Horace Silver Horace-Scope (1960)

Blue Note
  • CD 3552072£7.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. strollin
  • 2. where you at?
  • 3. without you
  • 4. horace-scope
  • 5. yeah!
  • 6. me and my baby
  • 7. nica's dream

By the time of this album - July 1960 - the Horace Silver Quintet was like a well-oiled machine. Horace Silver plus Junior Cook (ts), Blue Mitchell (t) and Gene Taylor (b) had been together for almost two years. Only the drum chair had changed and Roy Brooks had now replaced Louis Hayes. This change in no way deflected from the superb inter-action between the players and Brooks stamps his style well here. All numbers bar one are composed by Silver. 
Junior Cook puts in some of his best work ever on this album and this alone makes it worth having. Horace Silver never made a bad record and this must rank as one of his best.

People also bought

BurialStreet Halo EP / Kindred EP [Japanese Import]Hyperdub / Beatink
Burial's complete solo material since 2007's 'Untrue' - available for the first time on CD! Limited press of a previously Japan-only CD compiling...
  • CD£10.99
    Out of stock
Wayne ShorterThe All Seeing Eye (1965)Blue Note
Wayne Shorter, Freddie Hubbard, Alan Shorter (Wayne's brother), Grachan Moncur, James Spaulding, Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter, Joe Chambers. Hardcore and...
  • Reissue LP£9.99
    Out of stock
  • CD£7.99
    In stockAdd to Bag
IG Culture Presents Soulful Shanghai Kindred Spirits
Limited new release from I.G Culture featuring ID4 Windz, John Robinson and Bilal Salaam. With ‘Soulful Shanghai’ IG draws a lineage directly...
  • 2×LP£14.99
    Out of stock
  • CD£11.99
    Out of stock
Donald ByrdA New Perspective (1963)Blue Note
Remarkable 1963 album with Hank Mobley, Kenny Burell, Herbie Hancock & gospel choir! includes the classic 'Cristo Redentor'. Killer and deep!
Joshua MosesJoshua to Jashwa 30 years in the wildernessBristol Archive
One of Bristol's local reggae scene's mainstayers, Joshua Moses. Since his first session in 1978, much of his music has been lost but after eighteen...
  • CD£11.99
    In stockAdd to Bag
  • LP£12.99
    Out of stock