.very clean & loud pressings!!
    • The Maytals – Monkey Man
    • Ansel Collins – High Voltage
    • 7"£9.00
      Out of stock
    DimlitePrismic TopsNow Again
    Brand new album from electronic expermentalist Dimlite on Stones Throw's sister label Now Again! It’s been a startling couple of years for instrumental...
    • – kalimba deathswamp/kurt feelings
    • – on the same picture w/elan tamara
    • – sun-sized twinkles
    • LP£13.99
      Out of stock
    The EthiopiansTrain To SkavilleJJ
    All time classic early reggae tune on a very clean and loud repress with original label, rare instrumental version on the b-side.
    • – Train To Skaville
    • – Version
    BACK IN STOCK!!! Classic 80's Dancehall bomb on Arrival
      • 7"£5.99
        Out of stock
      AntenaCamino Del Sol (Deluxe Vinyl Edition)Numero Group
      Awesome leftfield classic! A Harvey fave! Delicate Balearic minimal synth oddity! Originally released on Les Disques du Crepuscule, but now given...
      • – Achilles
      • – Camino Del Sol
      • 2×LP£23.99
        Out of stock
      MC ShanBorn To Be WildTraffic / Cold Chillin'
      From the coveted back catalog of Cold Chillin Records, Traffic Entertainment Group brings to you the newly remastered deluxe edition of MC Shan's Born...
      • – I Pioneered This
      • – Give Me My Freedom
      • – Juice Crew Law
      • CD£11.99
        Out of stock
      Courtney MelodyNinja Mi NinjaFirehouse
      Tuff 80's digital anthem out of king tubby's studio, with stark rhythm on the b-side.
      • – Ninja Mi Ninja
      • 7"£5.99
        Out of stock
      MadlibBeat Konducta Vol 5-6: A Tribute To J DillaStones Throw
      The first two volumes of Beat Konducta, Movie Scenes, were a soundtrack to a movie that existed only in Madlib’s mind. It’s score ranged from Blaxploitation...
      • – For the mans (prelude)
      • – J's day theme 3 (support)
      • – The string (heavy jones)
      • – Rolled peach optimos (call day)
      • – Anthenagin' (?)
      • – First Class (The Best Catalogue)
      • – So Much (Music)
      • – Smoke Interlude (Hawaiian Punch)
      • CD£9.99
        Out of stock
      Funk SpectrumIIBBE
      Great rare funk compilation from Kenny Dope and Keb Darge. Recommended!
        • CD£9.99
          Out of stock
        J Dilla (Jay Dee)Ruff DraftStones Throw
        Here it is! The much anticipated reissue of this sought-after J Dilla rarity from 2003, previously only available on an ultra-limited edition vinyl-only...
        • – Lets Take It Back
        • – Reckles Driving
        • – Nothing Like This
        • – Make 'em NV
        • – Crushin (Yeeeaaah!)
        • – Wild
        • 2×LP£17.99
          Out of stock
        • Instrumental LP£15.99
          Out of stock
        • 2×CD£8.99
          Out of stock
        Charanjit Singh (India, 1982)Ten Ragas To A Disco BeatBombay Connection
        REPRESS! AMAZING unearthered Indian proto-techno treasure from 1982!!! Indian proto-techno? I hear you scoff, but 'Ten Ragas To A Disco' is one of...
        • – Raga Bhairav
        • – Raga Bhupali
        • – Raga Kalavati
        • CD£12.99
          Out of stock
        • 2×LP£15.99
          Out of stock