• 1. Good Morning Electronics
      • 2. Injection Basic Sound
      • 3. Mud-Dauber Wasp
      • 4. Music or Noise?
      • 5. Why?
      • 6. Lend Me Your Ears
      • 7. Return to Archive
      • 8. The Way Japanese Beetles Sound To A Rose
      • 9. Going to Sleep

      It contains sounds sourced from dozens of LPs, from Sounds of North American Frogs to Speech After the Removal of the Larynx, Sounds of Insects to Voices of Satellites, Sounds of Medicine to Sounds of the Junk Yard. Drew Daniel and M.C. Schmidt were given unprecedented access to the label's fabled archive at the Smithsonian Institution and encouraged to repurpose and rework the source material however they liked. The resulting album illuminates the radical, inquisitive, and poetic aspects of the original recordings, extracting the latent moments of creative revelation on records intended primarily for the backroom shelves of universities and libraries. Some tracks cycle through source material at a rate of dozens of samples per minute, while others sit with specific recordings for their duration. Released to commemorate the 75th anniversary of the founding of Folkways Records by Moses Asch and Marian Distler, 'Return to Archive' is a whimsical, entrancing, and at times unsettling traversal of what Asch called the "World of Sound."

      Other Releases on Smithsonian Folkways

      Charles Cha Cha ShawInto MorningSmithsonian Folkways
      Charles "Cha Cha" Shaw released his first solo album on Folkways in 1976 after having performed and recorded trumpet for pop and jazz icons like Curtis...
        Steel Band ClashSteel Band ClashSmithsonian Folkways
        Recorded in 1955, three sixteen-person steel bands—Big Shell, Brute Force and Hell's Gate—come together to provide a sampling of lively music...
          Lead BellyLead Belly Sings Folk SongsSmithsonian Folkways
          Vital 1940s recordings of 15 songs featuring Lead Belly performing solo and accompanied by Woody Guthrie, Cisco Houston, and Sonny Terry. 
            Sarah Webster FabioJujus - Alchemy of the BluesSmithsonian Folkways
            Super-tough funky, funky, funky female proto-rap poetry from Sarah Webster Fabio. Killer! Armed with an incredible rhythm section this album is a classic...
            • – The hand that rocks
            • – Sweet songs
            • – Juju for Grandma
            • – Chromo
            • – Still, a Red Hot Axe
            • – If we come as soft rain
            • – Jujus/Alchemy of the blues
            • – Jujus/Alchemy of the blues (instrumental)
            Sarah Webster FabioTogether To The Tune Of Coltrane's EquinoxSmithsonian Folkways
            Sarah Webster Fabio raps her poetry over some funky tunes and deep jazz (such as Coltrane's "Equinox"). Recommended.
            • – Eclipse
            • – Interrogation
            • – Together/To the Tune of Coltrane's "Equinox"
            • – A Black Gal's Mean Ol' Low Down Blues
            • – Tribute To Duke Ellington
            • – Black Is