I Roy Can't Conquer Rasta

    Radiation Roots
    • I Roy – Jamaican Colley
    • I Roy – Wise Man A Rasta Man
    • I Roy – Big Eel
    • I Roy – Them Can't Conquer Rasta Dub
    • I Roy – Big Eel Dub
    • 1. Jamaican Colley
    • 2. Them Can't Conquer Rasta
    • 3. It Rough Down Ya
    • 4. Rasta Love Universally
    • 5. Wise Man A Rasta Man
    • 6. Big Eel
    • 7. Jamaican Colley Dub
    • 8. Them Can't Conquer Rasta Dub
    • 9. It Rough Down Ya Dub
    • 10. Rasta Love Universally Dub
    • 11. Wise Man A Rasta Man Dub
    • 12. Big Eel Dub

    Radiation Roots present a reissue of I Roy's Can't Conquer Rasta, originally released in 1977. Born Roy Samuel Reid in Saint Thomas in 1944, I Roy was one of Jamaica's all-time greatest deejays. A natural-born toaster, his rhyming raps always sounded effortless, whether describing the harsh realities of the inner city, or making light of nonsense nursery rhymes. A former employee at Customs and Excise, he was first active on a sound system called Soul Bunnies in the rocksteady era, moving to Son's Junior in 1968, and later, to the legendary Supreme Ruler of Sound, defecting to the rival Stereo sound system after that. Hits for Harry Mudie and other producers soon followed, and after the killer debut album Presenting I Roy (1973) impacted overseas, the toaster began spending frequent periods in London. His longstanding working relationship with hit-making producer Bunny Lee led to some of his most noteworthy albums during the mid-1970s; the 1977 set Can't Conquer Rasta is a superb "showcase"-style album, on which the toaster blows hard lyrics over five of Lee's killer "rockers" rhythms (recorded with the likes of Johnny Clarke), each complete with a corresponding Aggrovators dub on the flip, all mixed by Prince Jammy at King Tubby's studio.

    Other Releases by I Roy

    I RoyGussie Presenting I RoySunspot
    Limited edition of 750 individually numbered copies on 180 gram audiophile orange vinyl.
      • LP£19.99
        In stockAdd to Bag
      • CD£12.49
        Out of stock

      Other Releases on Radiation Roots

      Ranking DillingerNon Stop Disco StyleRadiation Roots
      LP (Military Green and White Coloured Vinyl)Top-ranking toaster Dillinger, aka Lester Bullock, is among the most versatile and popular of all the Jamaican...
        Barry BrownStep It Up YouthmanRadiation Roots
        Roots reggae vocalist Barry Brown had a very distinctive singing style. His most obvious role model was the fragile tenor of Horace Andy, but Brown gave...
        • Barry Brown – Trying Youthman
        • Barry Brown – Truth And Right
        • Barry Brown – Give Thanks & Praise
        • Barry Brown – I'm Not A King
        • Barry Brown – Things In Life
        • Barry Brown – Step It Up Youthman
        Derrick MorganPeople DecisionRadiation Roots
        People Decision, voiced at King Tubby's studio for Lee and released by Third World in 1977, sees Morgan in politicised roots reggae mode on songs like...

          People also bought

          SkariArtibellaRoots Renegade Records
          Wicked new version of the Ken Boothe classic, check horns cut on the flip. Limited to 300 
          • Skari – Skari - Artibella
          • Skari – Horns Cut
          • 7"£7.99
            Out of stock
          Eric DonaldsonPenny Farthing - Peel Headed John CrowSerengeti Records
          Two rare mid eighties roots vocal cuts from Eric Donaldson on limited edition repress from Hornin' Sounds. They don't repress...
          • Eric Donaldson – Penny Farthing
          • Eric Donaldson – Peel Headed John Crow
          • 7"£7.99
            Out of stock
          BukkhaNada A Perder ft. Junior DreadZamZam Sounds
          New 7" releases from ZamZam Sounds, new electronic dub music featuring Junior Dread limited to 700 copies worldwide no repress, no digital..
          • Bukkha – Nada A Perder
          • Bukkha – Nada A Dub
          • 7"£8.49
            Out of stock