• LP£30.00
      Out of stock
    • Harold Land – Step Right Up To The Bottom
    • Harold Land – In The Back, In The Corner, In The Dark
    • Harold Land – Pakistan
    • Harold Land – Chocolate Mess
    • Harold Land – Damisi
    • 1. Step Right Up To The Bottom
    • 2. In The Back, In The Corner, In The Dark
    • 3. Pakistan
    • 4. Chocolate Mess
    • 5. Damisi

    Featuring Buster Williams (bass), Ndugu (drums), Bill Henderson (keys) and Oscar Breashear (trumpet) the album was recorded at a crucial time when Land was shifting to a more spiritual sound. 'Damisi',is a superb mix of funk and modal jazz, comprising five extended tracks. It kicks off with the up- tempo post-bop 'Step Right Up to the Bottom' before switching to the slow burning funk of 'In The Back In The Corner, In the Dark' showcasing Buster Williams' formidable bassline and Ndugu's funk chops. Side one closing track "Pakistan", is a beautifully serene tribute to the country, full of Eastern infuences and features Landin refective mood, on Oboe. Side two opens with 'Chocolate Mess', a muscular funk groove penned by Ndugu Chancler. 'Damisi, title track and nine minute closing track alternates slower sequences with more urgent funkier passages.

    Other Releases on Wewantsounds

    Ryuichi SakamotoOngaku ZukanWewantsounds
    The early '80s were a turning point for Japanese musician Ryuichi Sakamoto. As a solo artist, the smash hit soundtrack he had composed for 1983's "Merry...
    • – Tibetan Dance
    • – Etude
    • – Paradise Lost
    • – Self Portrait
    • – 旅の極北 (Tabi No Kyokuhoku)
    • – M.A.Y. In The Backyard
    • – 羽の林で (Hane No Hayashi De)
    • – 森の人 (Mori No Hito)
    • – A Tribute TO N.J.P.
    • – Replica [12" BONUS]
    • – 11: マ・メール・ロワ (Ma Mère l'Oye) [12" BONUS]
    • – Replica [7" BONUS]
    Stomu Yamash'ta and The HorizonSunrise From West SeaWewantsounds
    Stomu Yamash'ta's highly sought-after album originally released in 1971 and has never been reissued since. Recorded live at Yamaha Hall in Tokyo on April...
      • LP£25.00
        In stockAdd to Bag
      • CD£14.00
        Out of stock
      Frank FosterThe Loud MinorityWewantsounds
      LP with Gatefold Sleeve + 20 page booklet First official vinyl reissue of Frank Foster's seminal 1972 protest Jazz Funk classic reissued in a Deluxe format....
        • New LP £31.00
          RSD 2021 DROP 1. Available online from 6pm Sat June 12
          In stockAdd to Bag
        Freddie HubbardMusic Is HereWewantsounds
        First official vinyl release of Freddie Hubbard's seminal and highly revered 1973 Concert recorded in Paris at the prestigious Maison de la Radio. Released...
          Omar El ShariyiOriental MusicWewantsounds
          Sought-after, cult classic instrumental album from legendary Egyptian musician, Omar El Shariyi (aka Ammar El Sherei), first released on Soutelphan in...
          • – Ana Wehabiety
          • – Etmakhtary Yakhel
          • – Ah ! Mennak
          • – Gafnoho
          • – Yawabor Kolly
          • – Ahwak
          Ryuichi SakamotoThousand Knives OfWewantsounds
          Reissue of the ESSENTIAL 80s electronic music album from the legendary Ryuichi Sakamoto! Features the proto-techno madness of 'Thousand Knives' and 'Plastic...
          • – Thousand Knives
          • – Plastic Bamboo

          People also bought

          Supafunkanova Vol.3 Compiled by Woody BianchiZ Records
          Another instalment of badass Funk from the Disco era with Supafunkanova Volume 3 which has been selected by prolific DJ, producer, remixer and record collector...
            • 2×LP£28.00
              Out of stock
            • 2×CD£16.00
              Out of stock
            EABS meets JaubiIn Search of a Better TomorrowAstigmatic Records
            Electronic jazz experiments from Poland meet hypnotic ragas from Pakistan — monster collaboration between two Sounds of the Universe favourites!...
            • – Yesterday
            • – Judgement Day
            • – Whispers
            • – Strange Love
            • – People In Between
            • – Raise Your Hearts, Drop Your Guns
            • – Tomorrow
            • – Madhuvanti
            • – Moon
            • – Sun
            • LP£26.00
              Out of stock
            • CD£12.00
              Out of stock
            Afro Exotique 2: Further Adventures In The Leftfield, Africa 1975-87Africa Seven
            Africa Seven dive back down into the vaults, and come up with another volume of listenable African esoterica from the mid 70s to the mid 80s! Features...
            • – Afrocult Foundation - The Quest (Version Piano Solo)
            • – Orchestre Lipua-Lipua - Distingue (Edit)
            • – B.G. and Fibre - (G#) Thanks And Praises
            • – Akwassa - I Don't Want No-Body (To Tell Me)
            • – Aura - I Got To Make It
            • – Akofa Akoussah - Ramer Sans Rame
            • – Francis Bebey - La Condition Masculine
            • – Benis Cletin - Jungle Magic
            • – Sorry Bamba - M'Bife Je T'Aime
            • – Gregoire Lawani - Elle M & Mordu La Langue
            • 1. – Afrocult Foundation - The Quest (Version Piano Solo)
            • 2. – Orchestre Lipua-Lipua - Distingue (Edit)
            • 3. – B.G. and Fibre - (G#) Thanks And Praises
            • View full info and tracklisting