• 3×LP NA5087-LP£39.99 £25.00
    Out of stock
  • 2×CD NA5087-CD£9.99
    In stockAdd to Bag
  • 1. Tsegulani
  • 2. Mpondolo
  • 3. Walk and Fight
  • 4. The Sun
  • 5. Dark Sunrise
  • 6. One Reply
  • 7. The Wings Of Africa
  • 8. Jekete Yamankowa Part 1
  • 9. Jekete Yamankowa Part 2
  • 10. Chalo Chawama
  • 11. Ng'ombe Shala
  • 12. Mpulula
  • 13. Smoke
  • 14. Sansa Kuwa
  • 15. Sheebeen Queen
  • 16. Stop Dreaming Mr. D
  • 17. The Hole
  • 18. Hot Fingers
  • 19. Se Keel Me Queek
  • 20. The Nature Of Man
  • 21. Musamuseka
  • 22. Zambia
  • 23. The Queen Blues
  • 24. Love Is The Way
  • 25. Lovely Woman
  • 26. Munzi Wa Kangwana
  • 27. Working On The Wrong Thing
  • 28. Ulemu
  • 29. Sunshine Love
  • 30. Take It Light
  • 31. Angel Black

Now Again have come up with their best compilation of 2010 - this incredible psychedelic african rock anthology! LAVISH HEAVY DOUBLE CD BOOK!!!

Following its issues of three essential albums - WITCH's Introduction and Lazy Bones and Amanaz's Africa - from the genre, Now-Again Records presents Dark Sunrise, an anthology of Zambian "Zamrock" godfather Rikki Ililonga and his groundbreaking band Musi-O-Tunya. The anthology surveys Musi-O-Tunya’s rarely heard 7″ singles – not just the first psychedelic rock music, but the first pop music independently released in Zambia – their debut album Wings of Africa and follows Ililonga’s solo career in its first stages, with his Zambia and Sunshine Love albums!

This anthology contains 31 tracks of unique music that channels James Brown’s raw funk as well as Jimi Hendrix’s fuzzy psychedelia; music that flirts with Fela’s Afro-beat and Congolese rumbas and simultaneously brings the blues of Taj Majal back to Africa. Production of this anthology was overseen by Egon in conjunction with Ililonga himself and took place over a period of two years, during which time Ililonga journeyed to his home country to collect photos, ephemera and – of course – the landmark music that he and his band recorded.

Packaged as a 2-CD hardbound, full color book (with the bonus 7”-only tracks which are NOT available in the LP format) and a 3-LP box set that contains exact reproductions of Wings of Africa, Zambia and Sunshine Love. LP version contains the same liner notes as in the CD version, but in an oversized full color booklet.