• 1. The payback
      • 2. doing the best i can
      • 3. take some - leave some
      • 4. shoot your shot
      • 5. forever suffering
      • 6. time is running out fast
      • 7. stone to the bone
      • 8. mind power

      Superb must-have 'funky ass' James Brown album featuring 'The Payback', 'Stone To The Bone' and 'Mind Power' amongst others.

      People also bought

      Weldon IrvineCosmic Vortex (1974)BMG
      100% Stone-cold rare groove classic. "Walk that Walk" is a heavyweight monster tune. ESSENTIAL!By 1974, 31 year-old Weldon Irvine was ready for the next...
        Idris MuhammadPower Of Soul (1974)CTI
        MASSIVE! With "Loran's Dance". KILLER CTI jazz/funk bomb from Idris Muhammad with hip-hop samples galore! EPIC.
        • – Loran's Dance
        • New LP (Coloured Vinyl) MOVLP738£28.99
          In stockAdd to Bag
        Hustle! Reggae Disco (Expanded Edition)Soul Jazz Records
        Expanded edition which now features five extra tracks! This ground-breaking album features non-stop killer reggae versions of original funk and soul...
        • Blood Sisters – Ring My Bell
        • Derrick Laro and Trinity – Don't Stop Til You Get Enough
        • Chariot Riders – Do It Nice & Easy
        • Black Harmony – Don't Let It Go To Your Head
        • Latisha – I'm Every Woman
        • Ernest Ranglin – In The Rain
        • Family Choice – Reggae Beat Goes On
        • Risco Connection – Ain't No Stopping Us Now
        • Xanadu and Sweet Lady – Rappers Delight
        • Sharon Forrester – Love Don't Live Here Any More
        • Carol Cool – Upside Down
        • One Blood – Be Thankful For What You've Got
        • Charmaine Burnett – Am I The Same Girl
        • 1. Blood Sisters – Ring My Bell
        • 2. Derrick Laro and Trinity – Don't Stop Til You Get Enough
        • 3. Chariot Riders – Do It Nice & Easy
        • View full info and tracklisting
        John ColtraneA Love Supreme (1964)Impulse!
        100% essential deep jazz classic! Searching, yearning, BEAUTIFUL spiritual jazz of the highest order! This is considered by many to be his best album and...
          Gil Scott-Heron & Brian JacksonWinter In AmericaStrata-East
          Classic, classic album originally on Strata East and featuring 'The Bottle'. Gil Scott Heron is a legendary soul/jazz/spoken word hero and this is one...
            Art BlakeyA Night In Tunisia (1958)BMG
            Features one of the best recordings by the second version of the Jazz Messengers, and it is the only time that Blakey featured both altoist Jackie McLean...
              Gary BartzMusic Is My SanctuaryCapitol
              Classic jazz funk album produced by the brilliant Mizell brothers! Features "Music Is My Sanctuary" and "Carnival De L'esprit"!
                  The J.B.'sFood For Thought (1972)People
                  Probably the best J.B's album in the world ! Full of great tracks.Every track on this album is a funk classic - 'Pass the Peas', 'Gimme Some More' 'Hot...
                    James MasonRhythm of Life (1977)Chiaroscuro
                    Absolutely essential jazz funk album! A rare groove classic and the only album James Mason recorded. Every track's a winner but look out for "Sweet Power...
                    • – sweet power your embrace
                    • – free
                    LCD SoundsystemAmerican DreamDFA / Columbia
                    A superb return from James Murphy's post-punk troupe, LCD Soundsystem. 'American Dream' is arguably the band's best release to date! 
                      A. K. SalimAfro-Soul / Drum Orgy (1965)Prestige
                      Incredible! This is a stunning set of African-inspired jazzy percussion tracks -- similar to some of the work done by Art Blakey on his Orgy In Rhythm...
                      • – ngomba ya tempo (elephant dance)
                      Dorothy AshbyThe Rubaiyat Of Dorothy AshbyDecca
                      Absolutely SEMINAL deep funk and jazz and from harpist Dorothy Ashby. Perhaps lesser known than Alice Coltrane, Dorothy Ashby remains the best-kept secret...
                      • – Myself When Young
                      • – For Some We Loved
                      • – Wax And Wane
                      • – Drink
                      • – Wine
                      • – Dust
                      • – Joyful Grass And Grape
                      • – Shadow Shapes
                      • – Heaven And Hell
                      • – The Moving Finger
                      • New Audiophile LP (180 GRAM) 4899071£28.00
                        Verve By Request Version
                        In stockAdd to Bag
                      Massive AttackBlue LinesWild Bunch / Virgin
                      Seminal beats / trip hop album from 1991. The debut album from this Bristol based crew is an essential for any collection. Features the classic, 'Unfinished...
                      • – Safe From Harm
                      • – One Love
                      • – Blue Lines
                      • – Be Thankful For What You've Got
                      • – Five Man Army
                      • – Unfinished Sympathy
                      • – Daydreaming
                      • – Lately
                      • – Hymn Of The Big Wheel
                      Skinny PelembeSeven Year CurseSkinny's Own
                      Strictly limited and hand-numbered debut 7” from the hotly tipped Skinny Pelembe - a sparkling multi-instrumentalist / producer and vocalist who roams...
                      • – Seven Year Curse
                      • – Should You Go
                      ParliamentUp For The Down Stroke (1974)Casablanca
                      Classic early P-Funk with Parliament on the cusp of cosmicfunky greatness. Featuring 'Testify' and the wicked title track.
                        Bernard WrightNard (1981)Arista
                        Rare groove classic! Bernard Wright was part of the Tom Browne/Don Blackman crew that emerged from a musical academy in Queens NY in the late seventies...
                        • – Haboglabotribin'
                        • – Music Is The Key
                        • Original LP GRP5011£60.00
                          Vinyl condition: VG+Sleeve condition: VGOriginal Pre-Owned USA vinyl
                        Jurassic 5Quality ControlPIAS
                        Reissue of J5's stellar CLASSIC debut 2000 album, they walked the tightrope between underground and mainstream hip-hop. Killer samples and thought-provoking...
                        • – How We Get Along (Intro)
                        • – The Influence
                        • – Great Expectations
                        • – Quality Control
                        Antonio AdolfoViralataFar Out Recordings
                        New edition vinyl reissue of his seminal Brazil/Funk/Jazz fusion CLASSIC LP: Antonio Adolfo's Viralata! Remastered from original tapes and on heavyweight...
                        • – Cascavel
                        • – Paraiba Do Sul
                        • – Brincadeira Em Ré
                        • – Brincadeira Em Mi Bemol
                        • – Caminhada
                        • – Vermelhinho
                        • – Nordeste
                        • – Alegria de Carnaval
                        • – Diana E Paulo
                        • – Viralata
                        • – Assanhada
                        • – A Marcha
                        Bobby HutchersonSpiral (1968)Blue Note
                        Recorded in 1968 but not released until 1979, this is Bobby Hutcherson's 'lost' Blue Note album. Bobby Hutcherson - vibraphone, marimba Harold...
                        • – Jasper