• Lee Scratch Perry – International Broadcaster feat. Roots Manuva & LSK
      • 1. Exercising
      • 2. Kilimanjaro
      • 3. Rockhead
      • 4. Lucky Charm
      • 5. Everything Start From Scratch
      • 6. Lee's Garden
      • 7. International Broadcaster feat. Roots Manuva & LSK
      • 8. Yellow Tongue feat. Samia Farah
      • 9. God Smiled
      • 10. Political Confusion
      • 11. Speak The Truth

      Lee "Scratch" Perry, Jamaican music's most celebrated producer, has been through more creative rebirths than most artists. At 73 years of age, he is currently enjoying another. Over the past half-century, he has masterminded more than 1,000 different records, both under his own name, with his ever-changing band, the Upsetters, and for countless other artists - each with its own unique, quirky sound.

      Throughout an erratic career, Perry has walked the wire between genius and madness, never staying in one place too long. He cut his last two truly great albums in London in the late 1980s, alongside On-U Sound production supremo Adrian Sherwood. Since then, he has lived in rustic seclusion near Zurich, releasing a stream of productions, few of which have greatly enhanced his legacy.

      However, this new set for On-U revisits his original 1960s “Upsetter” production persona, and bubbles over with unusual, genre-busting music and lyrics born of their creator's eccentricity and spontaneity. ‘The Mighty Upsetter’ is a fabulous rematch between Perry and Sherwood, recalling their classic ‘Time Boom X’ and ‘From The Secret Laboratory’ collaborations, ingeniously laced through with echoes of vintage Black Ark basslines, melodies and rhythms. Moreover, it is the empowering sound of an inspirational music-maker blossoming in his twilight years. Includes the tracks ‘God Smiled’, ‘International Broadcaster’ and ‘Yellow Tongue’, all of which have recently been released to tremendous success as 12”-only dubstep-style remixes by Moody Boyz and Kode9. Roots Manuva adds guest rap vocals on ‘International Broadcaster’, and other players include veteran On U contributor Skip “Little Axe” McDonald on bass and guitar.

      People also bought

      The Z.A.C.KDisco Cosmix (Zackrioch (1979)Disco Cosmix
      The full details of The Z.A.C.K. has been lost in the cosmic wilderness… however, we know this to be true… They produced this incredible...
      • The Z.A.C.K – mister satelllite
      • LP£11.99
        Out of stock
      Sylvia StriplinGive Me Your LoveUniversal Sound
      Soul Jazz are issuing this seminal in-demand super-rare boogie-funk-soul album produced by Roy Ayers originally released on his own independent Uno Melodic...
      • Sylvia Striplin – Look Towards The Sky
      • Sylvia Striplin – Toy Box
      • Sylvia Striplin – You Can't Turn Me Away
      • Sylvia Striplin – All Alone
      • Sylvia Striplin – Give Me Your Love
      • Sylvia Striplin – Will We Ever
      • Sylvia Striplin – Searchin'
      • Sylvia Striplin – You Said
      • 2×LP£14.99
        Out of stock
      • CD£11.99
        Out of stock
      Roy AyersLots Of LoveUniversal Sound
      Roy Ayer’s superb ‘Lots of Love’ was originally released on his own independent Uno Melodic label in 1983. The album is one of his deepest...
      • Roy Ayers – Black Family
      • Roy Ayers – Fast Money
      • Roy Ayers – Lots Of Love
      • Roy Ayers – Everybody
      • Roy Ayers – DC City
      • Roy Ayers – Drive
      • Roy Ayers – And Then We Were One
      • Roy Ayers – Chicago
      • CD£11.99
        Out of stock
      • 2×LP£13.99
        Out of stock
      TropicaliaA Brazilian Revolution in SoundSoul Jazz Records
      Tropicalia: A Brazilian Revolution in Sound. Tropicalia is one of the most significant cultural movements in Brazil encompassing music, film, visual art...
      • Gilberto Gil – Bat Macumba
      • Os Mutantes – A Minha Menina
      • Gal Costa – Tuareg
      • Gilberto Gil & Os Mutantes – Domingo No Parque
      • Caetano Veloso – Alfomega
      • Gal Costa – Sebatiana
      • Gilberto Gil – Procissao
      • Caetano Veloso – Irene
      • Os Mutantes – Ave Genghis Khan
      • Jorge Ben – Take It Easy My Brother Charlie
      • Tom Ze – Jimmy Renda-Se
      • Os Mutantes – Ando Meio Desligado
      • Caetano Veloso – Tropicalia
      • Tom Ze – Quero Sambal Meu Bem
      • Gal Costa – Vou Recomecar
      • Os Mutantes – Panis Et Circenses
      • Tom Ze – Gloria
      • Os Mutantes – Quem Tem Medo De Brincar De Amor
      • Caetano Veloso – Lost In The Paradise
      • Os Mutantes – Bat Macumba
      • Deluxe CD£11.99
        Out of stock
      • 2×LP£18.99
        Out of stock
      Sound System ScratchLee Perry's Dub Plate Mixes 1973 To 1979Pressure Sounds
      Wicked new compilation from Pressure Sounds! Featuring heavy heavy spliffed/rum dubplate mixes from Lee Perry all recorded at the Black Ark between...
      • The Upsetters – Lucky Skank
      • The Upsetters – Chim Cherie
      • Lee Perry & The Upsetters – The Rightful Organiser
      • Junior Murvin & The Upsetters – Roots Train Number Two
      • The Upsetters – Groovy Dub
      • 2×LP£20.00
        Out of stock
      • CD£12.00
        Out of stock