• 2×LP LITA083£23.99
    Out of stock
  • CD LITA083CD£13.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. Dale Hawkins – L.A. Memphis Tyler Texas
  • 2. John Randolph Marr – Hello L.A., Bye-Bye Birmingham
  • 3. Johnny Adams – Georgia Morning Dew
  • 4. Mac Davis – Lucas Was A Redneck
  • 5. Bob Darin – Light Blue
  • 6. Jim Ford – I'm Gonna Make Her Love Me
  • 7. Gray Fox – Hawg Frog
  • 8. Link Wray – Fire And Brimstone
  • 9. Bobby Charles – Street People
  • 10. Cherokee – Funky Business
  • 11. Tony Joe White – Stud Spider
  • 12. Dennis The Fox – Piledriver
  • 13. Larry Jon Wilson – Ohoopee River Bottomland
  • 14. Bobbie Gentry – He Made A Woman Out Of Me
  • 15. Gritz – Bayou Country
  • 16. Johnny Jenkins – I Walk On Gilded Splinters

Country Funk? I hear you ask, well. the style encompasses the elation of gospel with the sexual thrust of the blues, country hoedown harmony with inner city grit. It is alternately playful and melancholic, slow jammin’, and booty shakin’. It is both studio slick and barroom raw. Features tracks from Dale Hawkins, John Randolph Marr, Cherokee, Johnny Adams, Mac Davis, Bob Darin, Jim Ford, Gray Fox, Link Wray, Bobby Charles, Tony Joe White, Dennis The Fox, Larry Jon Wilson, Bobbie Gentry, Gritz, and Johnny Jenkins.

People also bought

Country Soul SistersWomen In Country Music 1952 - 78Soul Jazz Records
Country Soul Sisters charts the rise of female singers in country music from 1952 to 1978.As well as country legends Dolly Parton, Loretta Lynn, Tanya...
  • 1. Dolly Parton – Don't Let It Trouble Your Mind
  • 2. Lynn Anderson – Fancy
  • 3. Jeannie C. Riley – I've Done A Lot Of Living Since Then
  • View full info and tracklisting
Pete RockPeteStrumentals - 10th Anniversary Expanded & Limited EditionBBE
Celebrating ten years the release of Pete Rock's Petestrumentals on BBE comes this limited special expanded double CD! Pete Rock is without a doubt...
  • 2×CD£11.99
    Out of stock
Strange Breaks & Mr ThingCompiled by Mr ThingBBE
The sound of the Sixties and Seventies has never been so sought after as at the present moment. You could even argue that modern music just isn't good...
  • 2×LP£17.99
    Out of stock
  • 2×CD£9.99
    Out of stock
Henry Street GroovesClassic Deep, Funky & Jazzy House From New York CityBBE
‘Henry Street Music: The Story So Far - 1993 To 1999’ was a slice of superior contemporary club classics featuring all of the key players,...
  • 2×CD£10.99 £6.00
    Out of stock
Disco Love Volume 3 BBE
DJ Friendly mixes and re-edits from digger extraordinaire Al Kent. Not sure where he finds all these gems, very obscure disco cuts and so so good, we can't...
  • 2×LP£14.99
    Out of stock
  • 2×CD£10.99
    Out of stock
Disco LoveVolume TwoBBE
This is the second in the super obscure Disco Love series on BBE!!! All superb records presented to you by the legendary Al Kent from the unlikeliest...
  • 2×LP£17.99
    In stockAdd to Bag
  • CD£10.99
    Out of stock
Deutsche Elektronische Musik 2Experimental German Rock and Electronic Music 1972-83Soul Jazz Records
Soul Jazz Records’ new Deutsche Electronische Musik 2 is our second voyage into the world of German electronic music from the 1970s and early 1980s.This...
Take Me To The RiverA Southern Soul Story 1961-1977Kent
Stunning compilation of seventy five classic and rare songs that tell the story of the golden era of Southern soul from 1961 to 1977! This is an amazing...
MFSBMutha Funkin Son Of A Bitch: The Truth Behind The Philly LegendFunkadelphia
Forget the wack cover - this is a serious compilation!! Similar to Soul Jazz Records Philadelphia Roots CDs with seriously obscure tracks.60s and early...
  • CD£10.99
    Out of stock
  • Reissue LP£12.99
    Out of stock
    Lee Hazlewood Trouble Is A Lonesome TownLight In The Attic
    Rare country album from deeply-voiced texan legendary singer/songwriter lee Hazelwood. Light In The Attic’s Lee Hazlewood Archive Series continues...
    Deutsche Elektronische MusikExperimental German Rock and Electronic Music 1972-83Soul Jazz Records
    The first seeds of German rock and experimental electronic music were planted in 1968, as students and workers in Paris, Prague, Mexico and throughout...
    • Deluxe 2×CD£12.99
      Out of stock
    • 2×LP Vol.1£17.99
      Out of stock
    • 2×LP Vol.2£17.99
      In stockAdd to Bag
    • MP3 Release£9.99
      In stockAdd to Bag