Bob James Rhodes Scholar: Jazz-Funk Classics 1974-1982

Tappan Zee
  • 2×CD DEC1103-CD£12.99
    Out of stock
  • 3×LP DEC1103-LP£19.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. Nautilus
  • 2. Valley Of The Shadows
  • 3. Farandole (L'arlesienne Suite #2)
  • 4. (Take Me To The) Mardi Gras
  • 5. You're As Right As Rain
  • 6. One Mint Julep
  • 7. Storm King
  • 8. Tappan Zee
  • 9. Treasure Island
  • 10. Heads
  • 11. Night Crawler
  • 12. Westchester Lady (Live)
  • 13. Caribbean Nights
  • 14. I Want To Thank You (Very Much)
  • 15. Angela (Theme From "Taxi")
  • 16. Look-Alike
  • 17. Sign Of The Times
  • 18. The Steamin' Feelin'
  • 19. Love Lips
  • 20. Shamboozie
  • 21. Spunky
  • 22. (Take Me To The) Mardi Gras (7-inch version) [CD only]

Unmissable 21-track gatefold collection focussing on the funkiest side of jazz keyboardist Bob James!


Legendary keyboardist and composer Bob James is one of the major architects of the '70s jazz-funk sound, and is also notorious among a younger generation raised on hip hop. His early albums have been plundered for samples countless times, and his tunes "Nautilus" and "(Take Me To The) Mardi Gras" are two of the most revered b-boy classics, acknowledged as musical foundations of the hip hop movement!

Fans of rappers Wu-Tang Clan, Run-DMC, Arrested Development, De La Soul and EDM/house music stars Royksopp, Moodymann and Dmitri From Paris will hear familiar themes as this compilation lays bare the sources of some of their biggest hits.

People also bought

Lee Perry & His UpsettersRoaring Lion (16 Untamed Black Art Masters & Dub Plates)Pressure Sounds
Superb new 16 Track Pressure Sounds compilation from Lee Perry / Black Ark vaults (4th in the series) featuring unreleased mixes and dubplate mixes from...
John Coltrane/Archie SheppNew Thing At NewportImpulse! (1965)
RARE Original vinyl copy USA first pressing Impulse label. AS-94. Signature on cover and labels. Thick laminate card gatefold with...
  • Original LP£60.00
    Out of stock
  • CD£7.99
    In stockAdd to Bag
Americana Rock Your Soul Volume 2: More Blue Eyed Soul & A.O.R Sounds From The Land Of The FreeBBE
The second from BBE's Americana compilation series compiled by once again by renowned crate-digger/archivists Zaf Chowdhry and Mark Taylor. sourced...
  • 1. Breakaway – There's A New Group In Town,
  • 2. E.J. Stamp – I Know All About It
  • 3. Archie James Cavanaugh – Make Me, Believe
  • View full info and tracklisting
  • CD£9.99
    Out of stock
  • 2×LP + Bonus CD£14.99
    Out of stock
Punk 45: Kill the Hippies! Kill Yourself! The American Nation Destroys Its Young Underground Punk in the United States of America, Vol. 1. 1973-1980Soul Jazz Records
Soul Jazz Records’ new Punk 45 album charts the rise of underground punk across the United States of America in the years 1973-1980. The album coincides...
Eddie RussFresh OutUniversal Sound
Eddie Russ’s debut album Fresh Out was recorded in Detroit in 1974. The album featured the group The Mixed Bag, which Russ put together in 1972 from...