• 2×LP MH-8020£47.99
    Out of stock
  • CD MH-020£22.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. Rick Russo Introduction [Previously Unissued]
  • 2. Marshall Allen - Untitled Wind Synthesizer Intro
  • 3. Sun Ra - Untitled Keyboard Solo 1
  • 4. John Cage - Empty Words (Vocal Solo)
  • 5. John Cage - Empty Words (Silent Solo)
  • 6. John Cage - Empty Words (Vocal Solo)
  • 7. Sun Ra - Untitled Keyboard Solo 2
  • 8. Sun Ra - We Hold This Myth To Be Potential [Previously Unissued]
  • 9. Sun Ra - The Damned Air [Previously Unissued]
  • 10. John Cage - Empty Words (Vocal Solo) [Previously Unissued]
  • 11. John Cage - Empty Words (Silent Solo) [Previously Unissued]
  • 12. John Cage - Empty Words (Vocal Solo) [Previously Unissued]
  • 13. Sun Ra - The Living Parable [Previously Unissued]
  • 14. Sun Ra - This Is The Space Age [Previously Unissued]
  • 15. Sun Ra - Untitled Keyboard Solo 3 [Previously Unissued]
  • 16. Sun Ra - Enlightenment (featuring June Tyson) [Previously Unissued]
  • 17. Sun Ra - Untitled Keyboard Solo 4
  • 18. John Cage and Sun Ra - Silent Duet
  • 19. John Cage and Sun Ra - Empty Words And Keyboard
  • 20. John Cage and Sun Ra - Silent Duet 2
  • 21. Untitled Keyboard Solo 5

In June 1986, two 20th century heavyweights John Cage and Sun Ra came together in a Coney Island freak show for a one-off performance that has assumed truly legendary status.

Recorded and subsequently released in “unedited segments” the following year by Meltdown Records, the collaboration at Sideshows By The Sea has become one of the most sought after records in either discography.

Rare documentary proof of what really happened when John Cage met Sun Ra, it’s a record replete with dissonant electronics, astral flourishes, vocal experimentations and, as you’d expect from Cage, moments of profound silence. 

Modern Harmonic reissue the music at the concert as a deluxe, monophonic double, clear double vinyl and CD release for the first time, featuring over twenty five minutes of previously unheard music, and accompanied by liner notes from writer Howard Mandel, who was in the audience that night. 

People also bought

Venezuela 70Cosmic Visions Of A Latin American Earth: Venezuelan Experimental Rock In The 1970sSoul Jazz Records
Soul Jazz Records’ new Venezuela 70 is the first-ever album of its kind to take a look at the groundbreaking experimental rock music made in Venezuela...
Huerco SFor Those Of You Who Have Never (And Also Those Who Have)Proibito
**Repressed and with new artwork!** Dense, warm and meditative mood pieces from Huerco S who switches from the club to a more personal space on this...
Deutsche Elektronische MusikExperimental German Rock and Electronic Music 1972-83Soul Jazz Records
AVAILABLE AGAIN! Soul Jazz Records new 2018 edition of their long out of print classic first “Deutsche Elektronische Musik – Experimental German Rock...
Conscious Sounds & Partial RecordsHackney DubConscious Sounds
Strong new digital roots offering from leading U.K. reggae producers Conscious Sounds and reggae label Partial Records. Featuring vocalist's...
Steve ReichKronos Quartet / Pat Metheny : Different Trains / Electric CounterpointElektra Nonesuch
The two works on this disc are essential listening for anyone with even the slightest interest in Steve Reich. For those who don't know the composer, there...
  • CD£13.99
    Out of stock
Punk 45: The Singles Cover Art of Punk 1976-80Edited by Jon Savage and Stuart BakerSoul Jazz Books
Back in print!!!Soul Jazz Records’ massive deluxe 400-page Punk 45s cover art book edited and compiled by Jon Savage (author of the seminal book on punk,...
DJ Format's Psych Out - A Collection Of International Funky Fuzz Laiden GemsVariousBBE
The UK's DJ Format is back on BBE latest compilation of psychedelic obscurities. With songs selected by the hands of a crate digger, "DJ Format's...
  • LP£18.99
    Out of stock
  • CD£10.99
    Out of stock
Aphex TwinSelected Ambient Works 85-92 (Remastered)Apollo
Aphex Twin's dreamy, ambient techno classic from 1992 is now available in a remastered vinyl format!
  • LP£18.99
    Out of stock