James Mason Rhythm of Life (1977)

    • James Mason – sweet power your embrace
    • James Mason – free
    • 1. sweet power your embrace
    • 2. good thing
    • 3. free
    • 4. mbewe
    • 5. funny girl
    • 6. slick city
    • 7. rhythm of life
    • 8. hey hey hey
    • 9. i've got my eyes on you
    • 10. dreams

    Absolutely essential jazz funk album! A rare groove classic and the only album James Mason recorded. Every track's a winner but look out for "Sweet Power Your Embrace", "Free" and "Slick City" in particular! You need this album!!

    People also bought

    Rotary ConnectionHey LoveCadet
    BACK IN PRINT - LONG OUT!Essential psychedelic soul/rock Rotary Connection album featuring the legendary "I Am The Black Gold Of The Sun", "Love Has Fallen...
    • – I Am The Blackgold Of The Sun
    Andrew HillGrass Roots (1968)Blue Note
    Andrew Hill's best album, very highy recommended!
    • – Mira
    Doug CarnInfant EyesBlack Jazz
    MONSTER deep jazz with vocals from Jean Carn. Essential reissue!
    • – Little Bs Poem
    • – Acknowledgement
    Eddie KendricksPeople... Hold On (1972)Tamla
    Includes the SEMINAL Loft/garage ANTHEMS 'Girl You Need A Change Of Mind' and 'Date With The Rain'. Truly seminal spiritual uplifting soul out of Motown.
    • – Girl You Need A Change Of Mind
    • – Date With The Rain
    Dorothy AshbyAfro-Harping (1968)Cadet
    Definitive deep funky album from harpist Dorothy Ashby. Excellent late 60's soulful jazz harp recorded for Chess with arrangements by Richard Evans and...
    • – Soul Vibrations
    • – Come Live With Me
      Lonnie SmithMove Your Hand (1969)Blue Note
      Oh man, this is so heavy. The super-deep 'Move Your Hand' along with twisted vocals and hypnotic, incessant rhythm is one of the heaviest sounds of all...
      • – Move Your Hand
      Ann SextonThe Beginning (1977)Sound Stage 7
      Wicked, wicked, wicked funky female Memphis southern soul.
        Gary BartzMusic Is My SanctuaryCapitol
        Classic jazz funk album produced by the brilliant Mizell brothers! Features "Music Is My Sanctuary" and "Carnival De L'esprit"!
            Steve ReidNova (1976)Soul Jazz Records
            New edition of this seminal album available as a 1000 copies edition only on new premium RED vinyl!-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 'A...
            • Steve Reid – Nova
            • Steve Reid – Lions Of Juda
            • Steve Reid – Free Spirits-Unknown
            • Steve Reid – Long Time Black
            • Steve Reid – Sixth House
            Studio One SoulSoul Jazz Records
            More classic Reggae from Jamaica's most important label ever . Studio One Soul tracks the link between American Funk and Soul and Jamaican Reggae at...
            • Leroy Sibbles – Express Yourself
            • Norma Fraser – Respect
            • Leroy Sibbles – Groove Me
            • Sound Dimension – Time Is Tight
            • The Heptones – Message From A Black Man
            • Otis Gayle – I'll Be Around
            • Jerry Jones – Still Water
            • Sound Dimension – Soulful Strut
            • Richard Ace – Can't Get Enough
            • The Eternals – Queen Of The Minstrels
            • Ken Parker – How Strong
            • Ken Boothe – Set Me Free
            • Senior Soul – Is It Because I'm Black
            • Jackie Mittoo – Deeper And Deeper
            • Willie Williams – No One Can Stop Us
            James MasonRecollection EchoShout! Productions
            Japan Issue CD of previously unreleased recordings! 7 tracks have been remastered from James Mason's personal master tapes and have attempted to preserve...
            • – The Love Song
            • – Angel Eyes
            • – I've Got Your Love
            • – Cool Out
            • – Up Jump
            • – The Dance Of Life
            • – Space Walking
            Larry YoungHeaven On Earth (1968)Blue Note
            Deep, deep funky organ jazz from Young on Blue Note, 1968. What a year! Larry Young - organ, Byard Lancaster - alto saxophone, flute, Herbert...
            • – The Infant
            Esther PhillipsFrom A Whisper To A Scream (1971)Kudu
            This is a killer funky soul fusion album on Kudu featuring Phillips' great version of the Gil Scott-Heron classic "Home Is Where The Hatred Is". Line-up...
              French Disco Boogie Sounds Vol. 4Favorite Recordings
              Master digger, Charles Maurice compiles thirteen more forgotten gems, all produced in France; sung in French; or by French artists between 1977 and 1991....
              • Dwight Druick – Georgy Porgy (Disco Version)
              • Marco Attali – J'ai Pris Une Claque (Unreleased)
              • Serge Delisle – Germaine (Remix)
              • Wai Kop – Lola
              • Chris O'hara – Sur les Coussins de la Discothèque
              • Acayouman – Funk Around
              • Djeneba – Better Day (Hard Soul Mix)
              • David Simon – Transistor (Instrumental)
              • Marco Attali – La Relève Du Matin (Instrumental)
              • Shen & Les Shendys – Je Ne Suis Que Musique
              • Eric Chotteau – Affirmatif-Négatif
              • Cyrill – Night Ghetto
              • Aries – Braziliana
              • 1. Dwight Druick – Georgy Porgy (Disco Version)
              • 2. Marco Attali – J'ai Pris Une Claque (Unreleased)
              • 3. Serge Delisle – Germaine (Remix)
              • View full info and tracklisting
              Nate MorganJourney Into NigritiaOuternational
              Reissued and available again on vinyl for the first time since its original release in 1983, Outernational Sounds release this major statement from a crucial...
              • – Mrafu
              • – Morning Prayer
              • – Mother
              • – Journey Into Nigritia
              • – He Left Us A Song
              • – Study In C.T.
              A Tribe Called Quest The Low End Theory Jive
              Up there with some of the all-time classic hip-hop albums. Sophomore LP from legendary collective A Tribe Called Quest made up of Q-Tip, Phife Dawg, Ali...
              • – Excursions
              • – Scenario
              Remixed With Love by Joey Negro 2019 SamplerZ Records
              Z Records are back with another ‘Remixed With Love’ EP from the masterful Joey Negro. This 2019 sampler showcases four exclusive disco remixes including...
              • – Can't Live Without Your Love (JN Space Disco Mix)
              • – Come Together (JN Reprise)
              • – Can't Live Without Your Love (JN Super Dub)
              • – Timbales Are My Way of Life (JN Beats)
              • 1. – Can't Live Without Your Love (JN Space Disco Mix)
              • 2. – Come Together (JN Reprise)
              • 3. – Can't Live Without Your Love (JN Super Dub)
              • View full info and tracklisting
              Norman ConnorsDance Of Magic (1972)Cobblestone
              Norman Connors' debut album with Herbie Hancock, Gary Bartz, Cecil McBee, Stanley Clarke, Airto, Eddie Henderson, Carlos Garnet and Billy Hart. As you...
              • – dance of magic
              The Modern RedcapsNever Too YoungSwan
              60s Northern dancer. Unplayed
              • – Never Too Young
              • Original 7"£10.00
                Vinyl condition: VG+Sleeve condition: VG+Original Unplayed USA 45
                In stockAdd to Bag
              The HeadhuntersSurvival Of The Fittest (1975)Arista
              Super funky Herbie Hancock spin-off project featuring the musicians from his classic 'Headhunters' album. Includes the ultimate funk track "God Made Me...
              • – God Made Me Funky