• 3×LP£29.00
      Out of stock
    • CD£12.00
      Out of stock
    • Risco Connection – I’m Caught Up
    • 1. Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now (Vocal)
    • 2. Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now (Version)
    • 3. Good Times
    • 4. One More Time (Instrumental)
    • 5. I’m Caught Up
    • 6. Argument
    • 7. It’s My House (Special Disco Version)
    • 8. It’s My House (Version)
    • 9. Bringing Out The Sunshine
    • 10. Risco Music
    • 11. Reggae Music
    • 12. Sitting In The Park
    • 13. Park Version
    • 14. Stopping (Version)

    Drummer “Drummie” Joe Isaacs had already created history as the house drummer at Studio 1 in Jamaica on countless prereggae classics before moving to Canada in 1968 and is credited with slowing down the fast pace of ska during the rocksteady era.

    With Risco Connection, Isaacs released a series of choice reggae / disco covers, from ‘Ain’t No Stopping Us Now’ and ‘Good Times’ to ‘I’m Caught Up (In A One Night Love Affair)’ and ‘It’s My House’ as limited 12” singles on his own Black Rose imprint. “Arriving in Canada, we were one of the first set of musicians out of Jamaica coming here,” explains Isaacs. “With Risco Connection, we wanted to try something new, songs that would have a crossover between disco and the rocksteady feeling and the right lyrics. We had trouble getting them well distributed widely at the time but people still picked up on the sound.”

    First ever official compilation of 'Risco Connection’s' sought-after singles.

    Includes new interview with Joe Isaacs and liner notes by Angus Taylor.

    Includes the vocal and dub versions of ‘Ain’t No Stopping Us Now’, a favourite of David Mancuso at his New York Loft parties.

