Rahsaan Roland Kirk Spirits Up Above: The Rahsaan Roland Kirk Anthology

Warner Jazz
  • 1. Making Love After Hours
  • 2. Roots
  • 3. The Inflated Tear
  • 4. Lovellevelliloqui
  • 5. Lady's Blues
  • 6. Volunteered Slavery
  • 7. Spirits Up Above
  • 8. Something For Trane That Trane Could Have Said
  • 9. Ain't No Sunshine
  • 10. Blacknuss
  • 11. Do Nothin' 'til You Hear From Me
  • 12. Carney And Begard Place
  • 13. Seasons (One Mind Winter / Summer / Ninth Ghost)
  • 14. Freaks For The Festival
  • 15. Portrait Of Those Beautiful Ladies
  • 16. Three For The Festival
  • 17. Serenade To A Cuckoo

A brilliant overview of Rahsaan Roland Kirk’s’ output for Atlantic, featuring some of his best studio and live performances during his time with the label. Probably the most inventive saxophonist in jazz history, Rahsaan Roland Kirk could play several horns at once, and made his own instruments. By no means a novelty act, his technique was flawless. Blind from the age of two, while a teenager, he discovered the 'manzello' and 'stritch' - the former, a modified version of the saxello, which was itself a slightly curved variant of the B flat soprano sax; the latter, a modified straight E flat alto. This anthology covers Kirk’s time at Atlantic between 1965 and 1976, from 'Here Comes The Whistleman', to the seminal 'The Inflated Tear', 'Blacknuss' and 'Volunteered Slavery', as well as his collaboration with Al Hibbler, the brilliant 'The Case Of The Three-Sided Dream' and some material previously only available on 'Does Your House Have Lions'.