Jon Appleton Four Fantasies For Synclavier

    Smithsonian Folkways
    • CD FTS37461£11.99
      Out of stock
      • 1. The Sweet Dreams Of Miss Pamela Beach
      • 2. Sashasonjon (In Memorium: Alexander Walden)
      • 3. Kapingamarangi
      • 4. Nukuoro

      The four works on this recording were composed by Jon Appleton using a digital synthesizer he helped develop, namely the Synclavier. The Synclavier is a perfomance instrument although the first piece on this recording, the sweet dreams of miss pamela beach was a 'studio' piece. The twenty-four track studio, Elektronmusikstudion Stockholm, was used to layer the musical material.  SashasonjonKapingamarangi and Nukuoro were perfomed live, as they would be in concert, by the composer. Most of the material is performed directly although some small sections and accompaniments are contained in the digital memory of the instrument at the time of performance.

      Originally released in 1982

      People also bought

      Deutsche Elektronische Musik 3Experimental German Rock and Electronic Music 1971-81Soul Jazz Records
      This latest instalment in Soul Jazz Records’ successful Deutsche Elektronische Musik series delves deeper into the German nation’s vaults to bring...
      • Klaus Weiss – Wide Open Space Motion
      • A.R. & Machines – I'll Be Your Singer, You'll Be My Song
      • Deutsche Wertarbeit – Deutscher Wald
      • Dzyan – Khali
      • Missus Beastly – Geisha
      • Alex – Derulé
      • Agitation Free – In The Silence Of the Morning Sunrise
      • Georg Deuter – Pearls
      • Michael Bundt – The Brain Of Oskar Panizza
      • Popol Vuh – Ja, Deine Liebe Ist Sußer Als Wein
      • Novalis – Dronsz
      • Bröselmaschine – Schmetterling
      • Neu! – Neuschnee
      • Between – And The Waters Opened
      • La Düsseldorf – White Overalls
      • Klauss Weiss – Constellation
      • Achim Reichel – Tanz Der Vögel In Den Winden
      • Roedelius – Lustwandel
      • Pyrolator – Die Haut Der Frau
      • Cluster – Hollywood
      • Streetmark – Passage
      • Niagara – Rhythm Go
      • Michael Bundt – Neon
      • 1. Klaus Weiss – Wide Open Space Motion
      • 2. A.R. & Machines – I'll Be Your Singer, You'll Be My Song
      • 3. Deutsche Wertarbeit – Deutscher Wald
      • View full info and tracklisting
      A Certain RatioTo Each...Mute
      Reissue of this seminal, second album from Manchester's post-punk legends, A Certain Ratio, via Mute records. Without a doubt, one of ACR's finest moments...
      • A Certain Ratio – Felch
      • A Certain Ratio – My Spirit
      • A Certain Ratio – Forced Laugh
      • A Certain Ratio – Choir
      • A Certain Ratio – Back To The Start
      A Certain RatioForceMute
      Post punk classic originally released in 1986 on Factory Records. Reissued by Mute and this version is pressed on limited edition, yellow vinyl.
      • A Certain Ratio – Only Together
      • A Certain Ratio – Naked and White
      • LP + Download Code£19.99
        In stockAdd to Bag
      • CD£10.99
        Out of stock
      A Certain RatioThe Graveyard And The BallroomMute
      UNBELIEVABLY GROOVY PLASTIC LP OUTER SLEEVE mirroring the original Factory Records Cassette - well grooovy! Reissue of the debut release from the Manchester...
        • LP + Download Code£19.99
          In stockAdd to Bag
        • CD£10.99
          Out of stock
        Reggae In A Babylon (1978)The Documentary That Captured The Birth Of British ReggaeOdeon Entertainment
        This is a killer rare Reggae documentary filmed in England in 1978. Includes rare interviews and performances from the kings and queens of the british...
        Dub Echoes DVD (2009)Directed by Bruno Natal
        'Dub Echoes' DVD out now on Soul Jazz Records!!!!!! 'Dub Echoes' is a newly produced film about Dub, featuring an incredible array of artists, both original...
        Cabaret VoltaireDrinking Gasoline (2014 Reissue)Mute
        Cabaret Voltaire, alongside Human League, Throbbing Gristle, Fad Gadget and The Normal, were at the forefront of the UK electronic movement of the...
        • Cabaret Voltaire – Kino (CD only)
        • Cabaret Voltaire – Sleepwalking (CD only)
        • Cabaret Voltaire – Big Funk (CD only)
        • Cabaret Voltaire – Ghostalk (CD only)
        • CD + DVD£9.99
          Out of stock
        • New LP + Download Code£13.99
          Out of stock
        The Synthesizerby John BatesOxford University Press
        Original hardback book
        • Original Book (300g)£15.00
          Out of stock