• Cultural Roots – Big Finger
    • Cultural Roots – Running Back To Me
    • Cultural Roots – Get Up, Stand Up
    • Cultural Roots – Worries A Me Yard
    • Cultural Roots – His Majesty Reign
    • Cultural Roots – Sweet Lady
    • Cultural Roots – Passion Love
    • Cultural Roots – Distant Lover
    • Cultural Roots – This Woman
    • Cultural Roots – Run Around Girl
    • 1. Big Finger
    • 2. Running Back To Me
    • 3. Get Up, Stand Up
    • 4. Worries A Me Yard
    • 5. His Majesty Reign
    • 6. Sweet Lady
    • 7. Passion Love
    • 8. Distant Lover
    • 9. This Woman
    • 10. Run Around Girl

    Originally released by Mango Records in 1988, Cultural Roots’ Running Back To Me features prime King Jammy digital production that brought forth hits like Wayne Smith’s “Sleng Teng” and would dominate Jamaican music between 1985-1995.

    Cultural Roots emerged as a four-part harmony group for producer Donovan Germain in the late 1970s, releasing two albums. The group with its original line-up then recorded for Junjo Lawes, releasing Hell A Go Pop, one of the Greensleeves label’s lesser-known classics.

    The group reemerged in 1988 with a new trio lineup for King Jammy, still led by singer Wade Dyce. Tracks include the ever-cultural “His Majesty Reign” and the moving love song “Passion Lover,” which shares the backing track with one of King Jammy’s all-time smash hits, Frankie Paul’s “I Know The Score.” credits

    Other Releases on VP Records

    Prince Far IUnder Heavy MannersVP Records
    A fairly obscure figure even by reggae standards, Prince Far I was one of the sternest of the "cultural" DJs that proliferated on the Jamaican scene...
    • – Rain A Fall
    • – Big Fight
    • – You I Love And Not Another
    • – Young Generation
    • – Shine Eye Gal
    • – Boz Rock
    • – Show Me Mine Enemy
    • – Shadow
    • – Deck Of Cards
    • – Heavy Manners
    • CD£15.00
      In stockAdd to Bag
    • LP£22.00
      Out of stock
    Sister NancyBam BamVP Records
    Another must have roots dancehall gem from 1985, the stalag riddim' still going strong among today's digital fans. Flipside is an instrumental, the pure...
    • – Bam Bam
    • – Stalag Version
    Sir Lord Comic / Count Matchuki & The DestoryersFranco NeroVP Records
    Bullet proof four track EP fully loaded with in-demand sure-shots from two foundation gun-slingers. Packed fair and square in a newly commissioned Tony...
    • Sir Lord Comic – Franco Nero
    • The Destroyers – Franco Nero version
    • Sir Lord Comic – Jack Of My Trade
    • Count Matchuki – Movements (The Joe Gibbs Way)
    The CongosHeart Of The Congos (40th Anniversary Edition)VP Records
    Extended triple LP of this unbelievably awesome and classic reggae album produced by Lee Perry
    • – Fisherman
    • – Congoman
    • – Can't Come In
    • – Solid Foundation (Disco Cork Mix)
    Johnny OsbourneMr Budy ByeVP Records
    Ultimate classic album including 'Buddy Bye' the classic sleng teng killer track, 'Chopper', 'Fully Ranking' and 'No Ice Cream Sound'! Killer!!!!! CD...
      • Reissue LP£35.99
        In stockAdd to Bag
      • CD£9.99
        Out of stock