• LP£19.99
      Out of stock
    • CD£10.99
      Out of stock
    • Sam Rivers – Euterpe
    • 1. Point Of Many Returns
    • 2. Dance Of The Tripedal
    • 3. Euterpe
    • 4. Mellifluous Cacophony
    • 5. Mellifluous Cacophony (Alt Tk)

    The album "contours" of the saxophonist Sam Rivers has been recorded for Blue Note in 1965 following the album "Fuschia swing Song". The musicians joining Sam Rivers (tenor & alto sax and flute) are Herbie Hancock (piano), Ron Carter (bass), Freddie Hubbard (trumpet) and Joe Chanmbers (drums). Four vigourous and strong tracks composed by Sam Rivers : "Point of many returns" with a hard pop structure, "Dance of the Tripedal" and "Euterpe" illustrate the sharp and incisive Sam's style. "Mellifluous Cacophony" is mixing marvellous harmonies with beautiful dissonances. The presence of Sam Rivers' very personal style is key in the structure as well as in the execution of this record session and reminds us the crucial role that Sam Rivers has played in the mid sixties as one of the leaders of the avant guarde. A staggering record just in between avant guarde and tradition in which Herbie Hancock, Freddie Hubbard and Ron Carter are playing music we don't hear on their other records from the same period.

    Other Releases by Sam Rivers

    Sam RiversFuchsia Swing SongBlue Note
    Great mid-60s album featuring the tracks Cyclic Episode and Beatrice! One of the greatest modern moments on Blue Note – ever! From the cover, to the...
    • – Fuchsia Swing Song
    • – Downstairs Blues Upstairs
    • New LP (180g)£26.00
      In stockAdd to Bag
    • CD£11.99
      Out of stock

    People also bought

    Harold VickSteppin' Out! (Tone Poet Series)Blue Note
    In 1963, tenor saxophonist Harold Vick made his sole album as a leader for Blue Note, the underrated soul jazz gem Steppin’ Out. The record finds its...
      • New Audiophile LP (180 GRAM)£36.00
        In stockAdd to Bag
      Jose FelicianoFeliciano! (1968)RCA Camden
      Killer latinized soul versions of top tunes including 'Light My Fire' and 'California Dreamin'.
      • – California Dreamin
      • – Light My Fire
      • Original LP£10.00
        Vinyl condition: VG+Sleeve condition: VG+Original = Original USA LP Vinyl

        100% Guarantee on this and all Original Vinyl at Sounds Of The Universe - 'if you're not happy we're not happy' or your money back!
        Out of stock
      Juan Amalbert's Latin Jazz QuintetHot SauceTru-Sound
      Congueiro Juan Amalbert leads this latin-jazz recording on Prestige from 1961
        • Reissue LP£10.99
          Out of stock
        Eddie FisherHot LunchStang
        Wicked raw funk album in the vein of early Funkadelic or Betty Davis, or 'There's a Riot Goin On'-era Sly and the Family Stone!
          • Reissue LP£8.99
            Out of stock
          The IsleysBrother, Brother, Brother (1972)T-neck
          One of the brilliant early albums on their own T-Neck label from 1972. Features 'Brother, Brother' and 'Work To Do!
          • – Brother Brother
          • – Work To Do
          • Original LP£45.00
            Vinyl condition: VG+Sleeve condition: VG+Original USA vinyl copy, bit of sleeve ageing
            Out of stock
          • Reissue LP£18.00
            Out of stock
          Art BlakeyHoliday For Skins Vol. 1Heavenly Sweetness
          This is Art Blakey's most rare project dedicated to percussion and probabaly the best one. Art Blakey is here leading a great jazz and percussionist...
          • – The Feast
          • LP£19.99
            Out of stock
          Blue MitchellBring It Home To MeHeavenly Sweetness / Blue Note
          Of the thirty three albums recorded as a leader, "Bring it home to me" in 1966 is the thirteenth. This is not only an excellent album but also the artistic...
          • – Bring It Home To Me
          • New LP (180g)£19.99
            Out of stock