    People also bought

    Mr. FingersAround the Sun Pt.1Alleviated
    Larry Heard's classic Mr. Fingers guise returns on his own Alleviated label with more deep, deep Chicago house music bliss! 'Around the Sun Pt.1' draws...
    • – Around the Sun
    • – Dryve
    • – Touch the Sky
    • – Coastline Paradox
    • – Electrostatic Levitation
    • – Something's Going On
    • – Like the Dawn
    • – Pressureize
    • – Marrakesh
    • – Shimmer
    • 2×LP£26.00
      Out of stock
    • CD£14.00
      Out of stock
    Love Is All I BringReggae Hits and Rarities by the Queens of TrojanTrojan
    £10 OFF!!!!Love Is All I Bring showcases the very talented female performers of Trojan Records, who in the world of reggae can often to be overlooked....
      • 2×LP£30.00 £20.00
        Out of stock
      Black DevilDisco ClubAlter K
      Disco Club is a groundbreaking 1978 EP of experimental electronic disco created by Bernard Fevre and his collaborator under their tongue-in-cheek aliases...
      • – "H" Friend
      • – Timing, Forget The Timing
      • – One To Choose
      • – We Never Fly Away Again
      • – Follow Me (Instrumental)
      • – No Regrets
      • LP£25.00
        Out of stock
      Lorenzo Morresi & TenderloniousCosmica Italiana22a
      The highly anticipated collaboration between DJ, producer and musician Lorenzo Morresi and 22a label boss, DJ, producer and musician Tenderlonious. 11...
      • – Tema Cinque
      • – Acqua
      • 2×LP£25.00
        In stockAdd to Bag
      • CD£12.00
        Out of stock
      Dave LeeProduced With Love IIZ Records
      The follow up to his 2017 album, Produced With Love II is a collection of brand new songs from one of the UK’s most longstanding, respected and fiercely...
      • Dave & Omar – Starlight
      • Jayenne feat. Gina Carey – Love Walked In The Room
      • Foreal People feat. Xan Blacq – Raise A Blaze
      • Mistura feat. Jemini – Want Me Back
      • Dave Lee feat. Billy Valentine – Taste My Love
      • Mistura feat. Tiffany T'Zelle – If You Ever Need Somebody
      • The Sunburst Band feat. Angela Johnson – Face The Love
      • Raw Essence feat. Lifford – Do It Again
      • Dave Lee feat. Billy Valentine – Power Of The Mind (Power Trip Mix)
      • The Sunburst Band – Let's Do It In Style
      • Harold Melvin & The Bluenotes – Don't Leave Me This Way (Dave Lee Philly World Mix)
      • Kokomo – Use Your Imagination (Dave Lee Re-Imagined Mix)
      • 1. Dave & Omar – Starlight
      • 2. Jayenne feat. Gina Carey – Love Walked In The Room
      • 3. Foreal People feat. Xan Blacq – Raise A Blaze
      • View full info and tracklisting
      • 3×LP£28.00
        Out of stock
      • CD£16.00
        Out of stock
      Charles StepneyStep on StepInternational Anthem Recording Company
      UNBELIEVEABLE!International Anthem release 'Step on Step', a collection of newly unearthed solo home recordings created by enigmatic producer, arranger,...
      • – Daddy's Diddies
      • – That's The Way Of The World
      • – Look B4U Leap
      • New 2×LP (Coloured Vinyl)£31.00
        Limited gold coloured vinyl edition
        Out of stock
      • 2×LP£29.00
        Out of stock
      • CD£13.00
        In stockAdd to Bag
      KabbalaAshewo AraZ Records
      A cult classic in the Afro music scene has been given a fresh polish and two brand new remixes from Dave Lee and Doug Gomez.Dave Lee brings the keys to...
      • – Dave Lee Afro Fusion Mix
      • – Accapella
      • – Doug Gomez Merecumbe Soul Remix
      • – Original
      • 12"£13.00
        Out of stock
      Mr. FingersAmnesiaAlleviated
      Re-issue of seminal Mr. Fingers album 'Amnesia', available officially for the first time in 32 years on Larry Heard's own Alleviated Records. This remastered...
      • – Can You Feel It
      • – Washing Machine
      • – Beyond The Clouds
      • – Slam Dance
      • – Stars
      • – Waterfalls
      • – Let's Dance All Night
      • – Bye Bye
      • – For So Long
      • – Ammnesia
      • – The Juice
      • – Mystery Of Love (Dub)
      • 3×LP£28.00
        Out of stock
      • CD£14.00
        Out of stock
      Joe Cuba SextetVagabundeando! (Hangin' Out)Tico Records
      Wicked 60s latin
      • – Quinto Sabroso
      • Original LP£35.00
        Vinyl condition: VG+Sleeve condition: VGOriginal = Venezuelan Vinyl, some sleeve wear, spines taped, vinyl is clean

        100% Guarantee on this and all Original Vinyl at Sounds Of The Universe - 'if you're not happy we're not happy' money-back guarantee!
        In stockAdd to Bag
      Inell YoungThe Next Ball GameSoul Jazz Records
      Killer New Orleans Funk rarity! Inell Young's searing vocal performance backed by the unbelievably funky James Black's seriously awesome second-line...
      • – The Next Ball Game
      • – Part Of The Game
      Inell YoungWhat Do You See In HerSoul Jazz Records
      A stone-cold CLASSIC tune!Simply one the most soulful New Orleans tunes EVER to come out on record from Eddie Bo vocalist Inell Young. Rare as...New...
      • Inell Young – What Do You See In Her
      • Inell Young – I Remember The Summer
      Joyce with Mauricio MaestroFemininaFar Out Recordings
      This fabled 11 minute+ version of Brazilian icon Joyce's groundbreaking "Feminina" was recorded at Columbia Studios, New York in 1977, for the as yet unreleased...
      • – Feminina
      • 12"£20.00
        Out of stock
      The ExplosionsGarden Of Four TreesSoul Jazz Records
      You could buy the one original copy currently on Discogs for £1,200 - OR buy this! Seminal New Orleans Eddie Bo production from the near legendary group...
      • – Garden Of Four Trees
      • – Teach Me
      East Coast Love AffairChicagoAthens Of The North
      Absolute monster! East Coast Love Affair cut Roy Ayer's classic CHICAGO tune in a wicked acid house style - MASSIVE! This tune is tough!
      • – Chicago
      • – Back On You (feat. Crystal Winds)
      • 12"£16.00
        Out of stock