Lou Reed Words & Music, May 1965

    Light In The Attic
    • Lou Reed – I'm Waiting for the Man
    • Lou Reed – Men of Good Fortune
    • Lou Reed – Heroin
    • Lou Reed – Too Late
    • Lou Reed – Buttercup Song
    • Lou Reed – Walk Alone
    • Lou Reed – Buzz Buzz Buzz
    • Lou Reed – Pale Blue Eyes
    • Lou Reed – Stockplie
    • Lou Reed – Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams
    • 1. I'm Waiting for the Man
    • 2. Men of Good Fortune
    • 3. Heroin
    • 4. Too Late
    • 5. Buttercup Song
    • 6. Walk Alone
    • 7. Buzz Buzz Buzz
    • 8. Pale Blue Eyes
    • 9. Stockplie
    • 10. Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams

    Light in the Attic Records, in cooperation with Laurie Anderson, proudly announces the inaugural title in their ongoing Lou Reed Archive Series 'Words & Music, May 1965'. Released in tandem with the late artist’s 80th birthday celebrations, the album offers an extraordinary, unvarnished, and plainly poignant insight into one of America’s true poet-songwriters. Capturing Reed in his formative years, this previously unreleased collection of songs—penned by a young Lou Reed, recorded to tape with the help of future bandmate John Cale, and mailed to himself as a “poor man’s copyright”—remained sealed in its original envelope and unopened for nearly 50 years. Its contents embody some of the most vital, groundbreaking contributions to American popular music committed to tape in the 20th century. Through examination of these songs rooted firmly in the folk tradition, we see clearly Lou’s lasting influence on the development of modern American music – from punk to art-rock and everything in between. A true time capsule, these recordings not only memorialize the nascent sparks of what would become the seeds of the incredibly influential Velvet Underground; they also cement Reed as a true observer with an innate talent for synthesizing and distilling the world around him into pure sonic poetry.

    Other Releases by Lou Reed

    Lou ReedA Life
    £10 OFF THIS NEW USA HARDBACK - JUST £15 - CURRENTLY £25 AND NONE ON AMAZON Description: As lead singer and songwriter for the Velvet Underground...
      Lou ReedThe Life
      Just £6!!! That's more than 50% Off!From recording one of the most critically acclaimed albums of all time with THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO (1967),...
        • Book (600g)£12.99 £6.00
          Out of stock
        Lou ReedTransformer (1972)RCA Victor
        All important seminal 1972 post-Velvet Underground Lou includes VIcious, Walk on the Wild Side, Perfect Day, Satellite of Love ... nuff tunes!
          • CD£7.99
            Out of stock

          Other Releases on Light In The Attic

          Nancy SinatraKeep Walkin’: Singles, Demos & Rarities 1965-1978Light In The Attic
          In 1965, 25-year-old Nancy Sinatra scored her first No.1 hit with “These Boots are Made for Walkin’,” a bold anthem for female empowerment. Brazen,...
            • New 2×LP (Coloured Vinyl)£53.99
              Expected 20 OctPreorder
            Nancy Sinatra & Lee HazlewoodNancy & Lee AgainLight In The Attic
            Light in the Attic Records is proud to present the next installment of the Nancy Sinatra Archival Series with the first ever reissue of the classic 1972...
              Earl's Closet - The Lost Archive of Earl McGrath, 1970—1980Light In The Attic
              Light in the Attic Records proudly presents Earl’s Closet, a double album of the treasures discovered inside, including unheard music by Daryl Hall and...
                Earl’s Closet: The Lost Archive of Earl McGrath 1970-1980Light In The Attic
                Light In The Attic are exited to announce 'Earl's Closet: The Lost Archive of Earl McGrath, 1970 - 1980', a Private Collection of a Legendary Figure of...
                  Digable PlanetsBlowout CombLight In The Attic
                  Deluxe re-issue of Digable Planet's 1994 landmark abum. The quality and importance of this LP is legendary - the three members flowing over sleek, fragmentary...
                  • – The May 4th Movement Starring Doodlebug
                  • – Black Ego
                  • – Dog It
                  • New 2×LP (Coloured Vinyl)£54.00
                    In stockAdd to Bag
                  Betty DavisBetty DavisLight In The Attic
                  Re-issue of this classic funk rock masterpiece from the sassiest soul sister of her era. Beyonce ain't got nothin' on this chick! Reissued by Light...
                  • – If I'm In Luck I Might Get Picked Up
                  • – Anti Love Song
                  • – Ooh Yea
                  • New LP (Coloured Vinyl)£38.00
                    Expected 08 SepPreorder
                  Betty DavisIs It Love Or DesireLight In The Attic
                  Just like her previous fantastic albums 'They Say I'm Different' and 'Betty Davis'. 'Nasty Gal' is raw unadulteredhard funky soul from the husky-voiced...
                  • – is it love or desire
                  • New LP (Coloured Vinyl)£38.00
                    Expected 08 SepPreorder