Art Blakey Holiday For Skins Vol. 1

    Heavenly Sweetness
    • LP£19.99
      Out of stock
    • Art Blakey – The Feast
    • 1. The Feast
    • 2. Aghano
    • 3. Lamento Africano
    • 4. Mirage

    This is Art Blakey's most rare project dedicated to percussion and probabaly the best one. Art Blakey is here leading a great jazz and percussionist large band. Art Taylor and Philly Joe Jones on drums, Donald Byrd on trumpet, Ray Brant on the piano, on percussions not less than Ray Barreto, Sabu Martinez, Victor Gonzales, Julio Martinez, Chonguito Vicenten, Fred Pagani Jr and additionally a great choir. The result is a rich confrontation of african and latin rythms with contemporary jazz of these late fifties. "The Feats", "Agnaho" & "Lamento Africano" represent the peak of this recording session, counterpoints, breathtaking variations in rythm and tempo and a real liberty of expression for each soloist. Classic jazz is not absent and is illustrated here by tracks such as "Otinde", or the Ray Bryant compositions : "Swinging Kilts" and "Reflection". The whole record is a vibrant celebration of pure rythm, let us no forget that Art Blakey has travelled extensively until Africa and was deeply aware what Jazz was owing to african and latin patterns. The sound of the record is unbelievable for this date of 1958.

    Other Releases by Art Blakey

    Art BlakeyJazz Messengers with Thelonious MonkAtlantic
    **A deluxe edition fully remastered with outtakes — all but one previously unreleased** In May of 1957, Art Blakey and his Jazz Messengers went...
      Art BlakeyA Night In Tunisia (1958)BMG
      Features one of the best recordings by the second version of the Jazz Messengers, and it is the only time that Blakey featured both altoist Jackie McLean...

        Other Releases on Heavenly Sweetness

        Blundetto / Ken BootheHave A Little FaithHeavenly Sweetness
        The first single from Blundetto’s forthcoming album sees the French producer collaborate with a true great of Jamaican music, the legendary reggae vocalist...
        • – Have A Little Faith
        • – Have A Little Faith (Version)
        Edmony KraterAn Ka SonjeHeavenly Sweetness
        Heavenly Sweetness continue their collaboration with Guadeloupean musician, Edmony Krater with the album 'An Ka Sonje', his first in 30 years.
        • – Nou Kontan
        • – Jouwe Tanbou
        • – A Pa Jodi
        • – Mi Yo Rive
        • – An Ba Jouk
        • – Lage
        • – Ti Jan Ka
        • – Donga Ave Se Neg Mawon
        • – An Ka Sonje
        • LP£16.99
          In stockAdd to Bag
        • CD£12.99
          Out of stock
        We Are Ten! The Birthday PresentsHeavenly Sweetness
        Heavenly Sweetness celebrate 10 years in the game with this excellent collection featuring 10 new and exclusive tracks recorded by the labels artists to...
        • Cotonete – O Circo
        • Blundetto – Have a little faith
        • Roger Raspail – An Ba Galba
        • Guts – Move in Silence
        • Edmony Krater – Tijan Ka (2017 version)
        • The Mule – You Party Too Much
        • The Rongetz Foundation – Hip Hop Muse (Lefto Remix)
        • Anthony Joseph – Be The River
        • Florian Pellissier Quintet – Fuck With The Police
        • Edmony Krater – Tijan (Hugo LX Remix)
        CotoneteEarth Overshoot Day (inc. Patrice Scott remix)Heavenly Sweetness
        Third part in the series from new project Cotonete, made up of members of Ethio Jazz group Akalé Wubé and keyboardist Florian Pellissier. Wicked 70's...
        • – Earth Overshoot Day - Original mix
        • – Earth Overshoot Day - Hugo LX remix
        • – Earth Overshoot Day - Vox Low remix
        • – Earth Overshoot Day - Patrice Scott remix
        Tagi & Steve BeatbergYOUARESURROUNDEDHeavenly Sweetness
        Sly Johnson's beatmaker project, back to his hip hop roots!!!Guided by Hip Hop since the 90's until today, worked in great detail, YOUARESURROUNDED highlights...
        • – Youaresurrounded (The Intro)
        • – This Is Life (Featuring Rapper Big Pooh & Sly Johnson)
        • – Boom Bap Love (Featuring Lisa Spada)
        • – Leiho (Featuring Pumpkin & Sly Johnson)
        • – N.T. (Featuring Georgia Anne Muldrow)
        • – Lost Art (Featuring Finale & Sly Johnson)
        • – Danceonitifucan
        • – Ame Son (Featuring Tiemoko)
        • – F___ it (Featuring Sly Johnson & Saga)
        • – Raponitifucan
        • – Retrograde (Steven Beatberg's Raw Mixxx With Sly Johnson)
        • – Run To The Sun (Featuring Elodie Rama) D.B.B.S.M. REMIX
        • – La Dune Noire (With Dilouya)
        • 1. – Youaresurrounded (The Intro)
        • 2. – This Is Life (Featuring Rapper Big Pooh & Sly Johnson)
        • 3. – Boom Bap Love (Featuring Lisa Spada)
        • View full info and tracklisting

