• Mike Brooks – On The Ice
    • Rhythm Foundation – On The Ice (Ice Version)
    • Mike Brooks – On The Ice (Version)
    • Mike Brooks – Pay The Price
    • 1. Mike Brooks – On The Ice
    • 2. Rhythm Foundation – On The Ice (Ice Version)
    • 3. Mike Brooks – On The Ice (Version)
    • 4. Mike Brooks – Pay The Price

    Limited to 500 copies worldwide with sleeve art by Theodore Richards.

    Mike Brooks’ ‘On The Ice' dub versions featured back-to-back on 12” for the first time - featuring the spacey 'Ice Version' together with the original vocal mix, alt version and an exclusive take of ‘Pay The Price’ from Brooks' Teams archive.

    An early 90s Brooks collaboration recorded in the UK with Rhythm Foundation crew affiliates, Otto and Frank Hestness, the ’On The Ice’ mixes have been in demand with a wider audience in recent years. From UK bedroom-street-soul recordings, to digi-reggae-lovers-dubs, fans and DJs alike have been keen to leave no stone unturned with playlists far and wide shining the spotlight on rare top choice UK reggae gems.

    With a reggae career spanning over decades, Brooks started the Teems label in Jamaica, with Jah Lloyd in the late 60s. His debut single 'The Earth Is The Fullness' was recorded at Perry’s Black Ark studio in the early 70s and he was a regular at the late-Joseph ‘Jo Jo’ Hoo Kim’ s Channel One Recording Studio during the mid-to-late 70s, producing and recording alongside The Revolutionaries and The Mighty Diamonds. Hoo Kim’s Class-A roots-reggae recording powerhouse on Maxfield Avenue was also the setting for Brooks’ 1976 debut album What A Gathering, released on Mr Rana’s Burning Sounds label in West London.

    Other Releases by Mike Brooks

    Mike BrooksJah Jah LovingGolden Gems Recordings
    Early 2000 roots skank from Mike Brooks with Flabba Holt relicking the "Get Ready" riddim in fine style.
    • – Jah Jah Loving
    • – Dub
    Mike BrooksGreetingsCoptic Lion
    New ska influenced tune from Mike Brooks, recorded in Jamaica with Roots Radics bass player Flabba Holt, nice summer tune for lockdown ending..
    • – Greetings
    • – Version
    Mike BrooksTale BearerTuff Scout
    Mike Brooks on fine form on this new limited edition 7" only release from Tuff Scout, late 80s sounding rootsy dancehall vibes 
    • – Tale Bearer
    • – Speak No Evil Version

    People also bought

    SoniaEasier To Love / Easier To Love Alternate / Easier To DubBackatcha
    • – Easier To Love (Long Version)
    • – Easier To Love (Alternate Version feat. Dean Fraser)
    • – Easier To Dub
    Henderson & WhitfieldDancin' To The Beat (SOTU Exclusive)Backatcha
    **Exclusive to Sounds of the Universe!**MONSTER New York boogie jam by Greg Henderson from 1981 on 45 for the first time! Don't miss!
    • – Vocal
    • – Instrumental
    Christine Lewin / Tricia DeanIn The Mood / Don't Let It Go To Your HeadBackatcha
    Two standout versions from the Lewin sisters, available back-to-back on 45 for the first time. Classic soul turned reggae grooves produced by guitarist...
    • – Christine Lewin - In The Mood
    • – Tricia Dean - Don't Let It Go To Your Head
    • 7"£11.00
      Out of stock
    S.T.U.D. BandWhere's The Floor / SuccessBackatcha
    Sought-after disco funk recorded in Miami, 1981, available officially for the first time on reissue 45. Strength, Trust, Unity and Determination hailed...
    • – Where's The Floor
    • – Success
    Sonia / Overnight PlayersEasier To Love / Malcolm XBackatcha
    Official 45 version of Sonia’s 'Easier To Love' classic, coupled with the dub version ‘Malcolm X’ by The Overnight Players, previously only available...
    • Sonia – Easier To Love
    • Overnight Players – Malcolm X
    Mark GrusaneVersionsHot Biscuit Recordings
    Pure disco fire re-edited and re-modelled by Chicago hero, Mark Grusane! Limited doublepack edition — don't miss!
    • – 2nite
    • – Shaker Maker
    • – Roomie
    RahaanLuv Bugz/Rain Come DownHot Biscuit Recordings
    Wicked disco edits from Rahaan working the Donna McGhee classic and more!
    • – Luv Bugz
    • – Rain Come Down
    • 12"£16.00
      Out of stock
    bar italiaBedheadWorld Music
    **Very limited - one per customer please** Introverted, lo-fi, bedsit pop/gaze via Dean Blunt's World Music label...
    • – Bachelorette
    • – Angels
    • – Lahey Drunsfeld
    • – ITV2
    • – Rage Quit
    • – Wedding Latest
    • – Tenet
    • – Letting Go Makes It Stay
    • – Djent
    • – No Holy Hell
    • – Arena
    • – Killer Instinct
    • – Dao Jones
    • LP£23.00
      One per customer
      Out of stock
    Studio One Music LabSoul Jazz Records
    THIS ALBUM IS DEEP!Big brand new Studio One collection on Soul Jazz Records ... This new release delves deep into the unique melting pot sound of reggae,...
    • Hortense and The Sound Dimension – People Make the World Go Round Version
    • Leroy Wallace and The New Establishment – Far Beyond Version
    • Sound Dimension – Face Man Version
    • Fabian & The Vibes – Mother and Child (Part 2)
    • Lennie Hibbert – Go For Yourself
    • Dub Specialist – Chainey Roots
    • Brentford All Stars – The World Is A Ghetto
    • The Jay Tees and Brentford Rockers – Forward To Jah (Part 2)
    • Roy Richards – Summertime
    • Lennie Hibbert – Snowbird
    • Pablov Black – Dread Head
    • Cedric Im Brooks – Glory To Sound
    • Jackie Mittoo – Lazy Bones
    • Dub Specialist – Message From Dub
    • Jackie Mittoo – Sunshine Of Your Love
    • Roland Alphonso – Tenor Man Trip
    • Ernest and The Sound Dimension – Surfin' (Part 2)
    • 1. Hortense and The Sound Dimension – People Make the World Go Round Version
    • 2. Leroy Wallace and The New Establishment – Far Beyond Version
    • 3. Sound Dimension – Face Man Version
    • View full info and tracklisting
    • 2xLP (+ Download Code)£26.00
      Out of stock
    • CD£12.00
      In stockAdd to Bag
    • MP3 Release£9.99
      In stockAdd to Bag