• 12"£6.99
      Out of stock
      • 1. World Slide
      • 2. New Hard Times
      • 3. New Hula Slide

      Preceding the Killing Melody LP by ten years, this EP was recorded by Mike in the late 90s and originally released on his own CDr label Hipshot. A 500 only pressing, these are the last remaining copies.

      Mike is a British blues legend. In the early 60s he supported John Lee Hooker, Jimmy Reed, Howling Wolf, Son House and many more American blues artists on their UK visits - as well as backing British r&b bands. He honed his guitar skills to later include steel blues and Hawaiian lap steel guitar. From the 80s onwards, he ventured into more avant garde territory and has continued to beat a path somewhere between all these styles.

      The three tracks here represent his later experiments with low fi loops and Hawaiian steel guitar. They were recorded in his kitchen in Rome, on a primitive computer, dumped onto minidisc and then CD. The result is a quiet and multilayered recording. This was a challenge even for Porky's George Peckham to master, but after a few takes, the record was pressed at the old EMI plant, shortly before their machinery was sold off.

      World Slide and New Hula Slide demonstrate Mike's fusion of the traditional Hawaiian melody with dirty avant garde loops. New Hard Times is a slide guitar and vocal blues, stripped down and angry.

      People also bought

      King Tubbys Meets Rockers UptownAn Augustus Pablo ProductionClocktower
      All time classic dub album from two heavyweights of the Jamaican music scene in the 70s, augustus pablo and king tubby, featuring a legendary line-up of...
        • Reissue LP£14.99
          Out of stock
        • CD£8.99
          Out of stock
        Prince Lasha Quintet Featuring Sonny SimmonsThe Cry!Contemporary
        Brilliant deep Afro Jazz album now reissued - includes the modal classic "Congo Call" Highly recommended !
          • Reissue LP£10.99
            Out of stock
          Wareika Hill SoundsNo More War EPHonest Jons
          In the great tradition of Count Ossie, four new groundation furies — hypnotic, thunderous, urgent, mystical — with dubwise repeta, funde and...
          • – No More War
          • – Free The People
          • – Universe In Crisis
          • – Chant Rasta
          • 10"£9.00
            Out of stock
          Sahib ShihabCompanionshipSchema
          Lovely reissue of this extremely sought-after modal jazz rarity, recorded in Europe in the mid sixties by cult ex-pat US reedsman Sahib Shihab! A classic...
          • – Om Mani Padme Hum
          • – Bohemia After Dark
          • – Companionship
          • – Con Alma
          • – The Turk's Bolero
          • – Balafon
          • – Invitation
          • – Serenata
          • – Sconsolato
          • 2×LP£24.99
            Out of stock
          Paul HornThe Sound Of Paul Horn (1961)Columbia
          Deep West coast modal jazz. Includes Mirage for Miles. Rare Original USA mono pressing - has some background noise so £25 off!
          • – Mirage For Miles
          • Original LP£39.99 £14.99
            Out of stock
          • Reissue LP£14.99
            Out of stock