Sudan Archives Natural Brown Prom Queen

    Stones Throw
    • New LP (Coloured Vinyl) STH2449-4LP£30.99
      Limited coloured vinyl edition
      In stockAdd to Bag
    • CD STH2449-2CD£11.00
      In stockAdd to Bag
      • 1. Home Maker
      • 2. NBPQ (Topless)
      • 3. Is This Real? (Can You Hear Yourself?)
      • 4. Ciara
      • 5. Selfish Soul
      • 6. Loyal (EDD)
      • 7. OMG BRITT
      • 8. ChevyS10
      • 9. Copycat (Broken Notions)
      • 10. It’s Already Done
      • 11. FLUE
      • 12. TDLY (Homegrown Land)
      • 13. Do Your Thing (Refreshing Springs)
      • 14. Freakalizer
      • 15. Homesick (Gorgeous & Arrogant)
      • 16. Milk Me
      • 17. Yellow Brick Road
      • 18. #513

      Fittingly for a record named for a homecoming event, Natural Brown Prom Queen is all about home – both Sudan’s adopted hometown of L.A. and Cincinnati, where she was raised. The album takes in themes of race, womanhood, and the fiercely loyal, loving relationships at the heart of Sudan’s life with her family, friends and partner. The album spans hip-hop, disco-influenced R&B and Afrocentric soul.

      Other Releases on Stones Throw

      DJ HarrisonShades of YesterdayStones Throw
      ‘Shades of Yesterday’ is a brand new covers record from two-times Grammy Award-nominated producer, musician and songwriter, DJ Harrison.DJ Harrison...
        Gifted & BlessedHeard and UnheardStones Throw
        New solo electronic album from producer Gifted & Blessed aka Gabriel Reyes-Whittaker. His first full-length under that alias since 2016.‘Heard and Unheard’...
        • – The Waiting Breath
        • – Yellow Ji (feat. AFTA-1)
        Crow44Crow44Stones Throw
        Stones Throw bomb! Desmond Pierce with a collection of New Age hymns, lofi jams, detuned surf breeze meets 60's pop in North Yorkshire.
        • – One Orange (Revisited)
        • – If You're Feeling Down Part 1
        The StepkidsThe StepkidsStones Throw
        Stones Throw chuck a curveball out at the heads - this idiosyncratic album from The Stepkids. It's rocky at first, then jazzy, funky, psych-folky, fuzzy,...
        • – brain ninja
        • – la la
        James PantsSeven SealsStones Throw
        This is the long awaitted new album from James Pants on Stones Throw! Apparently started while reading a mystical book and the book of relevations and...
        • – i live inside an egg
        • – wormhole
        • – sky warning
        • – thin moon

        People also bought

        "The Comet is Coming returns with their second full length album on Impulse! Records. King Shabaka, Danalogue, and Betamax’s newest effort finds the...
        • – CODE
        • – TECHNICOLOUR
        • – LUCID DREAMER
        Vieux Farka Touré & KhruangbinAliDead Oceans
        Khruangbin and Vieux Farka Touré have announced a new collaborative album. Ali is in honour of Vieux’s late father Ali Farka Touré; the artists recreate...
        • – Savanne
        • – Tongo Barra
        • LP DOC274lp£23.00
          Standard black vinyl edition
          In stockAdd to Bag
        • CD DOC274cd£11.00
          In stockAdd to Bag
        Lorenzo Morresi & TenderloniousCosmica Italiana22a
        The highly anticipated collaboration between DJ, producer and musician Lorenzo Morresi and 22a label boss, DJ, producer and musician Tenderlonious. 11...
        • – Tema Cinque
        • – Acqua
        Steve ReidOdyssey Of The Oblong SquareSoul Jazz Records
        New special one-off pressing v.limited edition gold vinyl edition (and gold CD edition!) of this intense and radical jazz classic album. ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- "A...
        • – Odyssey Theme
        • – Deacon's Son
        • – Odyssey Sweet
        • – Ginsamseng
        • LP (Coloured Vinyl) + Download Code SJRLP514C£26.00
          In stockAdd to Bag
        • CD (Limited Edition Coloured CD) SJRCD514C£12.00
          In stockAdd to Bag
        • MP3 Release SJRD514£7.99
          In stockAdd to Bag
        Sarathy KorwarKALAKThe Leaf Label
        Sarathy Korwar returns with new album 'Kalak'.The follow up to the politically charged, award-winning 'More Arriving' is an Indo-futurist manifesto - in...
        • – A Recipe to Cure Historical Amnesia
        • – To Remember (feat. Kushal Gaya)
        • – Utopia is a Colonial Project
        • – Back in the Day, Things Were Not Always Simpler (feat. Noni-Mouse)
        • – The Past is Not Only Behind Us, But Ahead Of Us
        • – Kal Means Yesterday And Tomorrow
        • – Remember Begum Rokheya
        • – That Clocks Don’t Tell But Make Time (feat. Kodo)
        • – Remember Circles Are Better Than Lines
        • – Remember To Look Out For The Signs
        • – KALAK: A Means To An Unend
        Ezra CollectiveWhere I'm Meant To BePartisan Records
        Ezra Collective’s new era, a venture in discovered maturity and raised stakes, will be defined by the anticipated second album. 'Where I’m Meant...
        • – Life Goes On (feat. Sampa The Great)
        • – Victory Dance
        • – No Confusion (feat. Kojey Radical)
        • – Welcome To My World
        • – Togetherness
        • – Ego Killah
        • – Smile
        • – Live Strong
        • – Siesta (feat. Emeli Sandé)
        • – Words by Steve
        • – Belonging
        • – Never The Same Again
        • – Words by TJ
        • – Love In Outer Space (feat. Nao)
        Killer MikeR.A.P. MusicWaterTower Music
        Released in 2012, ‘R.A.P. Music’ was the final solo album from hip-hop star Killer Mike before he found massive success with Run The Jewels in the...
          Vibration Black FingerCan You See What I'm Trying to SayJazzman
          Vibration Black Finger return with their Jazzman debut, 'Can You See What I'm Trying to Say'. A unique album that crosses over jazz, electronic and afro-trance...
          • – Empty Streets
          • – Adrianna
          • – Gutkind's Dream
          • – Acting for Liberation, Pt. 1
          • – Law of the Universe
          • – Can You See What I'm Trying to Say
          • – Acting for Liberation, Pt. 2
          • – Persia & Cornelius
          • – The Glory
          • – Soul Fire
          • – Twelve Wire Byrd
          • – Only in a Dream