Selda Vurulduk Ey Halkim Unutma Bizi

Pharaway Sounds
  • 1. Gardasim Hasso
  • 2. Vurulduk Ey Halkim, Unutma Bizi
  • 3. Utan, Utan
  • 4. Karaoglan
  • 5. Aciyi Bal Eyledik
  • 6. Askerin Turkusu
  • 7. Maden Dagi
  • 8. Maden Iscileri
  • 9. Bundan Sonra
  • 10. Gozden, Gezden, Arpaciktan
  • 11. Eco'ya Donder Beni
  • 12. Zamani Geldi
  • 13. Katip Arzuhalim Yaz Yare Boyle
  • 14. Mapusane Icinde Mermerden Direk
  • 15. Tatli Dilim
  • 16. Mapushanelere Gunes Dogmuyor
  • 17. Cemberimde Gul Oya
  • 18. Bolemedim Felek Ile Kozumu
  • 19. Bulbul
  • 20. Gesi Baglarinda

This the second Selda album and it is even better than her other one, which was recently reissued on the great Finder Keepers label! And it's no wonder that psychedelic crate-diggers, and self-proclaimed vinyl vultures Andy Votel and Dominic Thomas of Finders Keepers both have tracks by Selda included on their list of favorites: her take on Anatolian music is unique! This reissue features the second album (released in 1975) by this much beloved female Turkish protest singer, notorious for her clashes with Turkish governments; Selda and her acoustic guitar are accompanied here by a psychedelic rock band which includes members of Mogollar, and the result is is one of the best records we've heard from Turkey, for it includes 'Utan,Utan' (traditional folk sounds spiced with fuzz guitar) and 'Karaoglan'; a track like 'Askerin Türküsü' is interesting for its medieval arrangements, and 'Maden Dagi' is sung with great emotion. This is an album which was forbidden in Turkey, which means it has been hard to find since its release! This is a great package with detailed sleeve notes with loads of photos and it includes eight early singles as bonus tracks! Very highly recommended! One of the best Turkish albums we've heard!