• New LP (Coloured Vinyl)£23.00
      Expected 26 AugPreorder
      • 1. Have You Felt Lately?
      • 2. Locate
      • 3. Let it Fall
      • 4. Is it Me or is it You?
      • 5. Check Your Translation
      • 6. Pivot Signal
      • 7. Unbraid: The Merge
      • 8. Then the Wind Came
      • 9. There is Something
      • 10. Give to the Water

      The central mysteries of Smith’s ninth studio album, Let’s Turn it Into Sound, have to do with perception, expression, and communication: How can we communicate when spoken language is inadequate? How do we understand what it is we’re feeling? How do we translate our experience of the world into something that someone else can understand? For Smith, a self-described “feeler,” the answers are inspired by compound words in non-English languages, translation, sculptural fashion, dance, butoh, wushu shaolin, and other forms of sensory and somatic experience. Just like fashion uses lines, shapes, colors, textures, and silhouettes to communicate on a sensual level separate from the conscious mind, Let’s Turn it Into Sound strives to use sound to communicate what words alone cannot.

      “The album is a puzzle,” Smith says. “[It] is a symbol of receiving a compound of a ton of feelings from going out into a situation, and the song titles are instructions to breaking apart the feelings and understanding them.” The energized “Is it Me or Is it You” comes from traversing the gaps between how you see yourself and how another might see you, through a filter of their own projections. The hushed sense of revelation that brackets “There is Something” refers to the feeling of walking into a room and being subconsciously aware of the dynamic present. All the while, Smith interprets these feelings through sound.

      “Art is awe, art is mystery expressed, art is somatic, even if it is experienced cerebrally. It is felt."

      Other Releases by Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith

      Kaitlyn Aurelia SmithThe Mosaic Of TransformationGhostly
      Channeling new age spiritualism, the California synthesizer musician, Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith, releases 'The Mosaic Of Transformation' via Ghostly.
      • – Unbraiding Boundless Energy Within Boundaries
      • – Remembering
      • – Understanding Body Messages
      • – The Steady Heart
      • – Carrying Gravity
      • – The Spine Is Quiet In The Center
      • – Overflowing
      • – Deepening The Flow Of
      • – Expanding Electricity
      • New LP (Coloured Vinyl)£19.00
        Inc. download code
        In stockAdd to Bag

      Other Releases on Ghostly International

      Telefon Tel AvivDreams Are Not EnoughGhostly International
      The return of "storied Southern Gothic electronic entity", Telefon Tel Aviv. A poignant, musical tale expressing themes of loss (in 2009, TTV co-founding...
        • New 2×LP (Coloured Vinyl)£20.99
          Limited edition 'clear & gold splatter' vinyl. Includes download card
          Out of stock
        • CD£11.99
          In stockAdd to Bag
        Matthew DearBlack CityGhostly International
        Matthew Dear is back on Ghostly with his third album of skewed, curdled and experimental electronic pop traxx!
        • – Honey
        • – I Can't Feel
        • – Little People (Black City)
        • – Slowdance
        • – Soil To Seed
        • – You Put A Smell On Me
        • – Shortwave
        • – Monkey
        • – More Surgery
        • – Gem
        • LP£17.99
          Out of stock
        • CD£11.99
          In stockAdd to Bag
        X-AlteraX-AlteraGhostly International
        A fresh debut from one of the most vital electronic producers of the last 20 years, Tadd Mullinix (Dabrye, JTC, Charles Manier) aka X-ALTERA, who looks...
        • – Compound Extraprotus
        • – Check Out The Bass
        • – Pasco Richey Tiger
        • – Parallel Rites (Kepler-452b)
        • – In My Life
        • – Impossible
        • – Holotyd Neo-Optika
        • – Shoreline (Can’t Understand)
        • – Entry
        • – Passivity Fields
        Starchild & The New RomanticLanguageGhostly International
        Bryndon Cook aka Starchild & The New Romantic drops his debut LP on Ghostly International, rustling up a dazzling fusion of electronic soul, funk and pop....
        • – Language
        • – Mood
        • – Only If U Knew
        • – Hands Off
        • – Hangin On
        • – Black Diamond
        • – Ophelia's Room
        • – Some People I Know
        • – Can I Come Over?
        • – Doubts
        • – Good Stuff
        • – Boys Choir
        • – Lost Boys
        • – Hand To God
        • LP + Download Code£17.99
          Out of stock
        • CD£12.99
          In stockAdd to Bag