The 3 Pieces If Only I Could Prove To You

    Expansion Records
    • The 3 Pieces – If Only I Could Prove To You
    • The 3 Pieces – I Need You Girl
    • 1. If Only I Could Prove To You
    • 2. I Need You Girl

    Also known as The Three Pieces and The 3 Pieces, we’ve gone for Three Pieces as this group from Washington, DC originally appeared on the Fantasy label 7” single in 1975. Members are Andre Richardson, Jerry Wilder and Lincoln Ross, both songs here from their one album “Vibes Of Truth” released that same year. “If Only I Could Prove To You” and “I Need You Girl” are their biggest ‘rare grooves’ across the decades, produced by Donald Byrd at the fruitful time he was working with The Blackbyrds at Fantasy.

    Bass player Jerry Wilder played with Chuck Brown & The Soul Searchers and Will Lester/Rodney Brown productions for Sharon Redd & Bobby Thurston. He is also lead vocalist with Three Pieces. Wade Marcus arranged the strings and is co-producer.

    Other Releases on Expansion Records

    Bill SummersDon’t fade awayExpansion Records
    Bill Summers is a latin jazz percussionist from New Orleans who ventured in to jazz funk and soul in the 70s and early 80s. He also played with Herbie...
      Roy AyersChicago / D.C. CityExpansion Records
      SEMINAL JAZZ FUNK DEEPNESS! Limited Edition hand numbered 7” – 1000 Copies: First time 7” release of much sampled “Chicago” by iconic jazz funk...
      • – Chicago
      Timeless LegendEverybody Disco - Parts 1 & 2Expansion Records
      SUPER RARE BOOGIE FUNK SOULFUL UPLIFTING MASTERPIECE!Hand Numbered. Only once before on 7" in 1979. Extremely rare now with originals have a collectors...
      • – Everybody Disco
      Leo's SunshippGive Me The SunshineExpansion Records
      BOOGIE FUNK CLASSIC! AS GOOD AS IT GETS! Hand Numbered. There are two versions of an iconic 'rare groove' track back to back. The first is a reissue of...
      • – Give Me The Sunshine

      People also bought

      Machine's self-titled album is shrouded in mystery. Supposedly released in 1972 on All Platinum Records, it completely disappeared without a trace and...
        QuaidThe Algorithm Don't Like My FreakApron Records
        "The Algorithm Don't Like My Freek"After the software hallucination of my last record Dreem Static we reboot back into the Metropolis underground: a never-ending...
        • – End Game
        • – HyperReal
        • – Quantum Prophets
        • – irememberufromtomorrow
        • – Future Attractions
        • – SHE (ft. Shepherd)
        • – The Lovers
        • – Phantomz
        • – Exotic Radiation
        • – Infinity Mode
        • – Untitled Freek (ft. Shepherd)
        • – Secret Colors
        Shy OneIP AddyEglo Records
        Bruk acid house vibes and smudged electronic boogie from Shy One via the ever reliable Eglo imprint!
        • – Crumb Trail
        • – IP Addy
        • – A New Way of Looking at an Old Place
        Tania MariaCome With MeSoul Brother Records
        Tania Maria is a singer, composer and piano player from Brazil. It was a period in the early 80s that she became popular on the latin jazz, soul and fusion...
        • – Lost In Amazonia
        • – Come With Me
        The Rance Allen GroupI Feel Like Going OnExpansion Records
        Rance Allen, from Monroe Michigan, with older brother Tom on drums and younger brother Steve on bass recorded their first record and won a talent contest...
        • – I Feel Like Going On
        • – Can't Get Enough
        Bill SummersDon’t fade awayExpansion Records
        Bill Summers is a latin jazz percussionist from New Orleans who ventured in to jazz funk and soul in the 70s and early 80s. He also played with Herbie...
          GhostExpansions / Everybody Loves The SunshineStar Creature
          Two bananas version of two jazz-funk classics reworked by David Zylberman (AKA Ghost) from Egyptian Lover's spaced out synth-funk backing band. New school,...
          • – Expansions
          • – Everybody Loves The Sunshine
          Family Of SwedeLife / Mellow (Edit)Cordial Recordings
          Cordial issue the rousing soul cut 'Life' on a 45! Monster, party-starting cut for the sunshine season!
          • – Life
          • – Mellow (edit)
          Rikki AaronThe Dream / Say What's On Your MindCordial Recordings
          Reissue of two, rare and sought after 80s soulful dancers from Rikki Aaron - first time on a 45 together.
          • – The Dream
          • – Say What's On Your Mind
          Christopher JayWhat Do You Want Me To DoAthens Of The North
          Reissue of this wicked, oddball/outsider, boogie/funk 45 from New York circa 1987!
          • – What Do You Want Me to Do
          • – What Do You Want Me to Do (Edit)
          Weldon IrvineDéjà vu / I Am / BananasDynamite Cuts
          First recorded in 1973 and released on Nodlow records, we have taken 3 wonderful tracks from the epic 'Time Capsule' album, 'Déjà vu' this quirky, yet...
          • – Déjà vu
          • – Bananas
          NubiaThe Time Is RightAthens Of The North
          Chicano soul / disco floater cut from George Rivera's master tapes and reissued by the good people at Athens Of The North! Limited to 500 copies...
          • – The Time Is Right
          • – Feelin' Funky
          MomentaYour LoveLazy Robot / Upcycle
          Momenta bringing the heavy soul vibes on this new release split between Lazy Robot and Upcycle records. Backed with a wicked broken beat fix from Fradinho!
          • – Your Love
          • – Your Love (Fradinho remix)
          Billy BrunerTulsa SongAthens Of The North
          AWESOME 80s soul gem from Tulsa's Billy Bruner - monster, monster record reissued via Athens Of The North! Don't miss!
          • – T-U-L-S-A Song
          • – I Want To Hold You
          Charles StepneyStep on StepInternational Anthem Recording Company
          UNBELIEVEABLE!International Anthem release 'Step on Step', a collection of newly unearthed solo home recordings created by enigmatic producer, arranger,...
          • – Daddy's Diddies
          • – That's The Way Of The World
          • – Look B4U Leap
          Trace of SmokeTreasure MindAthens Of The North
          Mega-rare, late 70s/early 80s funky disco cut coveted on the northern, rare disco and modern soul scenes - finally reissued via Athens Of The North!
          • – Treasure Mind
          • – U.R
          Coke EscovedoComin' At YaMusic On Vinyl
          SEMINAL jazz/funk/latin fusion LP featuring the rare groove classic 'I Wouldn't Change A Thing'. Coke Escovedo, percussionist extraordinaire (and uncle...
          • – I Wouldn't Change A Thing