• 1. America Is Waiting
  • 2. Mea Culpa
  • 2. Regiment
  • 4. Help Me Somebody
  • 5. The Jezebel Spirit
  • 6. Very Very Hungry
  • 7. Moonlight In Glory
  • 8. The Carrier
  • 9. A Secret Life
  • 10. Come With Us
  • 11. Mountain Of Needles
  • 12. Pitch To Voltage
  • 13. Two Against Three
  • 14. Vocal Outtakes
  • 15. New Feet
  • 16. Defiant
  • 17. Number 8 Mix
  • 18. Solo Guitar With Tin Foil

AWESOME deluxe reissue of this essential, classic album! This is a legendary early eighties funky post punk oddity featuring David Byrne of the mighty Talking Heads and ambient pioneer Brian Eno of Roxy Music/No New York fame. The two were working together quite a bit at this point as Brian Eno worked as producer on a string of fantastic, classic Talking Heads albums and some of the band's spin-off projects - of which this album is definitely the best. Wonky tape loops, vocal samples of Lebanese singers, fiery preachers and exorcists, mutant disco beats, noise squalls, and funky guitar collide into an absolutely perfect album of punk/pop/world experimentalism. You need this! Includes the definitive disco not disco track The Jezebel Spirit, as caned by DJs from Larry Levan to Daniele Baldelli. What's more, this deluxe reissue comes with seven previously unreleased bonus tracks and a bonus DVD of Bruce Connors film Mea Culpa! HIGHLY recommended!

People also bought

    Diana RossDiana (1980)Motown
    Essential, classic album written and produced by Chic. Includes "Upside Down" and "I'm Coming Out"
        Anthony Shake ShakirFrictionalism 1994-2009Rush Hour
        100% reccommended Ace 35 track compilation of classic material from Detroit techno legend Anthony Shake Shakir! Anthony Shake Shakir is considered...
        • 3×CD£16.99
          Out of stock
        Jaki Whitren & John CartwrightInternational TimesEmotional Rescue
        Now available on CD! Originally released in 1983 on obscure private press French label "Living Records"  by the former Alan Parson's backing singer...
        Soul Jazz Records Singles2006–2007Soul Jazz Records
        Featuring exclusive Soul Jazz Records singles over the last two years for the first time on 2 CD'S. Some of the finest artists around have chosen to work...
        • 2×CD£11.99
          Out of stock
        • MP3 Release£8.99
          In stockAdd to Bag
        VirgoVirgoRush Hour
        Seminal Chicago house record from Virgo orginally released in the late 80's! Our favourite contender for best house album ever made! This album does...
        • CD£11.99
          Out of stock
        • 2×LP£15.99
          Out of stock
        William OnyeaborWorld Psychedelic Classics 5: Who Is William Onyeabor?Luaka Bop
        Mind-blowingly brilliant idiosyncratic synthesizer-led african disco-funk!  This the first compilation dedicated to the totally unique works of Nigerian...
        • CD£11.99
          Out of stock
        • 3×LP£22.99
          Out of stock
          DJ NateDa Trak GeniousPlanet Mu
          The sound of Chicago Juke! ‘Da Trak Genious’ is Planet Mu’s compilation of the Footwork tracks of DJ Nate, born Nathan Clark, a 20 year old artist...
          • 3×LP£13.99
            Out of stock
          • CD£8.99
            Out of stock
          RodriguezSearching for Sugarman Light In The Attic
          The definitive collection from '70s psych-folk legend Rodriguez from Light In The Attic. The story remains one of the music world’s most unusual...
          Black FingerFrom Shibuya With LoveVillage Again
          Limited Japanese import with obi strip! Hard hitting, heavyweight jazz dance from Sleepwalker, UFO, Kyoto Jazz Massive, Cromagnon, Soil & Pimp Sessions,...
          • CD£14.99
            Out of stock
          AntenaCamino Del Sol (1982)Les Disques du Crépuscule
          Awesome leftfield classic! A Harvey fave! A double disc re-issue with live versions Delicate Balearic minimal synth oddity! Originally released on...
          • 2×CD£12.99
            Out of stock
          Theo Parrish Black Jazz SignatureSnow Dog Records
          Theo Parrish curates his own, unique volume in the series following DJ Mitsu and Gilles Peterson; collecting his favourite records on the label from 1971-6....
          • 2×LP£22.99
            Out of stock
          • CD£9.99
            Out of stock
          CherrystonesCrawl Back to Mine MixCherrystones Limited Edition CD
          BACK IN STOCK!!! Wow! Limited edition mix CDs from DJ Cherrystones! This is one of two heavy, heavy DJ party mixes featuring super-tough drums and...
          • CD£9.99
            Out of stock
          Thomas Leer & Robert RentalThe Bridge (1979)Mute
          Classic post punk album! This seminal minimal synth album is a bonafide classic of lo-fi primitive post punk electronics! Originally released in...
          • CD£4.99
            Out of stock
          Four Tet Beautiful RewindText
          Much talked about and highly anticipated album from Kieran Hebden. Almost coming as a surprise, 'Beautiful Rewind' delivers on what the speculation has...
          • LP£11.99
            Out of stock
          • CD£8.99
            Out of stock
          CherrystonesEntertaining the Unobvious MixCherystones Limited Edition CD
          Wow! Limited edition mix CDs from DJ Cherrystones! This is one of two heavy, heavy DJ party mixes featuring super-tough drums and hard funky hip hop breaks...
          • CD£9.99
            Out of stock
          23 SkidooSeven Songs (1982)LTM
          Essential post punk classic reissued on CD with bonus tracks! This is the 1982 debut album from the excellent British post punk band 23 Skidoo reissued...
          • CD£11.99
            Out of stock
          Pharoah SandersElevation (1974)Universal Sound/Impulse! Records
          A beautiful package, Soul Jazz Records' Universal Sound is proud to present the re-issue of Pharaoh Sanders "Elevations" originally released on Impulse...
            Flying Lotus Until The Quiet Comes Warp
            A strong contender favourite album of the year so far! LA-based experimentalist Fly Lo returns with his fourth album on Warp with guest appearances from...
            • CD£7.99
              In stockAdd to Bag
            • 2×LP£18.99
              Out of stock
            Golden TeacherFirst Three EPsGolden Teacher
            This 12-track release pulls together three, now classic, EPs that originally dropped on Optimo Music: 'Bells From The Deep End', 'Do Not Go Gentle...
            • LP£18.99
              Out of stock
            • CD£13.99
              Out of stock