        People also bought

        Ian Dury And The BlockheadsDo It Yourself (1979)Stiff
        Ian Dury and Chaz Jankel at their musical funky punky jazzy finest. Includes the marvellous "Inbetweenies"!
          • Original LP£9.99
            Vinyl condition: VG+Sleeve condition: VG+
            Out of stock
          Curtis AmyKatangaHeavenly Sweetness / Blue Note
          Katanga is a very key jazz record yet at the same time unknown by mainstream audiences. This session is the sixth and last one recorded by Curtis Amy in...
          • – Katanga
          • LP£18.99
            Out of stock
          Street and Gangland RhythmsBeats And Improvisations By Six Boys In Trouble (1959)Smithsonian Folkways
          Street percussion, drumming, songs and chants recorded in New York in 1959 by a group of street kids. Kind of like a prototype Haryou Percussion Group...
          • – Ole
          • CD£11.99
            Out of stock
          Secondhand SureshotsCD & DVDStones Throw
          After the limited edition deluxe vinyl of Seconghand Sureshots literally flew off of our shelves Dublab & Stonesthrow have finally released the CD...
          • – sample one
          • – sample two
          • – sample three
          • CD + DVD£11.99
            Out of stock
          • LP + DVD£39.99
            Out of stock
          Blue MitchellBring It Home To MeHeavenly Sweetness / Blue Note
          Of the thirty three albums recorded as a leader, "Bring it home to me" in 1966 is the thirteenth. This is not only an excellent album but also the artistic...
          • – Bring It Home To Me
          • New LP (180g)£19.99
            Out of stock
          Sam RiversContoursHeavenly Sweetness / Blue Note
          The album "contours" of the saxophonist Sam Rivers has been recorded for Blue Note in 1965 following the album "Fuschia swing Song". The musicians joining...
          • – Euterpe
          • LP£19.99
            Out of stock
          • CD£10.99
            Out of stock
          Harold VickSteppin' Out! (Tone Poet Series)Blue Note
          In 1963, tenor saxophonist Harold Vick made his sole album as a leader for Blue Note, the underrated soul jazz gem Steppin’ Out. The record finds its...
            • New Audiophile LP (180 GRAM)£36.00
              In stockAdd to Bag
            Jose FelicianoFeliciano! (1968)RCA Camden
            Killer latinized soul versions of top tunes including 'Light My Fire' and 'California Dreamin'.
            • – California Dreamin
            • – Light My Fire
            • Original LP£10.00
              Vinyl condition: VG+Sleeve condition: VG+Original = Original USA LP Vinyl

              100% Guarantee on this and all Original Vinyl at Sounds Of The Universe - 'if you're not happy we're not happy' or your money back!
              Out of stock