• CD£17.99
      Out of stock
    • 2×LP£23.99
      Out of stock
    • pastor t.l barrett & the youth for christ choir – like a ship
    • ada richards – i'm drunk and real high (in the spirit of god)
    • golden echoes – packing a grip
    • lucy 'sister sul' rodgers – pray a little longer
    • brother samuel cheatham – troubles of the world
    • 1. pastor t.l barrett & the youth for christ choir – like a ship
    • 2. ada richards – i'm drunk and real high (in the spirit of god)
    • 3. gospel comforters – yes god is real
    • 4. golden echoes – packing a grip
    • 5. lucy 'sister sul' rodgers – pray a little longer
    • 6. gospel soul revivals – if jesus came today
    • 7. brother samuel cheatham – troubles of the world
    • 8. victory travelers – i know i've been changed
    • 9. jordan travelers – god will answer
    • 10. inspirational gospel singers – the same thing it took
    • 11. sacred four – somebody watching you
    • 12. andrew wartts & the gospel storytellers – peter and john
    • 13. holy disciples of chicago III – I know him
    • 14. sensational five singing sons – share your love (with the master)
    • 15. little chris & the righteous singers – i thank you lord
    • 16. sensational five – coming on strong, staying along
    • 17. chicago travelers – been trying
    • 18. james austin & the St.Luke COGIC youth choir – i'll take jesus for mine

    Hallelujah! This is the fantastic second installment of Numero's mighty 'Good God' Gospel series! Quite possibly some of the most uplifting, 100% unadultered gut-wrenching gospel soul you are likely to EVER hear!  Fans of Soul Jazz Records 'Soul Gospel' series will love this 18 track album of brilliant gospel soul spanning the late sixties right up to the mid 1980's!

    The post-war boom of technology advances was good for a new breed of small-time entrepreneurs running little labels and willing to give anything a go. Most of the records collected on here have come from Chicago and by no mistake. It was common in Chicago for R&B and blues labels to record spiritual groups in the hope of taking advantage of a small, committed market. "Born Again Funk" showcases the talented American composers and performers unafraid of expressing their devotion with both inspiration and devotion!


    Other Releases on Numero Group

    Noise Addict10,000 Kids With Guitars (RSD 2017)Numero Group
    What does teen spirit smell like, anyway? It might smell something like Noise Addict. Like the real life stars of some sort of choose-your-own-adventure...

      People also bought

      DadawahPeace And LoveDug Out
      Dark, hypnotic, tripping nyabinghi from 1974! Led by Ras Michael over four extended excursions, the music is organic, sublime and expansive, grounation?drums...
      • – Run Come Rally
      • – Seventy-Two Nations
        Talib Kweli & MadlibLiberationBlack Smith
        **Repress of this classic!** Finally available after its calculated leak on download only. Madlib delivers the beats Talib Kweli serves the flow with...
        • – The Show
        • – Funny Money
        • – Engine Runnin Feat. Consequence
        • – Over The Counter
        • – The Function Feat. Strong Arm Steady
        • LP£12.99
          Out of stock
        Theo ParrishSuggested Use Pt.1Sound Signature
        SUPER exclusive mix from Detroit house legend Theo Parrish! Heavyweight raw official mix from Theo Parrish on his Sound Signature imprint! 'Suggested...
        • – sample one
        • – sample two
        • – sample three
        • CD£14.99
          Out of stock
        Courtney MelodyNinja Mi NinjaFirehouse
        Tuff 80's digital anthem out of king tubby's studio, with stark rhythm on the b-side.
        • – Ninja Mi Ninja
        • 7"£5.99
          Out of stock
        Loft ClassicsCD Volume OneMusic For Those Who Know
        First time on CD! The Loft Classics series of reissue 12" singles have spread the magical music that makes David Mancuso's legendary Loft parties so special...
        • Deodato – Whistle Bump
        • Dennis Coffey – Wings of Fire
        • Johnny Hammond – Los Conquistadores Chocolates
        • Lonnie Liston Smith – Space Princess
        • Dexter Wansell – Life On Mars
        • Powerline – Double Journey
        • Sun Palace – Rude Movements
        • CD£12.99
          Out of stock
        MadlibMedicine Show No. 3 - Beat Konducta In AfricaMadlib Invasion
        This is the third of a one-a-month, twelve-CD series from Madlib on his own imprint, Madlib Invazion! Odd numbers in the series are original productions...
        • – sample one
        • – sample two
        • – sample three
        • – sample four
        • CD£14.99
          Out of stock
        • 2×LP£19.99
          Out of stock
        Charanjit Singh (India, 1982)Ten Ragas To A Disco BeatBombay Connection
        REPRESS! AMAZING unearthered Indian proto-techno treasure from 1982!!! Indian proto-techno? I hear you scoff, but 'Ten Ragas To A Disco' is one of...
        • – Raga Bhairav
        • – Raga Bhupali
        • – Raga Kalavati
        • CD£12.99
          Out of stock
        • 2×LP£15.99
          Out of stock
        Shaft In AfricaOST by Johnny Pate (1973)ABC Records/Probe
        Classic funky blaxploitation soundtrack rarity that's even better than the well known Isaac Hayes soundtrack to the first Shaft film! A frenzy of horn...
        • – You Can't Even Walk In The Park
        • – Are You Man Enough (Main Title)
        • – Shaft in Africa (Addis)
        • – El Jardia
        • – Truck Stop
        • Reissue LP£16.00
          Out of stock
        The Soul Of DiscoVolume TwoZedd Records
        B R I L L I A N T second installment in this outstanding series of rare disco compilations from vinyl fiends Joey Negro and Sean P, who estimate that if...
        • – Mel Shepperd - Can I Take You Home
        • – The Joneses - Summer Groove
        • – Torrill - Over And Over
        • – Choice 4 - Come Down To Earth David Todd Mix
        • – Adrenalin - Feel The Real
        • – Arnie And The Lovelettes - We Had Enough
        • 2×CD£13.99
          Out of stock
        Sound System ScratchLee Perry's Dub Plate Mixes 1973 To 1979Pressure Sounds
        Wicked new compilation from Pressure Sounds! Featuring heavy heavy spliffed/rum dubplate mixes from Lee Perry all recorded at the Black Ark between...
        • The Upsetters – Lucky Skank
        • The Upsetters – Chim Cherie
        • Lee Perry & The Upsetters – The Rightful Organiser
        • Junior Murvin & The Upsetters – Roots Train Number Two
        • The Upsetters – Groovy Dub
        • 2×LP£23.00
          In stockAdd to Bag
        • CD£12.00
          Out of stock
        Funk SpectrumIIBBE
        Great rare funk compilation from Kenny Dope and Keb Darge. Recommended!
          • CD£9.99
            Out of stock